Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
18
4.3 out of 5 stars
Excess Baggage [VHS]
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£2.49+ £2.80 shipping


on 19 September 2016
Saw this movie years ago and never had a chance to get it until now. Its a really good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Yes this is one of those movies that you probably shouldn't like as got a bit of a corny storyline but there is something about the movie. Maybe its the chemistry between the two leads of Benicio del Toro and Alicia Silverstone or the touch of black humour combined with a great haunting soundtrack but whatever the combination this is one of the my secret pleasures.
Definitely one of those movies you either love it or hate it and I am in the love it category. One particular song in the movie was particularly haunting to me and the soundtrack has only that song along with a score so just downloaded "All Mixed Up" by The Red House Painters. Also great part for Christopher Walken.
Benicio del Toro is particular hot in this role and although not playing the most charming and charismic part there is something extremely sexy and appeal about his character.
Definite one for the collection library of feel good movies as always brings a smile to my face and great one to cheer you up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 July 2013
Emily (Alicia Silverstone) is a spoilt little rich girl who desperate for her dad's attention stages her own kidnapping but as she's waiting tied up in the boot of her car for the cops to rescue her along comes car thief vincent (Benicio Del Toro) who steals her car & inadvertently kidnaps her for real which leads to all sorts of complications for both of them.
I bought a used copy of this movie & it was apparently produced by alicia silverstone but did not get good reviews on it's release,but I would say it's a really surprising little gem & well worth a watch.8/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
When I bought this DVD I knew nothing about the film except that the cast seemed promising with Benicio del Toro and Christopher Walken starring alongside Alicia Silverstone. The story about an attention seeking teenager staging her own kidnapping, only to find herself trapped in the boot of her car when it is stolen and driven away, was also rather intriguing.

And the film proved to be very enjoyable indeed with it's many twists and turns. There are a few real laugh out loud moments as Del Toro, the young car thief and unwitting kidnapper, has his hands full with the very plucky Silverstone. And when Walken appears on the scene, the plot thickens and it becomes impossible to know who is playing whom, and why.

It's not the greatest film ever made, especially the filming locations aren't as exciting as they could be (apparently most of the film was shot in British Columbia), and it's and definitely not your average romcom, but it's great fun all the same. If you are intrigued by the story, or if you like the actors involved, chances are you'll find something to like about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
A small film, not well known but really enjoyable. It's different and quirky as are the characters. Alicia Silverstone plays a young girl faking a kidnapping to get attention from her uninterested father but Benicio Del Toro unwittingly chooses her car - with her locked in the boot - to steal. This then leads to a series of misadventures. Christopher Walken is at his usual finest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
I suppose you have like alicia silverstone, but I do, and also Benicio Del Toro, but again I do - they make a great double-act and this is an enjoyable film, with a twisty plot, dumb and dumber hench-men and hit-men and a happy ending for all. If you like semi-romatic comedy thrillers this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
Love this film! Alicia Silverstone is fab as Emily, who stages her own kidnapping but then her car gets stolen for real with her in the boot!
Benicio del toro is excellent as Vincent the car theif. Before long the two of them team up. Brilliant film. Great soundtrack too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
When I first came across this DVD I wasn`t sure about it at all.From the cover I expected another one of those mindless romances but was pleased to say I found this film entertaining and well acted with a fresh approach to the story of a kidnapping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
It seems an odd pairing, but I think the two stars jelled quite nicely. Christopher Walken, as always, the most interesting and watchable character, adding his usual dry hilarity to the odd situations presented in this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)