Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 September 2016
The X-Files first big screen outing was met with joy and some disappointment, some finding it confusing where as other just were happy to see Mulder and Scully on the silver screen. Set between series 5 and 6, Mulder and Scully have been removed from the X-Files (since the cigarette smoking man (CSM) burning down the office at the end of series 5) and have been assigned to investigate a terrorist incident that ends up with the destruction of a government building. The investigations naturally evolves to aliens and the governments conspiracy to aid (or fight) colonisation of the planet. Most of the key players from the series make an appearance such as Skinner, CSM, The Lone Gunmen and the syndicate.

On the whole the film is very good and extends the groundwork laid in the series for a new direction of conspiracy and colonisation, as you can only fight so many mutants of nature, yet it doesn't fully alienate (had to) those new to the show framework. The Blu-Ray video and audio quality is as you would expect for a recent release on excellent form. You also have the theatre and directors cuts of the film and some behind the scenes features regarding the music, effects and transition to the big screen from TV.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2015
Carefully! This movie has been designed to connect two consecutive seasons of the X-Files series and in fact it is just another episode. In order to enjoy it the viewer should have at least some basic knowledge of the series; unfortunately, the film makers didn't care much about explaining what is going on. Fans should find the plot interesting and this is the only reason why the movie deserves 3 stars. It reveals significant information about the government conspiracy (you'll need that information in the following seasons of the series).

Surprisingly, the movie lacks the depth and engrossing atmosphere of the series. The cigarette man's character is totally wasted - in the series he's so interesting and important, while in the movie he is no more than a shadow. And something is definitely wrong with the pace of the movie. Sometimes everything just happens too fast. The dialogs are not particularly interesting. Picture and sound quality are not particularly good. Some films made before the II World War look better on DVD than this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2015
I'm an X Files fan so this might be a bit biased. When I first saw this movie many years ago I didn't appreciate it that much, but now I'm older and have watched all episodes of the series, watching this again (on Amazon Instant Video) I appreciated it a whole lot more. Although it follows the mythology from the TV series rather than a "monster of the week" format, there's a lot to enjoy and some really great scenes. Set between 2 seasons of the TV show it's a really nice bridge for that gap. Some action, some jump scares, some humor... The effects are good for their time. The style of the TV show is embraced but of course this feels like a big budget version. I'm not sure how a fan of Mulder and Scully cannot enjoy this film! It's probably best to be in a phase of watching the show so that you are invested in Mulder & Scully and then breakout this movie to enjoy their big screen time. Watching it on its own may not be quite as enjoyable, but that could just be me. With a new miniseries around the corner it's a good time to remember what they got up to all those years ago and Fight The Future still holds strong in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
This movie can be viewed as a stand alone film, but it's actually a link between the last episode of season 5 and the first episode of season 6. Having said that it's still a great movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2018
Essentially this film is like an episode of classic old-school X files but on a grand scale. You could technically watch this as a stand alone but really it makes more sense to have seen the first five series. Loved this film; it fully explained the mysterious ‘black oil’! Plus Mulder and Scully ALMOST kissed ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2000
My anticipation for these episode is easy to understand - for the quest for Samantha was so tangled and obscure that every fan expected to have an end to it. Well, I was not quite satisfied by tearful attempts to persuade me that Samantha "was taken by starlight" to "escape her misery". It seems that Mr. Carter and Co either exhausted their creative resources (I thought this story-line deserved more plausible climax) or maybe they still plan to drag this dusty skeleton out of the closet this season later or in the second movie? Actors have been wooden, too: if FM's behaviour can be justified that he was numb with pain from all his losses, DS "is simply there" and lets her icy mask down a little bit only twice. I'm personally start to get bored by this "ice queen", maybe to quicken her emotions someone else should die? Well, better watch some older episodes if you want to see some action and persons with blood, not water trickling doen their veins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2018
Annoyed it had no subtitles, or no warnings if it had them or not before purchasing. Quite annoying id expect every film Amazon has to have hard of hearing subtitles. Good film though but i had difficulty hearing it and had to keep rewinding it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
Made at the height of the X-Files fame, this film really is awesome. The only issue some may have is the fact that this film is a continuation of a story line already established in the series and casual viewers may find themselves lost trying to follow the plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2015
...so just watched seasons 1-4 from the box set and wanted the film on bluray - stunning (especially as the dvds are so historically bad) quality - watched the film once through then straight away again with the new commentary. Awesome - TV in its heyday.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2016
SHHHH!
They're on to me.

Buy this bluray event to find out the truth.

(In the meantime, its excellent 5/5! BUY IT!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse