Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now



on 24 February 2017
This Italian release is the same disc pressing as the US version. The Menu is in English, however the slip is in Italian 'Una Storia Emozionante Rita Hayworth non e mai Stata Cosi Sexy'. The B&W picture quality of this Blu-ray is far superior to the previous DVD releases and excellent for a seventy year old film, slight grain evident in some scenes. Lots have been writen about this film if you like it is worth the upgrade Rita Hayworth is goergeous lots of flirting and dancing. At the time of writing this Italian version is by far the best value.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
More than a classic with two major stars. The film has a lot of subtleties, which are only noticed on repeated viewings. Since I have long had the DVD, this Blu-ray transfer provides a lot of additional picture detail and the sound is also better. As for the extras: not much and not much of any interest. Both stars can really act!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
Even though this film is over 50 years old, the emotions and story are equally applicable today.
Rita Hayworth & Glen Ford both give one of the most mesmerizing performances I have ever seen - even by todays outstanding standards.
This film makes you want to know "what happened" all the way through.
One of the previous reviewers mentioned that some of the night club scenes have been cut on the dvd - which is shocking!! I saw this on the TV not long ago and recorded it... I didn't watch straight away, but needed space on the hard drive so thought, Ï'll just have a quick watch for 10 mins to see if I can delete this.... but I was captivated from start to finish - and now its in my top favourite films of all time, and I will definitely be keeping it.
Enough said. I'm not a film crit - but watch it and judge for yourself.... I'm confident you will be pleased you did!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
This is wonderful entertainment Melodramatic but quick and sparse noir.My brief comments may suggest that this is somehow inferior, for me this is up with the best movies and transcends the genre. A classic like Chinatown, the Killers and Out of the Past.
Plot is subsumed in atmosphere and character (possibly the closest parallel is the Killers- albeit that plot is not so holey), Raymond Chandler might appreciate the non closed off elements. The (nearly) overt mutual attraction between Johnny and his saviour, the subversion of hate/love, the glamour of the underworld... and then how they photographed Gilda...
Johnny (Glenn Ford) may appear (to some) too naive to have a history with Gilda (Rita), for me this justs adds to the frisson betweeen the major players.
I hope you enjoy Gilda as much as I do. Once you have seen a few of the "noir classics" - have fun with Steve Martin in Carl Reiners beautiful pastiche Dead Men dont wear Plaid (does for noir what Mel Brooks Young Frankenstein did for the classic Universal creature).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2010
yes i did appreciate both sets that i ordered... they were down memory lane moments for me and a bit of the bible with john's head onna tray... for young son... cheers all...hmac...
33 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2009
This film is still AMAZINGLY AWESOME!! A really evergreen movie, with such a class that nowadays you can't find so easily...I've seen lots of old movies because of a college class, european and american, but this one has really hit me! I mean that the way the very intricated plot evolves is just stunning...like Rita Hayworth who's amazing in this role: she literally breaks through the screen, plus the story is so rich in cliffhangers, twists and surprises that when you think you're done, there's something else up your sleeve.

The male actors are very good too, I loved Gilda's partner in his awesome cat&mouse game of "I hate you/love you so much", here it works so perfectly well for their chemestry, what a pity that for the old rules they had to be very chaste, but it doesn't matter 'cause their sex tension was worth millions of pseudo-soft-porn movies of our days...
Wonderfully portrayed also the cold-as-ice deadly husband of Gilda, and watch out for the nice old employee at the casino, because is part is more important than the first impression you might have...

Overall, it's a fabulous noir, you don't want to miss it for sure! BRAVO! (plus the extras are nice for being an old film: a documentary of the diva from the time she was a dancer )
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2016
Had a romantic entanglement to this film, which I lost - it shimmers but doesn't belong to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 November 2013
Johnny Farrell is a crafty goon hired by casino boss Ballin Mundson to use his muscle around the place to keep it in ship shape, but then his duties move on to another level when Mundson takes a bride in the form of the gorgeous Gilda. Trouble is, Gilda & Johnny have a history that is sure to rear its ugly head, and thus a steady pot boiling menage a trois is formed.

It's an odd sort of film because its core fabric is cloaked in sado-masochism and latent homosexuality, a pretty daring combination in the prissy production code time of 1946. Reviews at the time were very divisive, and it took many by surprise when the film became a hit, which was mainly down to servicemen who had lusted for Hayworth during the war. Viewing it today brings about many feelings, but chiefly it's the feeling of hate being as powerful a weapon on the emotional front as love is, and it's that heartbeat that drives the film to its delightful finale.

The film boasts a great turn from Rita Hayworth as Gilda, her performance is what holds the film together, whilst Glenn Ford as Farrell is perfectly rugged without overstating the character. The songs and dances fit perfectly to the tone of the film, and director Charles Vidor knows exactly what it takes to steer this film onto safe waters. 8/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
i have never before seen a Rita Hayworth film, but did so after spending some hours in a little Spanish bar with a film poster for Gilda. Don't be expecting anything too challenging or deep, but do expect to spend a hugely enjoyable couple of hours on a sunday afternoon. Rita is quite mesmerising and that dance....well, i wish i could have done it! If you like old films, you'll love this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
GILDA. Growing up I heard a lot of this movie, especially the scene where she takes her gloves off; then it disappeared from the radar. It still a good movie and unlike some of them it has aged well. Rita Hayworth was truly a magnificent woman. Being a woman myself, it is a objective statement. She is more seductive with her clothes on then nowadays actresses naked. Also, in view of the year the film was made what one sees is real. No plastic surgery, yet! All by all I am glad I bought the DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)