Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2014
Still one of the best albums from my childhood. Brought back do many memories playing it again. A very raw and fast album culminating in one of their best tracks to finish it off. Although many would say they got better with age I prefer the unpolished Mondays, no remixes or dance versions here. Love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2015
My son certainly approved of this which was purchase as a present (it is hardly my cup of tea but then I am 86 years old).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2004
I actually discovered this album last out of all the Mondays stuff and found that i prefer it to Yes Please and possibly even Bummed (i cant make up my mind about that though!) which may shock some people. Every track though has a groove to it and it doesnt really waver from a simple formula of guitars/drum/bass over which Shaun Ryder adds his unique vocals. Tart Tart and 24 Hour Party People both featured in the film of the same name starring Steve Coogan and are two of the stand-out tracks. Its amazing to think this came out in 1986/87 ish a couple of years before the Madchester movement but even back there the group showed there was greatness ahead. Not the most widely heard of albums nor is it as good as Pills n' Thrills but you'll enjoy it nonetheless.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2005
It seems everyone's been blinded by the immediate and obvious greatness of pills'n thrills,to the detriment of the only other true EPIC Mondays LP that is squirral and g-man.7 out of 10 of these tracks are absolute classics,easily on a par,if not beter in some cases than their pills'n thrills counterparts.Tart tart,olive oil,matchstick owen,and oasis are tight,funky,melodic,hilarious,uplifting monsters.Not to mention the widely received gems, 24hour party people and Kuff Dam.Energy is also a pre/post-going out anthem round my gaff.I defy anyone not to be elecrified into action after hearing energys rampant bass/drums intro,and insane 'spread your germ' refrain.Don't waste your time with any lo-fi Allstar coverbands(kasabian,the music) look no further than squirral/g-man.YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
Before buying this album I had listened to both Pills n Thrills and Bummed. It is not as good as either of these but tunes like Tart Tart, Olive Oil, Weekend S and Little Matchstick Owen make this album a worthwhile purhcase for any Mondays fan. The raw talent of Shaun Ryder does shine through in his creative lyrics and funky beats that make the Mondays what they are today. To hear the beginnings of the Mondays and the development of their sound I recommend this album, however for someone who has not listened to them before, Pills n Thrills is your starting point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I love this album , it was the 1st album i heard by them and still the best for me .
Pre - E , this album oozes trouble and mischief . lyrics untainted (as yet) by the coming of Acid House,
explore all the dirty little nooks and cranies of urban life growing up.
Every track kicks along with complete confidence and bolshy yar blocko's,
simple arrangements blowing up into thumpin funky far out dance tunes ,
There aint a fannys hair between the mondays and the roses 1st album, just different sides of the same coin.
get this album. and all the rest too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Crikey, with a title like that it must be good !!!! Great first album from The Happy Mondays, looking forward to seeing them on 5th May! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2016
amazing, arrived nice and early couldnt be happier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2008
Squirrel & G-Man was the Monday's debut released on Manchester's Factory records in 1987. John Cale (Velvet Underground) is on production duties, presumably because of the Velvet's drug history going hand in hand with the Monday's renowned intake.

The album displays a crude funk reminiscent of post punk funksters such as Gang of Four and A Certain Ratio. Cale concentrates on developing the funk by bringing the drums and bass to the front. What sets this album apart is the Ryder brothers Paul & Shaun. Shaun's guttersniping one-liners are well known and deserve all the credit they get but older sibling Paul's bass lines make the record listenable.

A couple of tracks let the side down but Tart Tart is as good as anything they have produced since. Kuff Dam (spell it backwards) is an inspired choice as LP opener dragging the listener into the warped Mondays world paving the way for council estate tales and casual drug references.

More interesting work was to come from the Mondays but this remains a good buy and a hugely underrated if not flawed debut.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2000
Squirell and G-Man 24hr party people plastic face carnt smile (white out)
what a title! You listen to this albums first time and you hear shaun ryders voice, i carnt call it singing, well you think what the hell is this!
But it grows on you, there are some real good songs on this album, Olive Oil and Litte Matchstick Owen, as well as more famous songs such as Kuff Dam and 24 hour party people Its worth buying for under a tenner, and its like nothing else ever made There are some stinkers, such as enery but overall the quality is there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.98
£14.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)