Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 January 2018
If you love a weepy then this is the film for you, Meryl Streep and Clint Eastwood meet one day when he is passing through Madison county, her husband is away for four days and she falls in love, but they both go their separate ways at the end. Both play an excellent part in the film. At first they just start off as friends but they both fall in love with one another, but when her husband returns home they part company , I love this film, saw it years ago but couldn’t remember what it was called. Thanks Amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2017
This could have been the classic that most reviewers refer too . However , Streep is so overacted , trying to win every scene . Quite frankly , she
is miscast and vastly over-rated . Her fake Italian accent is deplorable . Someone like Sally Field , would have complimented mr eastwood's tour
de force , far better . In the early indoor scene , where the two siblings analyse their Mothers sanity , the scene is ruined , by the upper half of the
window curtains , clearly defining two stage hands , moving about . This should have been so good , but the casting of Streep , guts it like a herring . The so typical grubbing for the spoils at the reading of the will , is very well done , which elevates it from one star . For those who may think this reviewer is either young , or has a short attention span , I am currently 63 and was married for a decade . The portrayal of the everso put upon housewife , becoming her true , hidden , emotional siren , is palpably ridiculous .
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Such a beautiful, moving film. You will need the tissues ready.....how I sobbed!
So beautifully acted and directed. Meryl Streep and Clint Eastwood played their parts superbly. As mentioned in a previous review, the moment when Clint Eastwood stares at Meryl Streep in the rain as she leaves at the end of the film is so moving. I cannot believe it has taken me so long to find this film! I would definitely recommend and will be watching it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 December 2017
One of the few films i have watched over and over again due to the masterful direction and performance of Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep, this film drips with atmosphere and period detail. The unfolding love affair between two lonely strangers who meet by chance on a sweltering summer day develops beautifully and i found it totally believeable and suprisingly moving. A masterwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
I have not read the book so the film is my experience of this story. It is sad and you feel the direction in which the story will go almost from the start. Francesca is a dutiful wife and mother so basically you know which decision she will make when the time comes. The photography is beautiful, the characters complex and refined and the climactic scene where Eastwood delays pulling away from the green light while Francesca sits in the car behind with her husband with her hand on the door handle is a shattering emotional moment in cinema...
The film is long and needs editing in the middle - the film combines 'past and present' to tell the story and I found the 'in the present' scenes between Francesca's adult son and daughter boring and uninteresting, who cares about them it's Francesca's destiny we want to know about! frankly seeing how unlikable her children - for who she made such a sacrifice - turn out to be you wonder if she ever regretted not getting out of the car.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2016
Get the tissues out, this is a real weepy at the end. Although I am a bloke, the emotion in this wonderful film drew me to tears......and that is a rare thing.

Great acting from Mr. Eastwood and Meryl Streep, wonderful sexual tension between them. Also directed by Clint.

Wasn't so keen on the acting by her kids.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2011
Bridges of Madison County is a very deep emotional film which, although took a while to get to the real story, nonetheless had me captivated. I feel that both sexes can be spiritually and emotionally touched by this film at various levels. It is a story of two souls meeting as their paths cross and finding out, in the short space of time they are together, that they are true soul mates united. It is a film about true unconditional love and how Meryl Streeps character is left to live her life as she decided to go on, but at the same time is not judged by her decision. This is a real love story with heart renching moments - so make sure you have plenty of tissues to hand!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2011
This is an astoundingly good film, a love story to rival any and surpass most.

The setting is the awe-inspiring but remote farm country of Iowa in the early sixties (although the film starts thirty years later and regularly skips forward in time throughout) and tells of the romance and love that develops between two mature people after a chance meeting.

It is beautiful in so many ways; the majestic and evocative settings, the wonderful harnessing of colour and light, but most of all the passionate love story that is the heart of this film. Clint Eastwood is truly an accomplished director and producer of films now as well as a very fine actor. But the shining star in terms of performance is the superb Meryl Streep. Yet again she delivers an exhibition that is singularly brilliant; surely she is one of the great actresses of our (if not all) time?

The pace of the film is respectfully slow but manages to grip and enthral you from beginning to end; in fact you never want this film to end! A true love story told with rare beauty, and one I'm sure I will watch again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2012
This film, another Clint Eastwood masterpiece is the ideal Saturday night unwind picture. Lovely story of a sort of brief encounter with co-star Meryl Streep. Set in a fantastic location which takes the viewer back to a much more peaceful era the film is one that you cannot leave for one moment and the acting is superb. We see Meryl as the farmers wife who has a short affair with the photographer played by Clint who visits the area known as Madison County. It is really worth watching and you will not be dissapointed. Buy it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
An old favourite. Fantastic acting good story of love family and life's sacrifices for others we love. Very touching, warming, but also get the tissues ready in case of a few tears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)