Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
56
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2003
Judging from the reviews here, this really is a love-or-hate film isn't it? Well I love it. This has got to be the funniest film I've ever seen. There literally is a laugh a minute, make that half a minute! Even the storyline is taking the micky out of spy films: the retired agent is dragged back into the service to save the daughter of his dead ex-girlfriend, and save the world of course. The characters are brilliant, the evil genius is a psychotic, armless general; he director of the agency is a master of disguises who hides himself as a sofa, a wall, some curtains and even the floor! Some of the jokes are classic laughs, puns and parodies (the "raindrops keep falling on my head" bit springs to mind) and some are hilarious slapstick. If you like laughing, buy this film!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am no relative of Leslie Nielsen but I love this movie, every time I watch it I see something new. Sure some gags are strained but one star reviews ! No whahay. Like all these Naked Gun style movies the background is littered with throwaway visual jokes.
Right from the opening Maurice Binder style title sequence with mishapes floating over Weird Al Yankovic singing the catchy theme tune. You go via the matey slapping contest with Robert Guillaume in the golf club,to assassin Alexandra Paul in a red negligee and the worst Russian accent until the next one appears in the movie, via Michael Jackson's hair fire, Ray Charles driving a bus, bypass the Sister Act routine that misses the mark, continue to a Macauley Culkin type getting what was well overdue for Home Alone, through Jurassic Park to the ACME rocket at the end.
Maybe the Naked Gun style movie was wearing thin about this time. The fart joke is old hat and certainly adds nothing. Maybe you just have to be in a certain state of mind to watch it and see what I see. Maybe the fact that I love B & C grade movies has a bearing on this. If you want a tight scripted, star studded multi million dollar Oscar nominated spy movie look elsewhere, if you want fun, grab a few beers and relax. Before you knock Nielsen over this look at what De Niro is up to these days, next stop EastEnders, Oy Mitchell, you looking at me !. I could have been a WestEnder.
The other positive reviewers have remained anonymous, hell I've no shame.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
proper classic films and brilliant to watch :) dont make films like that anymore :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
Laughable dvd from a good actor who isn't sadly with us no more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
A classic comedy which has Leslie Nielsen and the same humour as the naked gun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2000
Forget the extras, forget the digital picture quality and the digital sound, this DVD is a must by for one simple reason - it is absolutely side splittingly funny! After the naked Gun Films, you'd think the series would get tired or repetitive, but i can assure you this is as good a comedy as you will find, and I simply love this film! Leslie Neilson plays the same roles as usual, and as always its at his hilarious best! While the film isn't stunning in terms of picture, sound or even extra features, nothing can stop this being an essential buy simply because the film itself is so great! I simply love this film, and if you ever need a good comedy to cheer you up, then this will certainly do the job! Fans of the Naked Gun series will probably already own this, but if you do not, then buy this now!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 February 2011
Rest in Peace, Leslie Nielsen.

I, like so many fans of the man, pay my respects to a true legend of comedy. Airplane, Police Squad! and the Naked Gun films were just perfectly sharp, well-scripted and well performed. All essential classics with Leslie Nielsen at the very core. He provided excellent deadpan deliverance and faultless wit. His passing in November last year still remains shocking, given how his lifespan just seemed so immortal.

While Spy Hard may not be up there with the likes of Airplane or Police Squad, it nevertheless has a very special place in my heart. I watched it a friend's house several years ago and found it utterly hilarious. It was typical, relentless, hilarious spoof-material, with Nielsen again front-and-centre, helped out by first-class gags, slapstick and rip-takes. Granted, Spy Hard is not as fresh or as cutting edge as Nielsen's earlier, more renowned work, but it's still an excellent comedy action flick, and at such a brilliant discount price, it's worth collecting on DVD. And another reason to pay respect to Mr Nielsen.

Spy Hard is essentially a comic interpretation of James Bond. The premise is identical, with Nielsen on a mission to thwart a megalomaniacal terrorist obsessed with taking over the world, utilising a variety of gadgets...and of course, making time for bed with a sexy, female agent.

Precise-details? Nielsen is Dick Steele, Agent WD-40 (insert fond laugh here), who has come out of retirement - fifteen years after his last assignment - to save Barbara Dahl (Stephanie Romanov), the daughter of his deceased partner Victoria (played by Stephanie again), and thwart arch-nemesis General Rancor (Andy Griffith). Along the way, he will find assistance from the likes of feisty Agent 3:16 Veronique Ukrinsky (Nicollette Sheridan from Desperate Housewives), the Director (Charles Dunning) - the head of the agency who brilliantly disguises himself as office furniture, Kabul (John Ales) - a fellow agent who changes his appearance and car every five minutes, McCluckey (Mason Gamble) - filling in the handy role of an agent who's `Home Alone'...and of course, a who's-who of friends who are just `stopping by' i.e. Hulk Hogan, Mr T, Ray Charles, Dr. Joyce Brothers and Alex Trebek among many more.

Like many of Leslie Nielsen's works, Spy Hard goes at a breakneck pace, and is just armed to the teeth with relentless gags, which just pile on one after the next. At over eighty minutes long, the movie plays its strengths very well. A sharp script is delivered with quality from the cast, the welcome use of celebrities provides some pleasing surprises for the viewer, and the spoofs of other films manage to avoid being stale and tiresome. There are some hilarious spoofs of Die Hard, Speed, Pulp Fiction, Sister Act, Home Alone and even Jurassic Park, all done creatively and with good taste. And of course, the inspired opening credits and the hilarious Spy Hard theme (directed and performed by the one-and-only "Weird Al" Yankovic) is the icing on the cake.

This DVD release comes with no special features. Only a scene selection and subtitles. Spy Hard is by no means a classic, but it's still a really funny romp to indulge in, and its certainly decent enough for family viewing as well. Fourteen years after I last watched it, it's still as good as I remember. And for those wishing to complete their Leslie Nielsen collection of films, Spy Hard has its place. Everyone else should check this out as well, especially now that it's a bargain DVD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
I think I really fell in love with this movie, and I'll watch it a few times. I watched it on my way to the trip. The ending is not perfect, but I like it very much. The filming technique is breathtaking. The actor's performance was animated and devoted. The plot is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Yes, you do have to enjoy Leslie Nielson - and millions do - and I am one of them and whilst they're always funny and enjoyable, they do repeat quite obvious gags.

He (& the production team) do those very well, of course and Nielson's sense of comic timing spot-on. However, this parody on the James Bond's and Spies of the cinematic world is seldom original. The funniest bits tend to be the gags away from those obviously 'Spy' genre and there's much sending up of films such as Home Alone, Speed, Pulp Fiction, True Lies, Sister Act, Jurassic Park, In the Line of Duty and finally a classic 007 fight-out.

However, most of these are just too similar to the originals to be anything more than amusingly recognisable. I'm not saying that they're any better or worse than the Scary Movies send up's of horror flicks, but they could do better; mind you, I never thought I'd see the day Nielson takes the John Travolta role, grey hair in a ponytail, in the infamous dance with Uma Thurman from Pulp Fiction.

As always, the Silver haired charmer gets the most unlikely of gorgeous ladies and as always these are great value as their ridiculousness are always so well spoofed up. As Dick Steele, (Agent WD40) Nielsen is suitably inept and takes the praise that others create around him, whilst he wreaks havoc. There's a great cameo from Ray Charles as a blind bus driver in the Speed sketch and Charles Durning contributes a large slice of humour as 'The Director', Steele's boss.

Leslie Nielsen, RIP - Spy Hard was not his finest film, not a bad one, but alas, not a very good one, which is down to the material, not the great man himself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 August 2011
Watched once, I enjoyed its outrageous stupidity and the expected but well acted gags and set pieces. Leslie Nielsen has made a good career out of this type of film with its constant allusions or visual references to other films, the throwaway humour and the ridiculous plots.

I considered giving a plot outline but there isn't much to outline, none that would make much sense.

He (and the rest of the crew) have made millions laugh heartily. Not a lot wrong with that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)