Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
473
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2009
Has anyone noticed that these 105 reviews (so far) are used by Amazon against 3 different versions of this movie? The 1999 & 2004 DVD releases and the 2007 Blueray release all share the same 105 reviews. How is one supposed to determine whether the 2004 version is better quality or no longer split on A and B sides of the disc? What is Amazon doing?
1717 comments| 225 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In response to the previous reviewer, this is an extremely good transfer on Blu-ray. The colours are vibrant, the detail is excellent (particularly apparent in close-ups such as the shot of young Henry's face as he looks out of his bedroom window across the street to the cafe) and the lighting is gorgeous. The sound also is as good as you could expect it to be. In summary, the film looks like it was filmed this year, rather than 20 years ago.

Extras provided include 2 commentaries (one with cast - not including de Niro or Pesci - & crew, the other with Henry Hill himself and Edward McDonald, FBI), 3 documentaries, storyboard to screen comparisons and the theatrical trailer.

Excellent!
66 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
The film is classic Scorcese/De Niro and one of the best gangster movies ever made, but you knew that already :) This blu-ray release, whilst welcome, could have been better in the sound department. Be aware that all you get is a standard DD 5.1 soundtrack - no DTS-HD Master or Dolby TrueHD.
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2001
The only things keeping this movie from being known as Scorsese's crowning achievement are those other movies he made known as known as Taxi Driver and Raging Bull.
It is usually accepted that Raging Bull was the greatest movie of the 1980s. That's probably true. Goodfellas is possibly the greatest movie of the 1990s.
The thing that makes this movie so attractive to me is that Scorsese could have easily made another Godfather. Goodfellas isn't about Mafia Kings, or Crime Lords. This is about the lower levels of the mafia who don't have the glamorous lifestyle as "the kings". These are the people who are several levels down from Don Corleone. Hence, the tone of the movie is much more raw, and violent. Thus, this film is more similar to Scorsese's 1973 classic Mean Streets as opposed to Coppola's Godfather.
Scorsese pays attention to every little detail in this movie. He uses so many different aspects of cinema in order to turn what may be a typical scene into something that you always remember. Examples of this include the brilliant camera work through the back entrance of the nightclub ; freeze frames that are accompanied with interesting narrative ; great shifts in scenes that highlight twists in the characters' minds. It is as though Scorsese had a whole bag of tricks that he was picking from to put into this movie - and they all work perfectly.
The soundtrack is brilliant. In some cases it places an exclamation point on a dramatic scene, in other cases it is used to give the viewer a sense of a time period. Scorsese even shows the same scene twice from two different angles just to illustrate two different points of view...brilliant!
This is Scorsese's best film from the 1990s, even better than Cape Fear and Casino. Robert De Niro, is brilliant, as you would expect from on of the greatest actors of all time, Joe Pesci plays his usually "scrappy little Italian psychopath" to perfection and Ray Liotta, recently seen misfiring in Hannibal, defies all expectations in what is without doubt his best performance to date.
The DVD is a double sided disc and the distinct lack of any extras does not do justice to this brilliant film. However, never fear as there is a Goodfellas special edition due out next year, to celebrate the existence of such a wonderful film.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
GoodFellas has to be one of the greatest movie of all time. The story, action, intensity, the actors all fit perfect on Goodfellas. Its the best. I wont I write the story but you know its a movie featuring the Italian Mafia men murdering, stealing and doing any thing bad that can be done to get to what they want and at the end they end up eliminating one another to survive from the FBI and judicial system which will look them up for good. Scorsese did a fantastic job portraying the movie as original as possible as It could have been. I got this 2 disc dvd version as I already have the mirror double sided single disc version which I hate as it stops the movie and you have to turn the disc to the other side. That is ridiculous. This version is the best as all in one disc and you also have the second disc with special features. To anyone that has not seen this movie just get it. You don't know what you have missed. To others that have the double sided mirror version just get rid of that and get this instead. Its the perfect version. Great seller. Delivery before the expected date so I am one happy customer. Thank You
review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2001
Avoid this, it will only encourage more of the same. I'm not talking about the magnificent film Goodfellas, but rather the fact that it is ruined by having to flip the DVD over halfway through.
It is also an extremely poor, non-anamorphic transfer that barely surpasses the VHS version.
Hopefully if enough of you don't buy this version, Warner Home Video might release a special edition that might do the film justice.
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
We have recently started collecting most of our favourite classic movies on Blu Ray because we love how good these movies look after they've been cleaned up, scanned and remastered then presented in their full glory. Prime examples of this are Universal's The Thing (1982) and Jaws (1976); classic movies that look incredible. Sadly we were left very let down by Goodfellas - Arguably our favourite crime flick; we were hoping for stunning colour and crystal clear picture, instead we get something that looks pretty much exactly like our double-sided DVD version. Cracks and pops are visible at times, around the 1 hour 17 minute mark we saw a very noticeable black line right down the middle of the picture for about 10 seconds. The film is also visibly grainy most of the time. There are some scenes, the daylight ones, which meet the vivid quality we were expecting; but the other 80% of the film is mainly shot in darker environments and you can really see the grain, which is hugely disappointing. We may as well have been watching our old DVD copy.

I doubt Warner Brothers have any plans to re-release this film in a more visually stunning and restored presentation. If you are buying this film to replace / upgrade your DVD copy, don't bother - you really cant see the difference.
55 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Nothing wrong with the film however my problem is with the dvd itself. Whoever put the film onto disk for some reason thought it would be a good idea to have you turn the dvd over mid scene. This results in missing the rest of the scene.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The term "Goodfella" means a gangster, especially a member of a Mafia family. The non fiction novel the film is based on was originally titled Wiseguy by Nicholas Pileggi, who also has a co-credit with Scorsese for screenplay. The title was changed to Goodfellas (in a move evidently jointly made by both men) Despite the dramatisation this is based on actual events that took place.

It's easy to get carried away with a review on this, but lets..it's worthy of the attention.

The story is a good one, perky up and coming wannabe gangster Henry Hill (played brilliantly by Ray Liotta) gets closer to local "Capo" Paul "Paulie" Cicero (Paul Sorvino) and his mob associates Jimmy Conway (De NIro), Tommy DeVito (Joe Pesci). Soon the three main characters get themselves into all sorts of top level criminal activities. During this time Henry meets his future wife Karen (Lorraine Bracco) who plays a feisty Jewish girl who has reservations about Henry, but can't help but fall for his charms and newly developed flashy lifestyle.

The crime trio soon up their game by getting into bigger and more dangerous ambitions. During this time the hot headed Tommy and Jimmy, manage to kill a made man Billy Batts (Frank Vincent) who insults Tommy in a classic scene where he mocks him for being a "shoe shine boy". Now the problems the three face are even bigger, as a member of the Gambino family killing Batts is a recipe for disaster.

After this Henry's problems continue with serious marriage woes, a mistress, and out of control drug use and dealing. All three have gone far beyond the control of the local boss, and they are attracting too much attention. Henry's also detached from reality and feeling the pressure on all sides. In the end he has to make a choice, when the FBI hone in on his activities. He's now alone and separated from this local Mafia associates, a far cry from the early days and care free attitude.

Casting wise, well just about as good as you can get, Ray Liotta slots into the cocky and ambitious Henry role easily, and De Niro and Pesci are equally convincing as the more established hoodlums who have their own desires to become bigger fish. Supporting cast also top notch with Lorraine Bracco doing a great job of the demanding and pressuring girlfriend/wife, Tony Sirico, Tony Lip, Paul Sorvino, Frank Vincent all do a wonderful job of supporting cast members. Keep a look out for Samuel L. Jackson, and Scorsese's parents in the roles of Vinnie and Tommy DeVito's mother.

Screenplay is tight, script is near faultless, good sound and camera work you simply don't have time to think of anything else.
Scorsese's unique directing works wonders here, we have his trademark "freeze frame" at key moments with a running commentary from mainly Ray Liotta throughout. His touch simply adds even more shine to a top level cast with fine actors. It's a fairly long film at 146 minutes, the DVD version I have requires you turn over the disc half way (I might add the blu ray shortly)

Hard to find any real faults here, and the best part is that it's based on real events, you'd have a job making this story up on your own.
Sometimes you just get that rare event where everything just "gels" near perfectly: cast, crew, director it's like a well oiled machine in action. The film also stands the test of time with many viewings I never tire of it.

If you get just one Mafia film this is probably one of the best out there, unmissable.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2001
What can I say, this is sensational. Liotta in the lead role of Henry Hill is out of this world and it is a tragedy that he hasn't gone on to be one of the world's most revered actors which is largely down to stupid career choices. Make no mistake after watching him in this, you will see how he should be up there with Brando and now the greatest of all time without doubt, De Niro. The way the film's shot gives it a fast, contemporary feel but from the very first moment "for as long as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster", you know you are watching a classic, one of the greatest films of all time. The stark reality of the characters and their wise guy ways give this the edge over, the Untouchables, Once upon a time in America and even the Godfather trilogy. Make no mistake this is a classic and Scorcese further proves himself to be the greatest movie maker of all. The only downside is that due to it being one of the first DVD's it's in two sided format and poor extras which Warner Brothers are fast getting a reputation for. Hence the rock bottom price. However it is almost three hours long so you're getting a bargain. Heck, the front cover's worth a tenner!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)