Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2001
La Vie en Rose is the moving tale of a little boy Ludovic whose
difference creates problems all around for the adults who have trouble
accepting it. Confronted to a .world where men are very
suspicious of not beeing seen as men, Ludovic takes refuge in a
Barbie-coloured imaginary world where people accept that he wants to
be a girl. A real lesson in accepting differences.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2004
Writing as one who has gone throught the trials of Ludovic, I was glad to watch a film of great sensitivity to such a family situation. It should be a must for every child phsychologist. Every parent who actually cares for the individuality of their child instead of attempting to ensure the usual conformation to type should watch this film. They will learn as much about themselves as their child. They will never actually change their child. More probably harm him or her if they intervene with nature.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
Wanted to watch this for ages. Bought it simply because I was fed up waiting for LoveFilm.

A funny and well made story of a little boy with gender dysphoria. Subtitled.

If anyone is looking for more information on this matter, contact [...] , which is referred by the NHS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most people have given this film five stars but somehow I feel this is to overrate it a bit, even though it is outstanding in its way. It certainly presents Ludovic very sensitively and the story is well worth telling. It recreates the world through Ludovic's eyes, while also showing with considerable depth the strain on his uncomprehending parents, whose reactions to him vary widely at different times. They are really quite moving in their baffled attempts to do what is right. All this is excellent, but I do feel that in the end it doesn't quite have that indefinable something, a vision that goes beyond what we see and lifts the film into a realm where it gives a deeper pleasure than entertainment or intelligent insights. And surely this is what we want from films, ideally. The satire of the neighbours' values, for instance, is a bit too broad, and the day-glo visuals are a little too consistent, even schematic. If you compare it to, say, Celia, about a young girl in Australia, you find that extra edge of visual interest and unpredictability in the way it presents the world, while still remaining largely in the mind of a child. Perhaps it's that there's an excess of close-ups in the French film? I can't quite put my finger on it, but it is a very good film, certainly, and well worth seeing, if ultimately not quite one of the great films about childhood. The boy and both his parents give outstandingly nuanced performances at close range, and 'granny', as he calls her, is terrifically wacky and kindhearted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2004
This is a charming film which explores many different themes providing a well-structured, multi-genre film. The film is thought provoking as it tries to explore the thoughts and feelings of Ludovic through fantastic fantasy day-dreams and polishes it off with hints of humour.
The ensemble cast are wonderful but it is Laroque, however, that stands out giving a deep and powerful performance as Ludovic's mother who takes both sides.
One might say this is the Pre-Amélie Amélie.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 June 2012
A very sweet, well intended, good-natured film about a 7 year old boy who is convinced he's supposed to be a girl, and wants
to dress and act accordingly.

His parents' confusion, and inability to deal with the situation are shown without making them monsters, even as it all starts
to tear at the fabric of the family, costing the father his job, etc.

What didn't work as well for me was the weaving in of the Tim Burton-esque magical realism/fantasy element of the young
boy's dream world. Somehow, in the end, the film felt too light and sunny to really rip at your guts, and yet too dark to just
enjoy as a wish fulfillment fantasy of the way the world should be.

So while well worth seeing, it ends up as a little less than it has signs of becoming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2003
A very memorable and funny film that deals with the hypocrisy of people living in a small French town. It is about a boy who likes to dress up as a girl (much to the horror of his parents, neighbours and school). There are some excellent performances by the children and it makes for thoroughly entertaining family viewing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
The Main menu audio volume on this DVD is too high - causing lots of "clipping" - but the quality of the video and audio in the film itself is perfect. The DVD-5 (single layer) disc uses anamorphic 16:9 to display the 1.85:1 original theatrical ratio and audio is Dolby 2.0 stereo. There is less than 10 minutes of extra features - so there's not likely to have been much gained anyway if it were a dual layer disc.

The English subtitles are fixed (not an optional feature) - but non-French speaking viewers will welcome the fact that they are very easy to read.

Ma Vie En Rose is one of my favourite films. Everything about it is first class - but especially its huge beautiful heart. I saw the film in cinematic release here in Brisbane first on my own - and then in company with my friend Philippa who had experienced first hand the reality of lifelong gender dysphoria. We both cried.

Too nany people (gay men included) judge transgenders as having made a decision as adults to change their gender identity - when very often the awareness has been there all their lives.

Ma Vie En Rose is not only a beautiful and engaging family drama - but a charming and empowering fantasy (based soundly in reality).

Every parent should see this film, so they can be prepared to accept and support their children, just as they.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2007
I adore this film.

It is beautiful, frustrating, powerful, funny and eloquent. The world of Pam can be appreciated by anyone with a love of the kitsch.

I find it intensely irritating when I come across this film categorised into 'Gay Interest' films. This is not a sexual film about being gay, straight, cross-dressing, transgender etc etc. It is a simple and wonderful film exploring a little boy's confusion about gender identity and acceptance, and having to cope with his family and the communtity's hostility and narrow-mindedness. This, I feel, can be appreciated by all. Georges du Fresne, who plays Ludovic, is simply fantastic and plays his character with pure devotion; an absolute gem.

I wouldn't call it a family film though, unless perhaps one has a child dealing with similar issues.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
I thought this was a very good item. It has English subtitles and was a brilliant film, with fantastic acting. I'd certainly recommend it. It's about a gender confused 7 year old boy. He dreams of being a girl, but this affects his relationship with his parents and the neighbours. He has no idea that his wishes are (supposedly) wrong and begins to learn more about the real world. Worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)