Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
The Better Life
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 April 2002
track 1 to 11 grab me from inside and make me feel so good....such a thought provoking and sweet eleven tracks....'Loser' is one of my favourites along with Be Like That' 'Life Of My Own' Better Life' Down Poison' and 'SO I Need you' tho i adore 'Duck And Run' and 'Not Enough'......what am i saying there all great....one of those album s u can listen to all the way through without skipping a track that u dont like.....there all lyrically sound and heart rendering tracks.....u gotta hav it in ur collection.....an outstanding Debut from four upcoming stars......Track two 'Loser' will leave you cold inside and thats what makes good music....touch more than ur ears......buy it now...The Better Life is the Better Album of the last few years....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2003
This has got to one of the difinitive albums of the 21st century. People have likend 3 doors down to the likes of Pearl Jam and Alice in Chains. The main difference within these comments had got to be the vocal talents of Brad Arnold. His voice is as smooth as a androids bottom and without going into detail of various tracks, there is quite simply no need to. They are all astounding, jarring riffs and true emotion whether it be anger, pain or love. The emotion comes through on every track.If you like rock at its very best and if you only buy one more album this year, make it this one. There is something on here for everyone. Just listen to the single 'When I'm gone' and you be wishing you only lived 3 doors down from this band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2004
Checked this album out on the strength of kryptonite and be like that, both very good tracks
Perhaps the rest of the album doesn't quite live up to those two, although loser, and duck and run are both good tracks in their own right
Personally, i think 'Away from the Sun', their more recent album is much better and would certainly recommend that before recommending this
Having said that, this is a pretty good album, worthy of 3.5 to 4 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2002
First of all i strongly disagree with some of what has been said about this group, they are nothing like creed. They have more in comman with the likes of nickleback and fuel, with arguably a better CD than either. "Kryptonite" is your typical money spinner, its the song everyone likes. along with "be like that" you have 2 songs which will keep every one happy. If u like rock with a bit of melody and lyrics you can relate to this is for you.. many of the songs are similar but that in turn means there's not a bad song in ear shot. My advice is if u like a bit of thought provoking rock u need this cd!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2000
3 Doors Down are a fairly unknown band around the U.K. Infact Kryptoite was the first song I heard on MTV and is the best track on The Better Life. An interesting blend of slighty soft punk rock gives the band a blend that you would find by mixing Semisonic (Feeling strangely fine) with the Sterophonics (Word gets around). This album would have recieved 5 stars but for its lack of inspiration towards the final tracks. Don't get me wrong, it's a truely brilliant album and a great band that will one day be big but at the moment a little more creativity is needed for 3 Doors Down to be in the class of the Red Hot Chill Peppers or Feeder. At the end of the day, an album worth buying!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2005
Wow! What an album, this is my second favourite 3DD album (1st being Another 700 Miles, then 17 Days and Away from the Sun), it also has my favourite ever 3DD song on it, Kryptonite. The Better Life also has alot of other fantastic tracks such as Duck and Run, Loser and By My Side. I do agree with one of the prevoius reviewers, I've forgotten his/her name. Sorry! if this is your first 3DD album I suggest getting Another 700 Miles because it features the best songs from the first 2 albums plus a preview of Seventeen Days.
I really recommend this album to anyone who likes Nickelback and other American rock bands (Creed in particular).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2001
i bought this album a year ago when i was in America and i always feel it was the best one i bought over there which i also bought Creed and Fuel 238.This album has something for all the family.Their first release Kryptonite is amazing in its lyrical content and its guitar riffs.Loser is their followup and that concentrates more on teh softer side.The rest of this album compiles of stronger, and weaker rock with an added bonus of the need to not swear continuosly.This album makes a great contribution to anyone's collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2003
I have heard a number of albums...but this one stands out by far. I always find a very close mental connection between this album and the 'Ten' album of Pearl Jam. This band should go far.. searching lyrics and great guitar riffs... sounds that dreams are made off. and believe me, if u r a first time listener of 3DD, u want to hear more of them.. I dont know the names of the band members and for a change i dont want to know. They make good music and thats all i care about... wish u all happy listeners good listening!! AND LET THIS BAND NEVER 'DUCK AND RUN AWAY'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
If i was to grade this album 5 out of 5, i would cheat the prospective buyer although this album is good, not all the songs are unique. This comtempory album is a collaberation of rock influences like, alice in chains, early Goo Goo dolls music and George Formby (well maybe not the goo goo dolls). Outstanding track on this album will have to be, Be like that, Kryptonite and loser, the rest of the songs on the albums verge on good but they are the type of songs that make the listener fell like they have heard them somewhere before.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2000
The first time i heard this? well, i saw it on somebodies hotlist on napster when downloading machine head tracks. The first track i heard was "better life" this caught my attention and so i decided to download another. this time i got kryptonite which too is an awsome track. this band rock! i like bands such as koRn, machine head, Rage Against The Machine and others but this band are so good it's unreal, and nothing like koRn. there is however some vague similarities between these and machine head although they are few and far between. In short 3 doors down are a talented hard hitting rock group with excellent lyrics and a style all of their own. no matter how many times i listen to this album i still think that it rocks!! the only thing we need to ask is why the fuck havent these guys made it big yet!!!!!???!!!??!?!?!?!?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)