Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
Ghost Dog : The Way Of The Samurai
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 July 2017
What a film excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2015
quite good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2014
A great 90's hip hop soundtrack from the RZA. If you like Wu Tang then you like this great collection of tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2003
This is one great soundtrack, fans of The RZA and the Wu-Tang Clan will probably already have it, but fans of all kinds of music could appreciate it too. The best tracks are 'Strange Eyes' (by Sunz of Man), 'Walking Through Darkness' (by Tekitha - which borrows the bassline from Booby Womack's 'Across 110th Street' to great effect), 'Fast Shadow' (by Wu-Tang Clan) and The RZA's closing song: 'Samurai Showdown'.

However, one track is missing, and I was really disappointed since it was the main reason I got the CD. The awsome reggae classic 'Armagideon Time' by Willie Williams is not here. All I have is the sublime Clash version, but while I'm a huge fan of The Clash, the original was that much better. This soundtrack is great and for music fans like myself who don't have that much hip-hop, R&B, or 'urban' music this is a brilliant collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2000
Wu-Tang and their various families members (Sunz Of Man, Killarmy, Killah Priest, Tekitha, etc.) only sound at their best when they are backed up by the RZA's production. On this album, the Abbott blesses us with a variety of styles, from Reggae (Suga Bang Bang), to head-nodding straight Wu-Bangas (Fast Shadow), to Gangsta (The Man), and also Soul (Walking Through The Darkness).
The track that definitely stands out is Fast Shadow, a very up-tempo track featuring the lyrical skills of Meth, ODB, U-God, Masta Killa (who also has his own song on the album) and, of course, the RZA. Another stand-out moment is Tekitha's Walking Through The Darkness, a soul track that seems almost retro, while still pressing on at a scorching pace, with Tekitha's vocals add an emotional weight to it, showing how far RZA's protegee could (and should) go.
If you are thinking about buying this album just because you liked the music in the movie, be careful, as it is not a straight soundtrack, more an "inspired by" effort. That said, quite a lot of the beats, without vocals were in the movie as backing music, and Fast Shadow was one of the songs Ghost Dog played on the stereo in his roof-top home.
So, in conclusion, another good LP from the RZA, and one I would recommend to anyone who likes rap, and especially WTC fans. The film is quite good as well, definitely worth a watch, but personally, I prefer the soundtrack.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2006
This album was released in two versions - The blue cover, as here, is a collection of RZA produced offcuts from various minor Wu-Tang cronies,apparently 'inspired' by the movie. A version with an otherwise identical white cover is the actual S/T of the movie: This was only released in Japan and occasionally pops up in the racks for about 25 quid. But it is the one you'll be wanting and rates 5 stars - possibly the best thing he's ever done.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2003
This cd stays with you for days, as does the film, youll find yourself humming whilst doing the dishes, driving, on the bus etc etc!!!! blinding!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2010
I'm satisfied with my purchase. The seller sent me the product in optimum shape and in a short period of time! thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)