Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
36
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 January 2008
simple really - if yr any kind of music lover : be it into drum+bass/dance, electronica or is just simply open minded who likes "deep" or late night electronica : u need this album from 1995.

a landmark lp which still shows up the shortcomings of many other so called classic "dance/electronica artists" . its not perfect but tracks such as the full length version of "inner city life" , "you + me" and "sea of tears" are stunning :combining Goldie's trademark hardcore/jungle beats but with soundsacpes and layers taking this drum + bass lp far beyond the average d+b/dancefloor only album. there's technical beats, great female vocals (mostly from Diane Charlemagne) on most adding melody and a deeper level to the music, combined with an almost classical sense of dark + light, emotion, drama + scale. the use on some tracks of "real" guitar and bass by producer rob playford also add some classy touches and depth to this wide ranging album.

even now over 10 years on "timeless" remains a musically satisfying digital yet soulful album. oh, and its still better than most much less adventurous 'darkcore' or the 'liquid' d+b releases since.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2004
No one can deny that Goldie has been an innovative, groundbreaking and influential figure in drum'n'bass. This album paints a complex image where the metallic, compressed beats are often just a backdrop to the ambient washes and soporific femine vocals. Goldie didn't set out to make a brash, dark jungle album, i believe he wanted to issue the general public with a taster of what the so called 'underground' artists have to offer, as many outsiders viewed the genre as anti-social, repetitive noise. (not a chance!). In doing so Goldie has forged a sound that is way ahead of it's time, even today.
Die-hard junglists will no doubt find some of the tracks such as 'adrift' and 'state of mind' a bit too far removed from the dark 93' stomper 'terminator', but in my opinion they just emphasise Goldie's musicality and Rob Playford's engineering expertise.
This album features some groundbreaking engineering, indeed, 'Inner City Life' is used as a demonstration tool by many electronics companies. Despite this attention to detail, there are various tracks which are filled with emotion and warmth such as 'You&Me'.It is worth buying if only for the revolutionary 'Timeless'ep,(included here in it's original format)aswell as the classics- 'Angel' and 'Kemistry'.
Don't miss out on this unique classic; it may just be the most important solo drum'n'bass of the nineties.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
The shard transmutes, the polygon morphs, the fractal is reflected in your mind's eye. The prism is refracted in a flowing pool of molten silver.
If you don't like 'Angel', what are you: some kind of nbber?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2000
Forget the fact that this shot Goldie into the level of "Hello!" celebrity. The contrast between swooping soundscape and aggressive 120 bpm breakbeat that epitomises the album perfectly represents city life. "Kemistry", the tribute to another granddaddy of drum'n'bass is memorable, but my favorite would have to be "inner city life", which is 11 minutes of sheer heaven.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2014
ITS CALLED TIMELESS AS IT IS! For me growing up through the rave era I loved so much music and this little baby was played again and again AND STILL IS. It is emotional, deep thoughtful yet dark drum and bass which only Goldie can produce. I must say I have always loved 4hero aswell and these guys create some lovely sounds but this album is in the vault of classical dance music as it is a work of art. Some d&B can be very samey although I do love it, but this is unqiue and colourfully made. With the beautiful track Kemistry I cannot find faults at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2000
Goldie and Rob Playford's technical genius shine through, as tracks like "Timeless", his 21 minute masterpiece and "Jah-the seventh seal" display how versatile and tuely listenable drum'n'bass can be. This album has chill out, artcore and darkcore. Buy it now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
Fantastic album! A must for all lovers of electronic music. Quite a challenge to play for the sound system though, as it contains all the frequencies from making your tommy vibrate to making tour ears bleed. Joking!:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 1999
Drum'n'bass had been in people's conciousness for a while in various forms, perhaps more jungly than jazzy before this album really shoved it into everyone's face. Its odd to listen to it now because, yes as formulaic as it can all be, drum'n'bass really has moved on, but this is still a great album. For me it kind of loses it a bit in the middle and if you are just relaxing and listening to this often you can get a bit of a rude awakening around about the sixth track! But its the extended version of Timeless that shows Goldie at his best
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2002
I hated Drum & Bass, until I heard this recently. I went straight out to buy. I never knew Drum & Bass/Jungle could be so chilled out (e.g. Sea Of Tears), and this is definately my favourite CD at the moment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2004
Kevin, if you think this is the worst Drum 'n' Bass album you've ever listened to, I'd hate to hear what you think the best is! Goldie is one of the purest innovators and originators of D'n'B there ever has been or will be.
Timeless is amazing in every sense, composition, arrangement, production, use of session musicians and working with someone like Rob just adds the cream to the cake.
Although Goldie's arrogance shines through in most of his interviews, so does his skill in his music and art.
Anyone thinking of buying this, do so and enjoy. If you want something a little dirtier try Ring of Saturn also by Goldie
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)