Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 October 2004
season 3 is probably my favourite series. some of the best in the entire series are in this season. you should buy the first 2 seasons before this as alot of the episodes are a continuing story. like all seasons you get a few average episodes that are a bit dull or confusing, but there's so many good ones it wont matter. this really is value for money with all 24 episodes at 42 minutes each spread over 6 dvds. thats 1100 minutes of x-files. the new packaging is great. 6 dvds sit nicely is a well designed case but sadly the 7th bonus disc is left alone and just sits loose in a slot in the back of the booklet which isnt ideal. but the bonus disc contains mainly interviews and deleted scenes that won^t get viewed much. all in all another amazing set finally at a bargain price.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 June 2016
This is Season Three of 'The X-Files'. This Blu-ray set presents all 24 episodes of the season in full HD, with fantastic video and audio quality. As the show was originally recorded on film, the Blu-ray transfer is excellent (whereas the earlier VHS and DVD releases had to be reduced in quality). This is, therefore, the best version of the show.

This season originally aired in 1995-96, and it picks up immediately after the events depicted at the end of the second season. Here we continue to see both Fox Mulder (David Duchovny) and Dana Scully (Gillian Anderson) working together as FBI agents investigating paranormal and supernatural cases - known as X-Files. As with each of the seasons, this one consists of several 'monster of the week' type episodes, as well as building the ground work for the ongoing story-arc concerned with alien invasion and government conspiracy.

This is a great show, and season three is amongst the very best the 'X-Files' had to offer. By this stage, the show had firmly established itself - and, with the budget increasing, both the complexity of the stories and the special effects shown on screen developed and improved.

The episodes included are: "The Blessing Way"; "Paper Clip"; "D.P.O."; "Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose"; "The List"; "2Shy"; "The Walk"; "Oubliette"; "Nisei"; "731"; "Revelations"; "War of the Coprophages"; "Syzygy"; "Grotesque"; "Piper Maru"; "Apocrypha"; "Pusher"; "Teso Dos Bichos"; "Hell Money"; "Jose Chung's From Outer Space"; "Avatar"; "Quagmire"; "Wetwired"; and "Talitha Cumi".
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
Having watched most episodes from the start I bought this season as I wasn't sure if had seen all episodes. I enjoyed a few of them but found that Mulder and Scully had lost their usual sense of humour but the episodes were quite good anyway and followed up from Season one which was good as I had forgotten what happened in Paper Clip. I also think season 4 is probably the best season as well as season one and two. Not bad value for money though and in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2008
season three still contains the thrills and the chills needed for great sci fi...and this season remains fantastic all the way through.

eppy reviews-

Blessing Way-4/5
Paper clip-4/5
D.P.O-4/5
Clyde Bruckmans final repose-5/5
the list-2/5
2shy-2/5
the walk-3/5
Oubliette-3/5
Nisei-4/5
731-4/5
Revelations-3/5
War of the Corphorages-4.5/5
syzygy-4/5
Grotesque-4/5
Piper Maru-5/5
Apocrypha-5/5
pusher-4/5
teso dos bichos-2/5
hell money-2/5
Jose Chungs From Outer Space-4/5
avatar-3/5
quagmire-3/5
wetwired-2/5
Talitha Cumi(1)-5/5

paves way for the excellent fourth season:)

MUST BUY
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2005
No, actually my favourite episode is "Syzygy". The one where these people think that their kids are being killed by satanists. Season three is one of the best seasons mostly because of the work of Darin Morgan (Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose, War of the Coprophages, Jose Chung's From Outer Space). War of the Coprophages is probably his most famous episode. It's about killer cockroaches. I'll probably have to watch it again (I've seen it twice) because I didn't understand it. People thought "Donnie Darko" was hard to understand (I developed a theory right after watching it) but War of the Coprophages is complicated and has a lot different explainations to it. It's in this episode that Scully is actually right most of the time! Another good episode is "Revelations". It's the first episode in which Mulder and Scully switch places, Scully being the believer and Mulder being the sceptic. It was the first time I was shouting at the TV telling "Mulder" to shut it instead of Scully! One of the most frightening episodes is "Grotesque". It's about serial murder and demonic possesion and has quite a few disturbing scenes. This episode can compare with most things that "Millennium" has done (Not all things. Millennium was brutal!). I recommend this!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Great entertainment and excitement
For a very fair cost we the family will enjoy again and again by one and all.
So can I now take a moment please on behalf of our whole family group to state loudly here and now
...`We Thank You`
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whenever you might think the X Files franchise began treading water, no one could seriously doubt that Season Three was a great year, maybe the greatest year, boasting episodes more traumatic than previously and others with a new and welcome comedy element.

An unforgettable and shocking start, the opening double episode nearly destroys the partnership and contains two slayings distressingly close to home. Then there are further stories impacting on Scully's abduction experience and undermining the credibility of any assertion of the existence of aliens. And a whole lot more. The Clyde Bruckmann episode and another called Oubliette almost had me in tears last time I watched, despite the former being very funny, as are the Copophrages and Jose Chung episodes. Monsters, devils, sinister experiments and mass slaughters sufficient to shatter the psyche of any FBi agent, but our heroes continue to take everything in their stride.

I guess you can't blame them, the characters or the writers, that the agents, Scully especially, seem unable to process and keep track of all they have witnessed. This became the show's great problem, the repetition and Scully's endless obstructions even after years of eye-popping discoveries. Good to savour the early years again, before it all became a bit too arch and gordian.

My favourite X-Files season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Yeah , fond memories flood my mind whenever I think about this wonderful season !!!The show was peaking with great themes and stories as the show had past its was not a fluke as we were successful in season 2 , part . The entry of spoof episodes , namely Joss Chungs from outer space was and is beyond measure with Jesse Ventura playing a MIB !!! Whatever happens over the coming years for me or I have to endure ,I will always remember growing with this series and season !!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Very good considering the quality of TV at that era. Stands the course of time and I am working my way through each series as I can afford them. Recommended and not as scary as I remember - at least most are not!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2006
By now, the pattern of almost all X-Files seasons is established: mythology episodes at the beginning and end of each year, with a couple of double-episode mytharcs mid-season. In between, the monster-of-the-week eps, and some lighter fare, are spread around.

The show's third year is consistently strong, and high-quality. It seems odd now to look back, having watched all 9 seasons- at the time this series seemed mature even though it was barely a third of the way through its run. The season finale, Talitha Cumi, even when viewed with the season 4 opener Herrenvolk, isn't top flight, but the rest of the season makes up for it.

Favourites:

Clyde Bruckman's Final Repose, Nisei/731, Piper Maru/Apocrypha, D.P.O., Pusher

Episodes I remember not liking, but enjoyed this time round:

Oubliette, Avatar

Weak points:

Teso Dos Bichos - famously disliked by cast and crew. Not as bad as I remember, but not good.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse