Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
145
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2010
Remove at least an hour of this and you have a good film. It is watchable more than once but fast forward is blessing. The basic post apocalytic plot runs along the lines that if the country is united by communication then people can unite and be a nation once again: that isolation and parochialism leave us in the hands of local war lords and despots. In essence, without the ability to communicate across society it will disintegrate and collapse to the lowest common denominator. Costner is a slef appointed postman who takes on the role of mediator and unifier of the nation through letter writing and sharing of ideas and ideals. He faces the opportunists and the tyrants who wish to exploit the situation and eventually becomes a legendary figure. As I said, this very enjoyable film woudl beneift greatly from a major edit since his journey is a little to long and drawn out but the acting keeps the story credible and you find yourself caring about the characters and whether they live or die even when you know that good is going to triumph in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
One of my favorite Costner Films, good acting, beautiful scenery, interesting and emotive plot. Will get Blu Ray version hopefully soon....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
Just love his film with Kevin Coster in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
a good storyline as a man survives to make a better life after an apocoliptic war.no government,no rules,pretending to be a postman he falls in love and with the help of teenagers sets up a postal service but no without having to take on the warlord first,a fantastic film for all the family,i really recommend this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
watched this film years ago, still very good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
Never saw the movie myself, but it was brought as a gift for my brother, and he enjoyed it. Great service too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
The Postman is one of those films that supposedly destroyed an A-listers career.

For some reason, Costner has always been a target of critics, and despite the fact that in the early nineties, he was one of the big players thanks to the like of The Bodygaurd, Robin Hood and Dances with Wolves, we all tend to remember him for Waterworld, Wyatt Earp, and this, which is unarguably nothing more than a vanity project for it's star/Director.

But i've always been a fan of Costner, and I would watch him in a film where he reads the dictionary..

Set three years ago, after war has destroyed most of USA, including the government, a lone drifter is captured by a fascist group called the Holnists led by General Bethlehem.

When he escapes, he finds a mail Jeep and uniform, and starts to travel through small cities, telling them he is a postman, a representative of the restored United States.

No one believes him at first, but soon he has followers, and they start to prepare a revolt against Holnists.......

With this being a post apocalyptic vision of the recent past/future depending on when you actually see the film, I for one was actually surprised as to just how light hearted the film was in some scenes.

What Costner has given us is nothing more than Robin Hood: Prince Of Thieves meets Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome, as The Postman has the same traits and problems as Hood.

Now take away Patton (even though he is very good), and add Rickman, I would guarantee that this would have been better received, and more regarded today.

I wouldn't have been surprised if the late actor was sent a script, but didn't want to steal the show from Costner yet again.

So he escapes from the General, starts a movement, gets injured, spends a winter with Olivia Willaims, and fights some more, until we have a Braveheart type finale.

The film is all over the place, Costner clearly believed he had the answers to the meaning of life with this film, and was betting that he would repeat his success with Dances With Wolves.

It's not a bad film by any means, it's actually quite entertaining, and my advice is make your own decisions, you will find something to enjoy.

Even if it is for all the wrong reasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Fantastic film, can't stop watching it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Very good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)