Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
79
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2003
This is a really good film that is more than just a thriller, but a statement about identity as well. Barbet Schroder (Murder by Numbers) scales the lonely apartment building with his camera and shows the gargoyle statues perched on the ledge. There are many shots like this and a theme of a very small person in a very large and modern world that is close to swallowing up our individuality is explored in this disturbing thriller.
Bridget Fonda gives a sweet performance as the emotionally vulnerable Allie Jones. She exposes her heart in an intimate moment with her boyfriend Sam (Steven Weber) when she tells him, "Your the best thing that's ever happened to me". When she is forced to advertise for a SWF roomate another sweet personality comes into play as shy Hedra Carlson (Jennifer Jason Leigh) wins over Allie and moves in.
What develops is a slow evolving nightmare as Hedra subtly transforms herself bit by bit into Allie. Barely noticable at first it becomes more and more pronounced until Allie must fight for not only her identity but her life as well. Leigh is great as always and we feel sorry for her at first just as Allie does. She seems to have no life at all. Even when Allie thinks Hedra might be fooling around with someone in the apartment what she sees is quite different.
Hedra taps into all Allie's insecurities until she is in danger of dissappearing. A scene in the dark where Allie's boyfriend Sam is sexually fooled by Hedra before he realizes it is not Allie is particularly disturbing. Schroder seems to be pondering if one person has become interchangable with another in today's world.
The ending is violent and bloody but it has no other place to go. Hedra can't live as Allie if Allie still exists and Allie must overcome her fear in order to live. Both Fonda and Leigh work well together and each gives a fine performance in this lonely feeling movie that makes us think about our own identity.
This is a good film to watch late at night with the lights off. It has a lonely and eventually disturbing feel to it and will have you wondering the next day how easy it would be...
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
Turn around and ten years have passed you by, this is came out 23 years ago and it only seems like yesterday, how time flies, that is. . . if there is any such thing as time, but that is another one of my interests as you will see if you scan though all my reviews. There is no point in my writing about this film which is so well known and documented so I need to just say whether or not I liked it. . .

A terrific film, the DVD sits in my favourites collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
This is a brilliant psycological thriller starring a young Bridget Fonda and Jennifer Jason Leigh, basically about a girl (Bridget) who advertises for a flat mate who then becomes jealous of her and ultimatly trys to take her life, its a brilliant psycological film and one of Fondas best performances without a doubt!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
This is so like Fatal Attraction but involving a very disturbed flatmate turned stalker. It's one thing to have someone want to copy you, which can be flattering but this takes it one step further. Well worth the watch and, again, a good second hand price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Good film and well worth a watch, Fonda needs a room mate and thinks she has found the ideal girl to share with until she realises her new room mate is starting to copy her in clothes and looks, Fonda's boyfriend ends up dead and so does the puppy dog?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 August 2009
Allison Jones (Bridget Fonda) is a computer system designer for fashion workers - and is happily in love with her new boyfriend. They're getting on well, until she finds out he's nothing but a cheat- and decides to give men a rest, and have a live-in flat mate. The problem with Hettie (Jennifer Jason Leigh) is that she's hard work, and soon becomes too interested in Allison's life.

This is a tense thriller about an obsessive woman who becomes too enthralled in someone else's life, and even gets herself mixed up in lies, deceit and other bad activities, and the cycle of problems just gets more momentum.

Bridget is great as Allison, and Jennifer does a great impression of her, which is funny to a point before it gets too bizarre. It's a great storyline, but there's really not much scenery change; but the action does keep you wondering what's going to happen next.

Definitely worth a look, this is a classic thriller with a modern twist.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
Having seen this when it was first released I came across it on TV the other night while channel hopping so I sat and watched it again. This is a brillant film with a great twisted story line and some very good acting from the two leading ladies in the film. It kept me glued to the TV to the very end which for a older film just proves it was a gem in it's day. This is a great thriller which really does at times get very creepy and you can pick this up on DVD for next to nothing these days so if you haven't seen this film go and buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
Absolutely brilliant film & makes you careful who you would share your apartment with. She thinks she's found the perfect room mate & friend until she starts to take over her life & her identity. You really have to see this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2014
A bit creepy when you consider sharing your flat with someone who copies you in every way,kills your boyfriend and your new puppy.
It's entertaining enough with a stand off scene near the end. Very 90's but reminds you that you probably should not live with someone you don't know. It works on this level.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Oh how I love this film! It's so creepy and the main obsessed character is played out perfectly by the actress. It appears to me that she could have BPD (Borderline Personality Disorder) and definitely has obsessive issues - something I know quite a lot about, having suffered for many years. But of course the character has much more than just BPD wrong with her, as it would not drive her to such terrible actions - on the contrary, mental illness does not make people vicious or turn them into killers as the press may like us all to think. So it's kind of half and half - a look at some symptoms and a fictionalised nasty character. All in all, a very entertaining film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)