Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2006
I never really understood what it is that I like about this film, and that is what I like about this film! I think it's the duration of some of the shots, which are just awkward enough to bring you to the edge of the seat. Beautifully Strange. Strangely Beautiful.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 November 2013
As Amazon's highly irritating habit of merging reviews for different formats/editions of the same title together continues, here's a review of the imported edition of 'Barfly' on bluray - the edition that has a bright blue rectangle with a white M on the bottom left of its' cover if you're checking the pics here. I'm not sure what country it originates from, but what we have here is a disc that plays on UK bluray players that are not enabled for region free, so the disc must be region-free.

I first saw 'Barfly' when it came out in the late eighties and wasn't massively impressed. Although it was screenwritten by Charles Bukowski himself - it clearly draws on scenes and characters from a number of his stories/novels - I didn't feel it captured the gritty, dingy seediness of the man's writing. The mis-en-scene seemed too light, leading man Micky Rourke too young and Faye Dunaway too glamourous. My feelings on these points haven't changed too much, but viewing the film again after such a long time, I feel more favourable toward it now as I'll explain.

Rourke is clearly depicting the younger Henry Chinaski here - a little older than he is in 'Factotum' but not as mature s he is in 'Post Office' perhaps. This is a more fictional Chinaski than the one in the novels though - a composite rather than a translation from the fiction. Despite his irritating delivery - drawing out words in a drawl that lengthens them artificially, Rourke is charming and funny as Chinaski. This is an affectionate rather than a tough, bleak portrayal. 'Barfly' is a funny, light, tender movie rather than a hard, desperate one. Despite the fact that there are two other Bukowski movies, none of them match the authenticity of the books.

Dunaway is great, but the fact remains that she is way too glamourous for the role of Wanda - plus she's a thin woman, not a curvy type, so she doesn't fit the bill. She's not bad though, being a fine actress. The supporting cast of barflies are, however, much better, but again, more often than not don't ring true as authentically beat as they should be.

The picture quality is good but not spectacular. The film certainly looks a lot better than the old VHS editions, but will not impress anyone used to top quality transfers of contemporary features though. But the serious Bukowski fan will cope - the man himself is present in two shots in one scene, sitting at a bar, presenting that magnificent, craggy face. Some 8 minutes and 30 seconds or so in, the image pixillated badly for a couple of seconds, but this may be due to damage or soiling caused by the fact that when I received the bluray it was rattling around in its case as it had come free of the spindle. I've not rewatched it since giving it a clean, so I can't tell you at this stage if this is an inherent flaw.

Overall, if you've forgotten this film, not seen it for years or are a younger Chuck fan and never caqught 'Barfly', I'd recommend you view this disc. Arguably, the Matt Dillon Bukowski film is better, but Rourke does more closely resemble Chinaski/Bukowski physically (and as I say, Chuck wrote it). However, all of the Bukowski movies are easily eclipsed by the sublime 'Trees Lounge' directed by Steve Buscemi, which is more like Bukowski's work than any of the films based more directly on his life and work.

Finally, if you wanted a review of the film and know nothing of Bukowski, well, sorry, but I can't help you...

Stephen E. Andrews, author, '100 Must Read Books For Men'
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2003
one of the best films i have ever seen. this is a must have for any lover of good acting and good ideas. written by Charles Bukowski, dubbed the 'poet laureat of the slums,' it is a tale of a man, Henry Chinasky, who like Bukowsky spends his life either being drunk, writing, or both. fights take place, promiscuity is rife, and yet one cannot help but note the almost raw beauty inherent in this life-style. The message i feel the film is really trying to give is that it doesn't matter what your social standing is, since all happiness is essentially comparative. Further, Henry Chinasky is poignant in saying 'in this world, everybody has to BE something...' and he rebels against this standard, the most you could ever call him was a drunk. But he was proud of it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
The cops have accepted my apology and gone away. I've decided to lay low for a bit. What better way to do it than this, the best boozing film ever. This was Mickey Rourke when he was truely angry. A man who hated Hollywood playing Charles Bukowski the ultimate wino writer and fighter. Forget the corny tripe that was The Wrestler, this is the best film you will ever see. TO ALL MY FRIEEEEENDS.....YEAHHHH....!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2001
This is a Movie that hold you in your sit from beginning to the end. It shown Mickey Rouke at his best and Faye Dunaway giving a very believeable portrayal of a durunken down and out. It shows a mixed bag of emotions and reaction both from the perpective of a drunk and than of those around them. I saw this movie ages ago and it is one I love to see again and again. A classic in it own right.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I got the Scandinavian DVD and while not worked out yet how to switch off the sub-titles, that does not detract from the power of this Barbet Schroeder movie which came as a bit of a surprise after many European art house movies of the 60s and 70s. Bukowski novels are never easy to visualise and they wisely got him to write the script for this one. The lines of dialogue crackle throughout and not just from his alter ego Henry Chinaski as played by Rourke.

I always find Rourke performs at his best when he avoids action hero type movies - I am a great lover of "The Wrestler" and this comes across very much as an early dry run with a totally dislikable character who drinks, fights and is obnoxious but yet captures his worldly wisdom thoughts on paper sufficiently to attract a literary magazine editor to publish him. In such roles Rourke's renowned method acting serves him well. However the real thrill is Dunaway appearing at a time when her Hollywood star was suffering still from "Mommie Dearest". I find her performance here probably one of her best and she captures beautifully the louche attitude of a beautiful woman too attracted to the bottle and heading for oblivion. This film is certainly up there with Bonnie & Clyde, Chinatown and Network in showing what she was capable of when well directed and stretched.

Also special mention should be made of the two support actors J. C. Quinn as Chinaski's friend and Alice Krige as the wealthy and attractive publisher attracted to the doomed Chinaski and not realising she is out of her depth when confronted by Dunaway. Add to this a very memorable cast of cheap bar low-lifes who all feed off each other and some smart art direction and camerawork. The several shots of daylight streaming into those dark room long bars when the bar door is opened and the inhabitants react dazedly captures the milieu of their twilight existence perfectly, and the bitter sweet ending of having gone full circle in the story depicts the entrapment of such an existence beautifully.

Hopefully someday soon there will be a new updated special edition English DVD with cast/director commentary or interviews that will finally do justice to this neglected masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
Good at last to get hold of Barfly which has proved difficult to track down on DVD. This one is an import copy but no worries as the film plays fine in English. The cover is a little deceptive as seems to suggest a steamy love affair like nine and a half weeks which Rourke also starred in. But those who love the film know it better as the loose biographical account of writer Charles Bukowski's life as both drunken street-philosopher and aspiring writer. Scripted by Bukowski (with a very small cameo sitting at a bar) the film builds on the myth of Buk/Chinaski as a hard-drinking layabout who just happens to get into print, soon to become a cult within the underground literary scene.

It probably helps to know something about Bukowski to get on with the film's gritty outlook. This is not typical Hollywood as it portrays the seedy, underbelly of American/Capitalist life. The redeeming factor is the cruel humour that runs through the film despite the poverty, the seeming hopelessness and the occasional violence. This is what Buk saw as being the truth of human life, the kind he translated into his poems and stories, and the film does manage to capture the flavour of his work.

Barfly is perhaps best described as an arthouse film that stands up well to repeated plays. Rourke's portrayal of Bukowski is somewhat grotesque and overdone (Buk in real life looked after his appearance and wasn't as scruffy as Rourke's character). What carries the film along is the scathing observations of modern life that Bukowski is famed for. Funny and sad, but never obvious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 July 2013
Micky Rourke was really at the height of his leading man status in the 1980's and this is another example of how good an actor he is.

Such a shame his career choices led to a slump for a while, as here playing a complete drunk who relishes fighting not only people but the 'system' he is on fine form.

The film really does not have much of a plot, but neither does the lead character of Henry Chinaski need one, as it's the sparkling dialogue that make this a really good character study of one drunken mans life.

Faye Dunaway as an equally troubled drunk that dates Rourke's charachter is really convincing in her role, and the supporting cast are great.

Director Barbet Schroeder shows a seedy way of life in a very non believable story, but injects such a frentic energy to proceedings, the films flawed but fun.

This is a gem of a comic drama, well worth a watch, with some really good quote happy dialogue, both sad and comical at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Watch the film its simply brilliant ! based on the true story of Charles Bokowski what fantastic performances by both Micky Rourke and Fay Dunaway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
I enjoy Bukowski's books so I bought this to watch. I don't think it's a great movie. It's surprising but in my opinion the acting is rather wooden and badly paced. There's enough people here that love it so don't let my opinion put you off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)