Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
113
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£4.95+ £2.80 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2013
At last! A Carry On film on Blu ray! But does the transfer measure up? .......In my humble opinion, absolutely YES! This 1966 classic Hammer-horror spoof does something special for me when watching, it actually improves upon the Hammer formula by adding the 'Carry On' touch to the whole proceedings! I understand that the principal writer of the Carry On films at this period of time, Talbot Rothwell, personally suggested the idea for this film, and I think it shows in his incredible script. So what about Studio Canal's all important transfer? I viewed the film on a 40" TV, at the correct screen ratio, it was a satisfying experience, the 1080p were ably demonstrated throughout the films running time. I also have the 'Standard Definition' version of this film in my collection, and did a side-by-side comparison of each version. The early scenes featuring Jim Dale and Angela Douglas in Hocombe Woods, were noticeably soft in the SD version, but improved upon greatly in the new Blu ray release, although I felt, and this is only my opinion, that the same print source may have been deployed by Studio Canal for both versions, albeit with a genuine 1080p transfer! In conclusion; a rewarding experience, and a great choice for the first Carry On on Blu ray! I do hope Studio Canal decide to release more of the series in wonderful 1080p! In closing, just a small detail regarding the roman numerals at the start of the films' titles. Was it an in-joke? .....Surely the titles should have read MCMLXVI (1966) Whereas on the razor-sharp Blu ray version, I could see that they were,in fact, MCMXVI (1916!) An intentional joke or an error?
55 comments| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2002
With Sidney James absent, Steptoe & Son's Harry H Corbett steps in for his one and only Carry On... This was the 12th entry in the series and the one that takes a bite out of the successful Hammer Horror series. Corbett is Inspector Bung an incompetent police man whos job it is to investigate the disappearance of girls in Hocombe Woods. His investigations lead him to the Bide A Wee Rest Home where he finds Valeria Watt (Fanella Fielding). Unbeknown to Bung she and her brother, the undead Dr Orlando Watt (Kenneth Williams) are "vitrifying" the girls and selling them as shop window dummies. The costumes, sets, music and acting are all spot on and this is one of the best in the series. It really was a golden age for the series and everyone was firing on all cylinders. We'd never see Fielding or Corbett in the series again which was a shame. There is excellent support from Charles Hawtrey, Jim Dale, Peter Butterworth, Joan Sims, Bernard Bresslaw and Angela Douglas. The best moments are between Corbett, Sims and their telephone!
33 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2006
clearly meant as a spoof on the "hammer" horror films, this is one of my favourite carry ons. the fact that sid james isn't in it does not matter, as harry h. corbett makes for a wonderful replacement as a police officer investigating the disappearances of young women in a local park. corbett's performance is a joy to behold. equally good in the supporting cast, are kenneth williams as the mad scientist, jim dale as the nervous boyfriend of one of the missing women and peter butterworth as corbett's clumsy assistant.

for this particular carry on, a period setting was created and it looks extremely well done.

one hiliarious scene, is when corbett and dale are sharing a double bed when a snake worms its way through. unaware of this, the two of them are constantly woken up and accuse each other of all sorts...quite daring for the time.

included is kenneth william's famous "frying tonight!" dialogue, which is a standout in the film.

in true horror style, you get weird old houses, foggy woods, stalking monsters, secret chambers and plenty more besides.

don't miss this one.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2001
This has to be the best CarryOn ever made. It was the last made by Anglo Amalgamated before the series transferred to Rank and a gradual decline into smut; and it is a splendid parody of the contemporary Hammer Horror and of melodramatic thrillers in general. Harry H Corbett is superb as the laconic Det Sgt. Bung (a very fitting name) with Peter Butterworth as the bumbling Slobotham. Fenella Fielding brings a smoldering appeal to the screen while Jim Dale plays the gawky but gallant hero in a similar style to his Marshal P Knut in "Carry On Cowboy. I got the tape remembering what it had been like in the cinema; I was not disappointed.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 November 2003
Carry On Screaming is one of the best in the entire collection. Everybody loves a horror spoof, and they don't really come better than this. The whole Frankenstein-parody is cool, although I must say that they could have added a few other famous horror characters in here to really do the film justice. If there was ever a Carry On that could be altered span a three hour running time, this one would be at the top of the list.
Kenneth Williams is fantastic as always, and I just adore Fennela Fieldimg....she has to be the most beautiful woman in the Carry Ons.......Jim Dale is one of my favourite of the Carry On Team, and he plays his part very well here.
Now, there is some question as to whether or not Harry H Corbett did a good job of filling in Sid James' shoes. The answer is, he was doing no such thing. If Sid was in this Carry On (which I honestly wish he had been), I don't think Bung would have been his character. What a joy it would have been to see Corbett and James working together. If Only. The settings in this offering are brilliant.....the Bide-A-Wee rest home adding a very eerie potency to the atmosphere.
If you are an avid carry on fan, like I am, you have to buy this......if you don't, you are missing out on something very special......Joan Sims in plastic ;)
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
Absolutely loved this movie and I'm not much of a fan of Carry On. Harry H Corbett shows us amazing glimpses of his talent and genius as he hams it up with the rest of the crew. I heard that Sid James had originally been cast as the Sherlock Holmes character, but Harry was the best choice and his performance is polished and a joy to watch. Some wonderful set pieces which had me laughing out loud and the usual silly scenes we can expect from a Carry On movie. The story never gets tired and will appeal to all ages. I'm also sure that sultry Fenella Fielding could still cause a fashion stampede for replica red gowns.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
If you have never heard of the Carry On movies, you have not been born. These classics are innuendo, double entendre, slapstick, camp and genuine British comedy at its most British! These cannot be matched for the thin storylines, low budgetness and absolute magnificence of how we can make films that stand the test of time. Who cares that they were made on a shoestring, these are genuinely funny in a very basic sense of the word.
To me, Carry On Screaming is the epitome of the genre. I must have watched this at least 20-25 times and still laugh at it each time. This Carry On was, I think the only one that had a genuine storyline and was obviously a parody of the Hammer horrors made at the same time. In any case, this is my favourite. Harry H Corbett, in his only Carry On is perfect in his role. Typically Steptoe, he amalgams his character into this film as detective Sydney Bung (I love it!) Bumbling, but not quite and Peter Butterworth is brilliant as his sidekick. I just love the scene where Jon Pertwee (the forensic scientist) is mauled by Odd Bod Jr
( created from Odd Bod's finger) and you are left with seeing his legs in a strangely contorted position.Obviously a dummy, but this was what is great about these films.
Charles Hawtrey as the toilet attendant is camp at its best. "Ooh hello, like a nice wash, would you?" Hilarious!
The cast must have had a blast when making this. Surprisingly, Sid James did not appear in this, but I think that all the other regulars made up for this. Berni Bresslaw with his slippers curling up when Fenella Fielding Kissed him, classic!
Kenny Williams at his most camp and utterly brilliant in his role as Orlando. He is someone who I would have liked to have met. Frying Tonight! Who doesn't know that catchphrase.
If you like Carry On's, buy this film. You can get the DVD for just £2.99 on certain auction sites so buy it. You will not be disappointed.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2001
Carry On Screaming is without doubt one of the finest films in the series. Despite missing series regular Sid James, the void left is brilliantly filled by HARRY H. CORBETT as a Scotland yard detective trying to trace women who have disappeared in Hocombe wood. Fine support comes in the shape of KENNETH WILLIAMS, JIM DALE, PETER BUTTERWORTH, JOAN SIMMS, FANELLA FIELDING, BERNARD BRESSLAW, ANGELA DOUGLAS and an all too brief apperance from CHARLES HAWTREY. Williams narrowly earns the title of best performance although they are all exellent. This has to be my third favourite of the series bettered only by 'Cleo' and 'Doctor'. Happy screaming!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
The Carry On team take on Universal/Hammer horror in this quaint naughty venture. If you've seen one Carry On film you know how the formula goes. Apart from the basic framework there is no specific attempt to spoof or pay homage to the source, it's just a setup to throw in a bunch of typically British bawdy/silly jokes. The film was certified for Adults Only on release but I doubt most teens today would be particularly titillated or shocked by the material. It's creaky but modest fun, especially if you have fond memories of watching these movies on VHS as a kid.
Studio Canal's blu-ray gives a better than expected presentation of the film - sourced from decent film elements, in the original 1.66:1 aspect ration with a pleasing if muted colour scheme and not overly scrubbed / manipulated. Apart from a trailer the sole extra is a commentary.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2013
'Carry On Screaming' spawned one of the Carry On movie's most famous lines with ''Frying Tonight!'' and it remains one of the funniest in the series.

A spoof horror film which manages to evoke an eerie Hammer-style atmosphere. The usual innuendo is present in spades, and this one will probably appeal to fans of classic horror movies as well as British comedy. For whilst there are plenty of laughs on offer, some genuine scares also take place.

Leading man Harry H Corbett (who would have actually made a great Carry On regular) pays a hopeless detective who is sent to investigate the sinister goings on at a Gothic mansion owned by eccentric siblings played by Kenneth Williams (as the mad scientist) and Fenella Fielding. The three leads are brilliantly supported by Joan Sims, Jim Dale, Charles Hawtrey and Bernard Bresslaw, the latter who forms a wonderful double act with Corbett.

A gem in the 'Carry On' series, 'Screaming' is rightly considered a classic and is great fun from start to finish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)