Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
207
4.6 out of 5 stars
A Matter Of Life And Death [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 March 2013
A really old and dated DVD but none -the- less worth watching. David Niven, a heart-throb of the time! Keep your hankies ready!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2010
Saw this film years ago and enjoyed it, bought the dvd and watched it again, still retained it's old world charm, no violence, swearing or nudity, just good old fashioned family entertainment, can't beat it. Films of this calibre are enduring and eclipse a lot of the films of today. I have remembered this film for over 40 years, dont think that will be said about a lot of the films produced today. One that can be watched time and again, a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
An aviator (David Niven) should be dead but by time Heaven finds out, he has fallen in love and it is for the powers that be to decide whether he should continue living or die. One of the classic love stories of all time with some fantastic special effects considering the film is 70 years old. A very satisfying film I have watched a number of times and will watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2005
like a good book or a piece of music. a painting or in this case .a film. Like a good friend,you can return to again and again, and enjoy as much as ever. love is eternal and does not rise and fall with fashion and taste. A great story,well acted and directed and produced.
The spiritual nature seems even more relevant to thses uncertain times . henceforth the essence of the tale. Just as with classics like Casablanca, timeless.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This is one of my favourite films ever! I fist saw this film about thirty years ago and have loved it every since. After reading The Moon's A Balloon and Bring On The Empty Horses I just had to buy it to add to my collection. David Niven is absolutely fantastic, they don't make film stars like this anymore - more's the pity!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2008
powell and pressburger are the two finest film makers ever to grace us with their talent. any one of their films would in impress in any number of ways. in the modern era only the coen brothers come to close to matching this fabulous writer/director partnership. this film is heavilt borrowed from my countless film and ad makers and has more memorable scenes in it than a best of trailer reel.

niven plays a pilot who is meant to die after bailing on his way home from a bomber run, but due to an admin error in heaven he ends up in limbo. during that time he falls in love with a USAF lady and so when gods ambassor comes to claim him, he appeals. quite right too, she's lovely.

the drama toggles between his appeal in heaven (in black and white) and the real life drama on earth (in colour) where he struggles with increasing blackouts. things end up with him siumtaneoulsy on an operating theatre on earth and in a grand celestial court in heaven where the epic trial will inspire you as to waht huimanity could achieve through fraternity and debate.

the opening scenes alone would blow your mind but the toggle between B&W to colour,the suspended reality moments (esp. the table tennis game), the camaraderie, the grand celestial trial and the love story synergise to perfection.

untouchable before or since
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2012
This has always been my favorite film. I have thought so since I first saw it on its original release (I'm old!) and in the more than 50 years since, I have never seen any film that I have enjoyed more. OK, so the special effects are a bit primitive - but they were great for their time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
I saw it when it appeared as a movie after the war when it was highly credited in the post-occupied country where I live.It bears being revisited so many years afterwards. I will even say that there are aspects of the plot that stands out more clearly now. My recommendations!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
This is one of the outstanding movies you must see at sometime in your life.
The dvd provides excellent quality , an endearing storyline which gives you that "feel good" factor a film which was well ahead of its time.
Excellent one to be enjoyed .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
This VHS Tape was in good condition and as described by the seller as a collectors copy standard. The film itself is amusing and different especially for the late 40s. Especially its anti-british element in the trial scene whih was unusual just after the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse