Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
74
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2016
Having been hooked on the original tv series by my father and recently buying the complete collection this film had a lot to live up to and although it does not come close at matching the original it does capture some of the quirkiness and the feel of the real Avengers. Worth a watch for the price and I really feel some reviews are a little harsh.....not great but not that bad either. My biggest complaint however was the kiss between Steed and Mrs Peel, without wanting to sound like a prude. Fans of the series will know that there was never any romance with Steed and his assistants just some great chemistry so I found this out of character.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Much under-rated film, which does retain the quirkiness of the TV series in most part. Enjoy for what it is.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
It's a fun remake of the original TV series. Staying true to the original characters.
With fun added.
A good watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
not the best but ok
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
great another video replace great film
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
hilarious for all the wrong reasons!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
Very good dvd
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
took a long time to receive...goods were great but hard to track
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2007
I rewatched The Avengers today and it really is a missed opportunity. The reason it failed was not IMO the surreal wackiness, it was that Warners panicked and cut huge chunks out of the film rendering it not only surreal and weird, but missing links in the story that would have tied all the bizarre stuff together better.

If you look on Wikipaedia it details what was in the original script, and on imdb you can discover things cut from the film, such as the attack on the secret base by the evil Emma Peel that was seen in trailers. My favourite has to be Steed spanking Peel with his sword when they spar in the tailor shop.

On reflection there's a lot to like in The Avengers: Uma Thurman in leather: always a plus, Sean Connery hamming it up more than Porky Pig at a bacon factory, and henchmen dressed as multi-coloured teddy bears. Bonkers. Utter bonkers. I like it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)