Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
302
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

A bold claim to make, you may feel, as this is only a light-hearted comedy. But there is just something about this film, that makes it far better than any 'family film' I have seen.

The Jamiacan setting is beautiful and sunny, and the actors are a hilarious, perfect combination. Doug.E.Doug is definately the star of the show, playing the uproarious 'Sanka'. The supporting roles are also strong, Leon Robinson as 'Ben Bannock' is delightful, endearing and down-right hot! Also the late John Candy acts brilliantly as the stubborn come gentle 'Irving Blitzer'

Some may think this film is all too predictable, but the ending will bring a tear to the most hardened male's eye! Overall, I'd have to label this film "Un-missable". I honestly think that it is the best family-comedy film ever made, and perhaps did not gain the recognition it deserved.

Don't miss it!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
I must admit that I’m a sucker for a good sports underdog movie and I also like a well executed family film, so it’s not really surprising that I rate “Cool Runnings” as a great film and definitely one I would recommend.
Very loosely based on the true story of the Jamaican Bobsleigh team who competed in the 1988 Calhary Winter Olympic Games the film shows the gathering of four unlikely Olympic heroes from the sun drenched island of Jamaica. Derice Bannock is the 100 metre sprinter who denied a place in the Jamaican athletics squad after a freak accident concerning two other soon to be members of the bobsleigh team, Junior Bevil and Yul Brenner, searches out an American ex-bobsleigh champion living in a drunken stupor on the island. Irving 'Irv' Blitzer is a wreak of a man and it takes some considerable persuading on the part of Derice and his best friend and forth member of the team, Sanka Coffie to get Irv interested in coaching the team.
Like a hundred of the best sporting underdog movies that have gone before and will no-doubt come again the story of the team’s journey to the Olympics are a veritable roller-coaster ride of various highs and lows and although some of them are clichéd to the hilt you can’t help but be entertained by them all. The rousing finale is one of the most moving ever seen and remains a firm favourite film scene ever of mine. But as I say I’m a sucker for this sort of thing.
The main reason why the film works so well and why the rather hackneyed plot gets away with it all is quite simple. Firstly John Candy is simply brilliant as the cynical but fiercely loyal Irv Blitzer. This is the sort of light comical role that he always excelled at and here he is well worth the money. Secondly the four members of the bobsleigh team are played with such enthusiasm by the four actors involved one just can’t help by be drawn into the film’s spell. Best of the bunch is the high energy Doug E. Doug as Sanka who mixes manic comedy with sweet home truths in a great style.
It’s not a classic film and it was never going to sweep the awards ceremonies clean, it was never meant to, but what it is a fine example of is a rather touching family film that will entertain and delight.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
This film is the best film that i have ever seen, a true high quality family film that still makes a wonderfully refreshing change to all the violence and filth that seems to dominate the big screen nowadays. I have seen cool runnings so many times i have lost count but am still in floods of tears every time in watch the ending. I have the soundtrack to the film and it is also very good. I would recomend this film to anyone.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2005
An amazing film which is pure genius. All of the main characters are brilliant, especially Sanka and the Coach. Many hilarious bits in this film, would make anyone split their sides. And also conveys a nice message about prejudice, and my favourite line, 'Everybody's afraid of what's different' .This DVD is well worth buying at under £6, bargain. Quality
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Cool Runnings never gets old! The whole family are entertained with laughs, sentiment and catchy phrases. Whenever I show it to a friend who hasn't yet seen it, they're never disappointed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2002
This is one film you cannot miss. It is purely amazing and the acting and music is equally good. The bobsled scenes will have you shouting "Jamaica". And the ending will leave you wanting to take up bobsledding. John Candy plays the coach of the team quite superbly and the Jamaican actors such as Doug E.Doug really do bring the comedy to the film in style. Easily the greatest film i have ever seen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
because of this film i want to become jamaican and join a bobsled team
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
This is a true classic and John Candy suits the role as the coach so well. The funniest film i have ever seen. Its a must-see. Based on the 1988 winter olympics and the Jamaican bobsled teams struggle for respect and their right to join the sport.
Doug E. Doug is brilliant in his role as a sanka- a member of the team. The soundtrack is good too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2000
Walt Disney knows better than anyone else how to associate comedy and deep reflection for the widest public possible, the family. In this film the situation is of course incongruous : four Jamaican athletes deciding to go to the Calgary Olympics in 1988 as a bobsledding team. Walt Disney uses all possible contradiction to make the story funny : warm Jamaica versus cold Canada, blacks versus whites, Jamaican easygoing spirit versus caucasian single-aimed concentration, father versus son, mother versus son, etc. But, and that is the real ethical genius of Walt Disney, every single laugh they create is there to deepen the best of all human morality. The main two ideas are : 1- Be proud of your roots and nature because that is your winning force ; 2- Refuse any kind of inferiority complex because you're different, and reject any kind of racism against your difference. Your difference is your strength and that is true of anyone, not only of people of a different color. It is true about culture, personality, sex, color, you name it you have it. This film is the best demonstration that the most powerful affirmative action comes from inside the individual, inside the team, inside the group you belong to, not from outside. Yet it is necessary to have a go-between, in this case a caucasian coach. He knows how to rebuff and negociate « racist » reactions. And he succeeds. And do not forget this marvelous lesson the end of this film gives you : no matter what, it is more important to take part and to cross the finish line than to win the gold medal, especially because if you only look at winning, you may be tempted to cheat. The aim of any human being on this earth is to achieve the best things he or she can, and to reach the finish line, the goal of his or her adventure, the aim of his or her attempt, and reaching that aim takes courage, strength, honor, honesty and moral beauty. This film should be shown in all schools all over the world for everyone to see what it takes to be oneself and what being oneself can give to the world. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universites II and IX.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2008
This is one of those films you keep in the cupboard and pull out every time you need cheering up. Very funny, as well as being a great tale of the underdog surprising all the doubters, there are some classic scenes - such as training in an ice cream van -- which will stay with you, but will still make you laugh every time you see them. Easy, lighthearted entertainment which leaves you feeling good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse