Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
Pennybridge Pioneers
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 December 2000
This album rocks very big bells!Every song on it is a masterpiece in its own right. If you like punk rock you have not lived until you have listened to this. From fast songs like "Material boy" to ballads such as the cleverly titled "The Ballad" this album has it all. The best song on it is "Penguins and Polar Bears". This album ranks up with Punk classics such as "Dookie", yes it really is that good. If you like Blink 182, Less Than Jake, Green Day's early stuff or even The Offspring, this really is an essential purchase. So what are you waiting for, quit reading my review AND BUY IT NOW, YOU FOOL!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2001
The first time i heard Millencolin, like many other people, was on the game Tony Hawk pro-skater 2 with the fantastic opening song on the album "No Cigar". I listened to a couple of other songs by them and was well impressed and so decided to buy the album. The album is wicked and has some of the best punk-rock songs on it ever, they include "No Cigar", "Material Boy" and "Duckpond". Also a nice surprise at the end of the album is a punk-ballad un-originally called "The Ballad". I really wasnt sure about this song at first but it shouldnt be dismissed, its a great addition to a fantastically brilliant all-round album. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2000
The ska melodies may be gone but millencolin have managed to come up with a brilliant album and old fans will not be dissapointed. The ska has been replaced for the better with powerfull riffs and strong vocals. The lyrics are much more serious than the first three albums comical content but the new songs are far more grown up and meaningfull. The band accomplished the acoustic track "the ballad" well at the end of a very fast punk album. Any m*c fan will not be dissapointed so bring on the next one monkeys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2005
How this band have not got that big over here i will never know.
Stunning is really all that can be said. This is my favourite millencolin album. The reason being it was the first album of their's that i heard. Everyone has different oppinions and with this band most people tend to like the album they heard first. This is simply because every album is awesome and it is so hard to actually decide which one is the best.
No Cigar for me is my all time favourite punk song. Its fast, catchy and was made to be played at extremely loud volumes. If you have never heard a millencolin album i would recommend this as a start point. They blend punk rock, with emo.(Yes Emo not scr-emo. people tend to get the two confused.)and end up with 14 songs that will blow you away. They have the dancing songs, the sing alongs and the songs you'll listen to on repeat when your girlfriend dumps you. it's all there on one small compact disc. Buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2003
Having not heard much of Millencolin's music I was instantly impressed when I heard "No Cigar" on Tony Hawk's 2. This album is quite simply one of the best albums I have ever heard and is also good because it offers something a bit different from bands like NOFX and Rancid. Their music can be described as CATCHY while it still gets you pumped up like all good punk songs do. The best songs on the album are "No cigar" the opening track and "Penguins and Polarbears" which has now become one of my favourite songs of all time, but to be honest I like every song. Pennybridge Pioneers is a brilliant album and you haven't lived untill you have heard it. In short, genius!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2001
Let's set the record straight. "No Cigar" is probably one of the best pop punk records ever made (the Offsprings "Gone Away" beats it though!)
For that reason alone people should buy this album, but wait! There's more. Fox is also a storming track.
Not since the days of the great Offsping albums have I listened to an album and not found a bad song.
It's catchy, strong, quite original....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2010
Like many other reviewers, I first came to hear MIllencolin from Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2, with the song 'No Cigar' which is the opening song on this album, setting a high standard which is consistent through the 37minutes. The songs, with the exception of 'The Ballard' are all Punk/Rock based with some being on the slightly heavier side of the rock genre and to great results. Such examples of this (and personal favourites from the album) are 'Penguins & Polar bears' and 'Highway Donkey'. Other songs are of a more "Pop'y" nature, such as 'Fox', 'Right About Now' with some good punk sounds from 'Duckpond' and 'Mayfly' which all add to make a nice contrast that fills the album.

If you listened to Millencolin's earlier albums then 'Pennybridge Pioneers' will come as a rather radical departure to the nature of their earlier songs but don't let this put you off (or Put you off listening to the earlier stuff if this is your Millencolin debut) as its a fantastic album that is endlessly repeatable. Still my favourite Millencolin album after all these years, and my opinion is that it's their best too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2001
I heard about this band through a mate and was abit sceptical of a Swedish band, and at first only one or two of the tracks stood out. After listening to the whole album through two or three times all the songs really grew on me and it hasn't been of my cd player since!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
I'm new to the whole punk thing,but I'm so hooked on this album!The vocals are powerful(man Nikola can sing!), if a little hard to understand (then again they r Swedish..), and the guitars r strong.I swear the album shrinks as you play it tho, bcoz it seems to be over in no time! The last track 'The Ballad' came as a pleasant, slower suprise, which I didn't like originally, but it's grown on me; its got kind of an anthem quality. I highly recommend this album 2 ne1 who wants a good quality Punk album. Reminds me of Lit's 'A Place in the Sun', similar vocals and quality, though faster paced. Lyrically quite deep, and as you listen to the songs more, each track begins to mean something, I find my self really listenin and concentratin on the words, after I've rocked out a little of course!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
wow... millencolin have released yet another great punk rock album. However it is nothing compared to the earlier titles such as for monkeys and life on a plate. I would recomend getting them first, but if your a THPS fan and you have your heart set on the track 'no cigar' then this album is a safe bet for you. Most of the track are of a similar sound an will leave you getting the other albums anyway. You can also take the word of the record company Epitaph which is run by Bad religion who now cover the distribution of the bands albums, and they have seriously good choice in music. i love this C.D and if you like 'no cigar' you will love this album too. Good luck
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

True Brew
£7.99
Kingwood
£20.34

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)