Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now

on 23 November 2000
In the most recent Muppets film, Muppets in Space, the best things about a Muppet film - the witty song lyrics, the subtle visual gags, the true humour of the bizarre - were sadly lacking. Treasure Island gets it all right. It's more grown up than Christmas Carol, with slightly edgier humour despite the fact that Christmas Carol had a darker storyline, but still manages to entertain the kids. Despite great characters and a fantastic role for Miss Piggy, the movie is stolen by the horde of rats, who hilariously parody humans taking a sterotypical cruise. Watch out for them also in more serious scenes! This film will please both kids and older Muppet enthusiasts. If you've enjoyed previous Muppets films, this one is well worth checking out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 July 2013
Without question this is my favourite Muppet film - a purely delicious treat, perfectly adapted for a nice and happy familial evening, when adults, children and pets sit around the screen to watch a good movie, have a healthy laugh and enjoy the life!

This being a Muppet production and also a surprisingly faithful adaptation of "Treasure Island" there is hardly any need to tell anything about the plot, except that this film was masterfully done and it is clear from the begininng that all those who worked on it had GREAT fun doing it! I believe that all Muppet's gang is present here and the characters were very skillfully distributed amongst the "Treasure Island" plot - and that really asked for some careful reflection, because honestly, it was not easy to fit in the Swedish Chef, not even talking about a place for Miss Piggy in a book notoriously devoided of female characters...))) But it was done, and it was done VERY WELL INDEED.

As you can expect from Muppets, this film is filled with jokes, puns and slapstick moments, but also with excellent songs. And Tim Curry portrays here an AMAZING Long John Silver as a redoubtable albeit NOT ENTIRELY evil pirate, a killer cook (pun very much intentional) and a Holy-Molly-Guacamole-Is-He-Good-Or-What singer of sea shanties - gosh, the VOICE this guy has!!

I LOVED this film, all our family spend a wonderful evening (even our chipmunks rolled on the floor laughing) and we are going to certainly see it again. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2000
I bought this cautiously on the recommendation of a colleague. Since then my girls (now seven years' old) and I have watched it dozens of times. I've never been a fan of the Muppets, but the (almost) believeable characters and story draw us in. Most movies of this ilk have dreadful songs, but we like these so much we bought the soundtrack CD! The end-of-film fight is a cracker - more likely than any Bruce Willis effort.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2000
This movie has its inevitable moments of love between kermit and miss Piggy but other than that its comedy all the way. With the story started off by a billy Connely you know it cannot fail. A must have for afdults and children alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
Chose this because it's entertaining all the family enjoyed the film.

I will recommend this film to all of my friends.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2005
The Muppets always manage to bring a refreshing new perspective to literary classics, which in this case is 'Treasure Island', a book by R. L Stevenson, which children may previously have found boring if they had tried to read it or with older adaptations of the novel. The Muppets always manage to make it fun and enjoyable with a good selection of songs, and general good humour.
When Jim Hawkins is given an ancient pirate treasure map by his dying friend he decides that as he has nothing else to do he will get a boat and a crew, and go in search of the treasure that is marked with an X. While on the ship Jim meets Long John Silver, the one legged cook, and the two become friends. However him and many more of the crew may not be all that they first appear to be, and unfortunately for Jim he might find out the hard way.
The legendary Kermit the frog has the lead as far as the muppets go as the captain of the ship, with his other half, Miss Piggy who left and came to live on the island when Kermit left her standing at the altar. The rest of the gang also appear including, Rizzo the rat, Gonzo, Fozzy the bear, to name but a few. Tim Curry has the role of Long John Silver and is very good in this role. Kevin Bishop co stars as Jim Hawkins the young boy who was given the treasure map by his old friend Billy Bones, who was played by comedian Billy Connelly.
There are a number of nice extras on the DVD itself including: a documentary about the making of the movie with interviews from certain members of the cast and crew. There is a feature length commentary from the director Brian Henson which are always very interesting, and finally a sing along bonus that is wonderful for the kids.
Overall, 'The Muppets Treasure Island' is a fresh and new perspective on an old classic, and the muppets make it much more appealing to children, allowing them to enjoy classics such as 'Treasure Island' as well as adults. With a great cast, a great selection of songs that you just won't get out of your head (at least not for a while anyway), and plenty of jokes this films a winner and highly recommended, especially if you have young children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 December 2006
It was great to see all your old Muppet friends in a classic. The singing adds a new dimension to the story. Not that "Sixteen Men on a Deadman's Chest" is not good in its self. And the beautiful Benjamina Gunn added a more romantic touch. By the way if you enjoy the singing skulls you may also want to view the movie "8 Heads in a Dufflbag" with George Hamilton. The song "Cabin Fever" will have you singing along.

Talk about sophisticated dialog.

Benjamina Gunn says, "You left me standing at the altar!"

Captain Smollet replies, "I was on a ship headed for Zanzibar. I got cold feet."

Benjamina Gunn, "You're a frog! You're supposed to have cold feet!"

Tim Curry (being himself) was an excellent Long John silver. The only other film where he exceeded this is in the film "Oscar" with Sylvester Stallone.

This movie was nominated for both Golden Satellite Award and Young Artist Award.

No matter how you CUT it this is a worth while movie to own.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
This is so so so good. The muppets films are awesome but what makes this incredible is Tim Curry as Long John Silver. Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2018
classic muppets with pirates and the great Tim Curry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2016
Family fun all the way. Phrases from this movie's dialogue are often shouted out for laughs in our house even though the kids are now late teens and early twenties...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here