Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2017
Best film I've seen in a longtime, keeps you on the edge of your seat from the beginning to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Great, as described. Speedy delivery. Thankyou
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
a high impact doble dvd set of film s,where in the first jack must stop a bomber and in the second not only stop and catch the bomber ,but to somehow stop the ship sinking and crashing,a fantastic set films..get them youll see
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
GREAT MOVIE ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
An excellent film. Worth seeing over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
"Speed" is as daft as a bag of hammers, but entertaining at almost every turn, if you will.

The video and audio quality of this Blu-Ray release are both perfectly good; as a life-sized, live-action film (little use of models or CGI), "Speed" holds up well to transfer to HD and has aged relatively well.

Although the Product Details section above reads "Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1" (at least, it does as of writing; I have submitted updated product details) the feature is actually presented in 2.35:1.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Not the best blue ray transfer but quite good and better than the standars DVD. Sound is good if a little loud at times. There are some tense moments as the bus dipps towards the 50 mark which would cvause it to explode killing everyone on board. There are afew humorous parts especially when Keanu Reeves hijacks the jamacans car to catch and warn the bus driver. For me the film is spoiled by the not too often strong language. However the film has pleanty of action and the blue ray quality is reasonably good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Two action films blew me away in 1994. One of them was True Lies, the other was Speed. Since True Lies will most likely never see the light of a Bluray laser, we're left with Speed. Popcorn film aspirations aside, it's developed into a classic in the action genre, and I really wish modern action directors would go back to see where they're going horribly wrong with today's films. Everything is filmed and framed properly (little to no shaky-cam nonsense here), the stunts are spectacular (minimal CGI if any) and the excellent score sets the audience's pulse racing with the pace of the film. Absolute textbook stuff for a high-octane action film.

I won't rehash the plot - everyone knows it by now. My only quibble would be that given the amount of property damage that ensues during the course of the film, the City of Los Angeles would have been much better off paying the meagre $3m ransom demand to Dennis Hopper. But I guess that would make for an incredibly boring and short film, so it's a good thing they didn't!

I have mixed views on this Bluray release. On the one hand the picture is much better than I was expecting, especially for a film of this age. The soundtrack however I was less impressed with, maybe because almost every review hyped it as "reference material". It certainly is crisp and clear, and there are some good directional effects. But it just sounded "thin" on my particular setup - I really had to max out the bass on my amp to coax any sort of response out of it. And as for the LFE channel, it barely gets used (and when it does, it's underwhelming). A little disappointing, but like I said, perhaps it's just my particular sound setup that doesn't like this disc since other reviews can't all be wrong.

Overall, should you buy this? Yes, absolutely, even if it's just to experience one of the best action films of the previous century.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
The title says it all. Speed 1 with Keanu Reeves is brilliant, but they should have left it alone after that. Speed 2 just drags along really. Sandra Bullock is great but is the only person who holds it together at all really. It was good value for the first film though, so it didn't bother me about the other movie not being so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
I found this 111 min REGION B/2 DVD very entertaining. It had everything, tension, car chases, twists and turns, non-stop action, excitement, accidents, thrills, romance, stunts, etc. etc. etc. Some parents may find some scenes frightening for young children, plus some bad language is included.
Keanu Reeve is portrait as Jack Traven an L.A.P.D. SWAT team specialist who is sent to defuse a bomb that a revenge-driven extortionist (Dennis Hopper) has planted on a bus. But until he does, Jack and one of the bus passengers (Sandra Bullock) must keep the bus speeding through the street of Los Angeles at more than 50 mph - or the bomb will explode. Will he succeed and if so at what cost?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)