Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
270
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£7.72+ £2.80 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2017
Knowing the play well I am astounded by the sharp editing of this film. All the essentials of the play are here - some of them with very eccentric performances mind - but the text is wonderfully spoken, the joy of the characters and the depth of emotion are amazing. Emma Thompson gives the performance of a lifetime - witty beautiful and moving; she shines with the confidence and exultation of Beatrice. Branagh is an also-ran Benedick but full of inventiveness. His performance suffers from being his own director. There is no one there to moderate his excesses or to nudge him in a more original direction. However, what he achieves as director simply dances off the screen, packed with good humour, a deft touch of shadow now and again but glorious performances from all his actors! This is the best Shakespeare film I know and one of the loveliest performances of any play I have ever seen.
It was filmed on a low budget in a limited time with many one-take scenes and is all the bolder and brighter for it. There is a rush of action and delight running through the film that is almost breath-taking.
The music adds a real heroic touch too!
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
A superb film, an excellent interpretation of the play.
However, WHY DOES THE DVD NOT HAVE SUBTITLES?
I teach this text to a variety of students, from lower processing ability to higher. One of my students is deaf. Subtitles for any Shakespeare DVD is essential.
Please address this.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2010
This Shakespeare classic about love, jealousy, betrayal, mistrust and finally reconciliation is enhanced by real chemistry between the two main characters who were actaully married at the time and probably did like each other at that point. Kenneth Branagh's setting in a mediterrainean climate and architechture add to the atmosphere and credibility of the plot as it unfolds. Michael Keaton and Ben Elton play the fool to prefection with out overdoing it and couterpoint the more serious elements of the plot which never gets bogged down in too much soul searching. Denzel Washington makes an excellent Count but Kenau Reeves as his brother seems a rather odd choice and suggests a rather interesting family genealogy. That said Reeve's sidekicks compsate well for his acting limitations and Richard Briars as usual turns in a first rate performance as the father of the prospective bride who must endure much before being married to the man of her dreams. All good romcom stuff. A must see even if you are not a Shakespeare buff - maybe especially if you are not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2017
I absolutely love everything in this film - the actors, music(yay Patrick Doyle!) the plot, directing, everything! I like Keanu Reeves and here he has a part very well suited to him. The rest of the cast (all stars!) was excellent! I love this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
Love, hate, jealous, geed, sorrows of the heart, tears of joy and sadness. But all Much Ado About Nothing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
It's all right for the price. The dvd container is broken, even though the packaging was not very damaged, so I guess it was already like that when it was shipped.
The dvd is working, so I guess if you want to buy it just to watch it it's better than fine for this price; but if it's for collection or for a gift, look again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2016
I saw this first, about 20 years ago and loved it! My children watched and loved it too, and I bought this DVD for my 19 year old Granddaughter who is in United and loves Shakespeare!! The film is as ageless as Shakespeare himself.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2017
Pity it has no option for subtitles
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
Thank you. Product arrived in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
favourite play and film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)