Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
17
3.6 out of 5 stars
The Woman in White [VHS] [1997]
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£13.98+ £2.80 shipping


on 30 August 2017
I remember this being shown at Xmas 1997 on BBC and really enjoying it. Highlight is gothic atmosphere created and a very good performance from Simon Callow as Count Fosco.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
This adaptation was not exactly what i was expecting. The acting was very good - Andrew Lincoln and Simon Callow are two of the best - but the story was completely different to Wilkie Collins' original. For example the character of Mrs Catherick was completely absent from this adaptation, but in the original, her testomony was one of the most important to the plot! Really the only similarities I could see were the names of the characters and places - accepting Marian Halcombe, sorry, Marian Fairlie.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
Okay, if you haven't read the book, you might find this movie quite interesting. If you have read the book and liked it, don't subject yourself to this. I suppose it is loosely based on the book, but has such radical departures from the story it cannot be considered a true rendition. The technical quality of the production is superior to the older BBC version, due to advances in technology, and the acting is, for the most part, quite lovely. However I couldn't get over the changes to the story, which add unnecessary imputations of sexual misconduct to some characters, and leave many unanswered questions (just what did happen to Count Fosco?). When the two main characters start (ridiculously) digging up a grave in the churchyard in the middle of the night, I was vocal in my disapproval.
If you are looking for a relatively accurate depiction of Wilkie Collins' brilliant novel, do not choose this version. If you are looking for a nicely acted, finely produced period drama that vaguely references a famous novel you may have heard about, then you might well enjoy this.
22 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
I read the book first and I thought this film could have been very good if it had it not deviated so much from the book just to make it more dramatic. I think it's a shame that the makers of this film felt the need to turn Sir Percival Glyde into a completely unrealistically evil man just to fit in with a more modern concept of scandal. To me a big part of the brilliance of the book was the sympathy you are made to feel for him when you discover that the real reason behind the fraud he commited (which in the book was the worst of his crimes) was based on a scandal not of his doing and of which he was the victim rather than the perpetrator. Anne Catherick's mother should have been in it too and there should have been much more of Fosco particularly towards the end....(again more like the book)

Some fantastic acting though from those who played Fosco (the most interesting character by far in my opinion) Mr Fairlie and Dr Kidson.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
Notwithstanding the deviation from Wilkie Collins' original novel, this is a fine adapttion encapsulted into a feature film of two hours in length. The acting and direction was superb. My only criticism was the lack of English sub-titles, only Dutch! By and large the dialogue is clear but occasionally they descend into whispers and sub-titles would help to follow the story. A good production generally and I enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
No, this is not a faithful adaptation, but it is a very good adaptation. As this is a Masterpiece Theatre production, there is an introduction and a conclusion that is included, but not part of the actual film. The conclusion explains why so much of the novel was left out and explains some important plot points of the novel that were excluded from the film. This includes the the "Paris scene" as one reviewer distressingly noted--which ties up the loose ends concerning Count Fosco.

Noting that they wanted to make a 2 hour film, they did a superb job. And, really, this film would be more fun if you haven't read the book so please don't let that deter you if you haven't read the book. Actually, if you haven't read the book, I'd suggest you see the film first. That will make you go out and want to read the book immediately-- and you won't be disappointed with either!

The first two-thirds of this movie was very good; the last, superb. I thought the casting was good although, admittedly, Count Fosco was an odd choice. Still, it worked-- he had an immense amount of charm, and and immense amount of evil-- the only thing that he lacked was his immense weight.

I thought the script and the casting were perfect. Maybe the only thing that faltered a bit was the direction and I'm not certain as to what could have been better. After the climactic moment at the asylum (which completely caused chills), however, I found no fault at all in the director's work. I usually enjoy these productions a bit more than my husband and he found this film to be a five-star.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2002
I am surprised that any of the other reviewers could drum up much enthusiasm for this adaptation. It took so many unnecessary, frankly stupid, liberties with the text and added in a lot of totally apocryphal details (pre-Raphaelite art, I love it but hardly central to the story...) while leaving out things that were crucial to the plot. Simon Callow and James Wilby were about the only redeeming features. This book is one of the finest examples of sensationalism, it doesn't need any tampering with the plot.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
Ok, it deviates from the book but this 1997 version of The woman in white is superb.
Stunning cast and brilliant direction let alone the fact that David Ferguson,s music is
inspired.
Susan Vidler is cast perfectly as the Woman in white.
One of those films i can watch over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
Rather disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
Don't be put off by the fact it is a dutch import subtitles can be turned off and I really enjoyed this adaptation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)