Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
30
The Essential Classics Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 March 2007
This 6 CD collection contains most of the popular classical music you could every want and is priced competitively. However many of the recordings are very old and the sound quality is at best adequate. A lot of the performances although technically excellent are dull and uninspiring. The packaging is bland with minimal information about the music or performers. If you want quality rather than quantity look elsewhere.
11 Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2002
There is a glut of classical music compilations available and for the uninitiated it can be a bit of a stab in the dark as to which to pick out. Having listened to several, I would commend this selection above all others. Not only is it more extensive than most (all?), the six CD's are neatly arranged by theme. The recordings themselves are generally fairly good and will allow the listener to find composers or pieces that he or she will want to listen to further.
0Comment| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 September 2014
This is exactly what it claims to be - an ESSENTIAL Classics Collection. As a music buff - and a professional musician - I actually have many of the works here, complete, but to edit them down into "bite-sized chunks" suitable for using with an Mp3 on the move would be time-consuming and challenging to say the least. So I'm very pleased that Deutsche Grammaphon have done the job for me at an unbelievable price by drawing on their vast back-catalogue. Each disc follows a theme - for example, grand opera or nocturnes - and showcases some of the greatest orchestras and solo artists of the 20th Century such as the Berlin Phil, Barenboim and Argerich, interpreting some of the greatest composers of all time. This is an outstanding collection, and would be a wonderful introduction to classical music. Far, far better than advert-ridden Classic FM!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2016
Almost perfect classical compilation, I would have left out the opera disc and replaced it with a disc of well known chamber music pieces, still a very good compilation though. You'll probably recognise every piece even if you aren't familiar with the composer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2010
This set is an excellent introduction to the various facets of Classical Music, or as a collection of old favourites easily accessable. Each of the 6 CDs are arranged according to mood.(1) Meditation; featuring Albinoni, Bach, Faure, Rodrigo, Mahler, and Elgar. (2)Orchestral Fireworks; featuring a rousing excerpt from Tchaikovsky's 1812, Gershwins's Rhapsody In Blue, and the complete Ravel's Bolero.(3)Invitation to the Dance; with Weber, Handel, and Borodin.(4)Nocturne; featuring Chopin, Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy-Clair de Lune.(5)Pomp and Circumstance; with Elgar, Holst, and Sibelius. (6)Grand Opera; with Puccini-One Fine Day, Bizet-Carmen, Verdi-Il Travatore, and Wagner-Liebestod. Each disc has between 10 and 15 tracks playing for approx 70 minutes. They are compiled by Deutsche Grammophon 1990, usually an indication of excellent artistic and recording quality. The number of well known orchestras and musicians are too many to list in this space, and for quality it is unfair to ignore any, but as a guide- Placido Domingo, Mirella Freni, Pierre Fournier(cello), Goran Sallischer(guitar), Berlin Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Orchestra of La Scala, Boston Symphony orchestra, Orchestra of the Bastille, Daniel Barenboim(piano), Simon Preston(organ), and The English Concert Orchestra with Simon Standage(violin)-are included.
This collection is also very good value for money, and very pleasently presented in magnolia and black with various images from a painting by Martin Mooney inspired by classical Corinthian Architecture.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2004
I was feeling a bit suspicious about the CD Set of this Collection. Since similar types of the Collection always available everywhere, i thought it would be hocus pocus to order such a CD on net. But when i dispatched it, i explicitly did comprehend that not only was it cheapier than the domestic market price; but also it was a unique selection of Famous Classics.
I offer The Essential Classics Collection [BOX SET] to the Classical Music Fans, assuring them that they will enjoy with the recording, indeed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2004
An excellent Classical Compilation. - This box set of 6 CD's with 7 hours of music is an excellent collection. The Music is divided into categories, each CD covering one.
The CD provides a good introduction to classical music with many popular pieces, and it is excellent value for money!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2004
It's very rare that I type anything (poor English skills) but this box set was/is wonderful. If you've heard a few of the great classical tunes on tv or whatever, and like them - this is for you. If you're after your first set of classical CDs, this collection is just what your looking for. I'm not saying that you will love every tune, but at this price, you can't turn it down! Introduce your self to the world of classical music with this box set, I cant see how anyone could be disappointed
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2011
I got this for my children, so I was looking for something with REAL classics, not just the endless Delibe flower duet and other advert music.

What a bargain. Each CD has a theme - eg meditation, invitation to the dance. I disagree with the reviewer who said the sound quality was poor - I listen on a terrible CD player in the kitchen and it was really clear.

The recordings seem to have one thing in common: they are accessible. Even the recording of the Hallelujah chorus had each 'tune' part picked out the very tiniest bit. For purists, this might have spoiled it, but for children or casual listeners, it really helps. Some are better than others, but I didn't dislike any, and I'm quite picky.

If you want a 'mood' based collection, I can't see how you could go wrong at this price. And you will end up knowing a good spread of classical music as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2004
A very wide selection of pieces, organised into themes, although rather loosely if you ask me!! Some of them just didn't fit the theme. Mostly a good selection, but a few pieces that let the collection down.
A very good collection for someone new to classical music, but most classical fans will have the best pieces on this collection already and would do better buying something like the fantastic Tchaikovsky box set they have here.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)