Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
48
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2017
Never fails to entertain and in good condition too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Replaces my dvd version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
A creepy one !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Lovely movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
This review is about the PRODUCT and not the actual film.

The casing is a slim-line Blu-Ray case.
The sleeve states that the film is Region A, but I have tested the disc on my player and it runs perfectly fine on a Region B machine.

Picture quality is an improvement over the DVD but still could be better. With the scenery on offer (jungles, rivers, vibrant colours) the video quality delivers well in this transfer.
Some night-time shots look a bit grainy, but overall it is a satisfactory release on Blu-Ray.

There are absolutely no extras whatsoever. When you put the disc into the machine, it rolls past the Mill Creek logo and straight into the film without even offering a menu.
The film is split into a very disappointing 4 chapter breaks, which is quite shocking if you want to navigate the disc!

Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0
Video: MPEG4-AVC
Chapters: 4
Rating: PG-13
Running time: 89mins 17secs
Ratio: 2.40:1 Anamorphic widescreen
Region: A,B
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Having heard a lot about this movie being one of those mindless pieces of entertainment, I can confirm that it is really that. Mindless and entertaining. It definitely is a B movie where actors overact whilst a creature picks them off one by one. I like creature features and horror movies. This one did a solid job of offering a steady rhythm of thrills. Plus, if you like overacting, look at Jon Voight, who acts as if he’s being eaten by the anaconda every time the camera is on him. The other cast members are ok, with a few famous faces, including Owen Wilson. Jennifer Lopez and Ice-T also give good performances, and I liked their characters. I wanted to spend more time with them because I felt like they could have carried this movie on their own. It’s a fun movie and the best in the Anaconda(s) series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 January 2015
Anaconda is a 1997 adventure horror and sees a film crew head up the Amazon to find a lost tribe. Instead they find a shipwrecked Paul Serone [Jon Voight]. This sinister seasoned adventurer soon has everyone at each others throats following an onboard accident after which he suggests a short cut to return to base. The mission soon changes to capturing a giant anaconda which seems to be ever present.
Plenty of twists and turns involving changes of loyalty, keep this going at a lively pace. Despite bring nearly 20 years old, the special effects are still very good [with a few that now look dated]. One by one the group are whittled down, but who will survive –if any. The real buzz with this film are the characters, some great overacting in the arms waving and screaming stakes, but Jon Voight excels as the ’creepy guy’, Eric Stoltz ]as Professor Steven Cale] the know it all annoying Professor, Jonathan Hyde [as Warren Westridge] is a stereotypical English fop –excellent, while Kari Wuhrer appears at her glamorous best [–and unusually keeps her clothes on] whilst the others are good but those four stand out.
The single disc comes with standard features [languages. audio select [but only English 5.1 or Dolby surround], subtitles [7 languages], scene selection, play and resume [which just puts the film into play]. This is exactly the same as the copy in the Anacondas 1-4 box set.
If you like Indiana Jones type movies mixed with horror, the this is a must see. It’s not really a blood and gore film, neither is it a slasher or edge of your seat, but it does have its moments, and if you hate snakes, it’ll be even scarier. This is a definite **** rating.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
A National Geographic crew head down the Amazon in a boat to make a documentary on a long-lost tribe of natives.

On the way, they rescue a hunter from his sinking boat and take him on board. After the ship's captain is attacked by a poisonous insect and goes comatose, the hunter commandeers the boat.

taking the crew hostage, he makes them go along on his insane quest to capture a giant anaconda.....

First things first, the film is awful, its all over the shop and there has to be some of the most over the top acting I've ever seen in a movie. Saying that, I had a blast from beginning to end.

Any film that can dub Trejos voice and kill him off in literally the first two minutes, has to be seen. The rest of the film is owned by Voight and a really dodgy looking reptile. Considering this is four years after Jurassic Park, and they spent a hundred grand every second that beast was on screen, its pretty laughable.

The rest of the cast are there for filler. Lopez is good, Ice Cube is just a happier Doughboy, Wilson getting into Hollywood big time, and Jonathan Hyde as the token British snob, which is xenophobia if I've ever seen it.

But there is so much fun to be had, guessing who will die first, the amount of times Voights accent changes thought the film, and obviously how much better Lopezs' nose looks today.

But it is a bad film, and although I had lots of fun watching it, I cannot justify giving it a high rating.

But its the best movie ever made where Eric Stoltz is asleep for 80% of the running time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Said it has subtitles then tried to watch then nothing, now can't cancel. I'm deaf - no point watching a film without subtitles!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
It reminds me a little of Alien, but with a giant snake. Jon Voight makes a really creepy snake hunter with an agenda (reminds me of Ash). It's not a patch on Alien, but I seem to enjoy it just as much.

The superbit version solves the problems with the standard DVD where CGI meets actor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)