Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars
Big Combo [DVD] [1954] [US Import] [NTSC]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£57.40+ £1.26 shipping


on 24 November 2015
Superb telling of the Amicus story. I'm sure that there are books that go into certain details in more depth but this is made with genuine devotion. The narrator is clearly entranced by the subject and his enthusiasm drew me in. There are many wonderful interviews with those involved with the making of the movies and they all have fascinating stories to tell. I remember watching From Beyond the Grave on late night TV in the late 80s or thereabouts and it stayed with me although at that point I had never heard of Amicus. I guess these films are rarely if ever shown on TV nowadays as they were already relatively old when I first encountered them in the 80s. Thanks to the internet and DVD'S they are drawing in a new generation of fans as well as older viewers revisiting them. The end of the feature features a very moving tribute to the late Peter Cushing who seems to have been universally loved by those he worked with.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
This is a made to order DVD and as such the disc has a homemade rather then factory produced look. Picture quality on my copy is a little too dark and the sound quality is variable - noticeable noise if you turn up the volume too far!. This aside, this is an enjoyable and typical "noir" tale featuring some solid performances. It is a film which is typical of its type and era. NOTE - although the Amazon listing details this as a Region 1 disc mine is REGION FREE! I purchased my copy from "all your music", a seller from whom I have bought a number of CD's & DVD's. Their service has always been excellent and if you are prepared to wait ( approximately ten days average for most of my orders ) then you can save yourself quite a lot of cash.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
This is an essential buy for lovers of Amicus films and/or Peter cushing fans as the extras consist of 2 extremely interesting interviews cushing gave in 1983 and 1990 about his life,career and wife.Worth buying the set for alone.
The documentary is in 2 parts spit onto 2 discsPykett is not a gifted narrator but has maanged to interview a wide range of people associated with the studio from actors to clapper loaders! hosted by the now sadly deceased Geoffrey Bayldon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2017
Wonderful! John Alton's cinematography is a marvel!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
I can't believe someone only gave this 2 DVD package two stars!? Any fan of British horror films and Amicus in particular should love this DVD. Derek Pykett has interviewed as many people who had worked on Amicus productions as he could contact it seems. I can really appreciate the huge efforts he must have gone to to interview all these individuals. I found every single interview of great interest and was never bored. I can't add anything that other reviewer's haven't said already. I loved it! :)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
This is the ultimate love story for the under dog that was Amicus films - this 5 hour plus documentary is crammed with information. Yes it does not have the production values of other documentaries but what it lacks in style it more than makes up in the information given. Great companion DVD (region Free) to the classic Amicus movies.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
DVD arrived with both discs dislodged from hub. Severe scratching on the first disc - it broke up at least eight times when I viewed the documentary. Bonus features were spared and second disc worked without any problems.

All in all - things turned out okay with this one.

As for the documentary itself - it's great for people who want to know more about British cinema. Hammer wasn't the only studio cranking out films back in the day.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
The Rough Guide to Film Noir rates this as one of the top-10 movies and I can only agree. But unfortunately the transfer is rather bad, sometimes as if taken by a worn out videotape, the soundtrack with weird noises. I've seen worse transfers (e.g. some of the Hitchcock releases) but still it's not good.
44 Comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
A super fan made documentary that has a tone of interviews with surviving cast members, and is a fans dream for anyone lking the films from this studio. Very in depth research, and although it has been made with home equipment, the editing is well done, and is probably the only chance to see anything relating to Amicus and it's history available on dvd.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Late film noir with good cast especially Cornel Wilde and Richard Conte as good and bad guys
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)