Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£0.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2000
'Caught Out There' may be the song that launched Kelis as a star, but it is far from being the standout track of this very promising debut release. The sexy groove of 'Good Stuff' and the quirky delight that is 'Roller Rink' both outdo the monster hit of earlier this year. But, for sure, the greatest song on the album is 'Mars', which will inevitably become a future R&B classic. Elsewhere on the album, Kelis's talents are not quite so sensational. 'Get Along With You', 'In The Morning' and 'Mafia' are good songs, but not in the league of the aforementioned. Overall, this is an impressive album that is certainly worth buying. There is clearly much more to Kelis than the gimmicky rant of 'Caught Out There'.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
this is perhaps the best album i have bought this year. Every track on here is good. There are a few dodgy moments but Game show is a track which can only be taken in good humour. Mafia is one of the standout tracks of the album, it profiles kelis' vocal talents very well. mars is another of those brilliant tracks and for some reason my cd has become scratched on that particular track so i am actually willing to go and buy another copy because it is missing one track. Ghetto children is one of the more upbeat tracks on the album and if carried very well by the male vocalist who sings with kelis. all of the tracks on this album are great I reccomend all music fans to buy this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2000
I kinda bought this album on a whim. I liked Caught Out There a lot, but that wasn't enuff to swing my decision. I'd heard Good Stuff (her second single) on the radio and fell in love with it...so I bought it, and I'm so very glad I did...
This is a very mixed bag. On Good Stuff and Mafia, Kelis confirms that she is a babe with a voice (they're commonplace, you know...) but she also has brains.
There is the odd track that goes wide of the mark , the absurd Game Show springs to mind. At the very end, it sounds like there is an army of Smurfs getting strangled singing Game Show over and over...that, however, is the only remotely dodgy bit, but being a track right in the middle, it drives my decision down to 4 stars. But I do agree, anyone who cannot appreciate Mafia must be brain dead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2001
This is a truly fantastic CD. I see that other reviews have singled out the odd track as rubbish or said that the album as a whole has some dodgy bits. This is just not true! Kelis and her production team are major talents and I only hope that this 20 year old can live up to this initial promise and that Kaleidoscope does not turn out to be some kind of aural "Citizen Kane"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2001
very good album. one small snag, roller rink is rubbish. but the rest of the album is exellent. brilliant production by the neptunes. well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
If you are on a debut album this is exactly how you should do it. Excellent variation in songs with Kelis demonstrating her skill in fast tempo and slow jamz. Vibrant lyrics with a N.E.R.D. kick that gives the beats that enigmatic replay capability.
If you are a Kelis fan, this one and the Tasty album is a must buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2001
When i first heard "caught out there" i wasn't sure but then "god stuff" came along which really gave me the boost to buy the album. and it wasn't a dissapointment. The neptunes are a over every track, adding so much veriety to the project. this album is a masterpiece. Her second album is now in the making, and she has a lot to live up to. I think you'll agree if you buy it. She really is a breath of fresh air.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
Kaleidoscope is a very good place to start with the music of Kelis, especially for those that remember her debut singles including the rather catchy Caught Out There. There is a lovely blend of R'n'B vibes with a social conscience that was the norm for a lot of soloists associate with that genre were doing in the late 1990s and early 2000s (Lauryn Hill, Ms Dynamite, etc). Tracks such as Mafia and Suspended give a splendid gravitas of emotional power to the proceedings as well.
For fans of this genre of music from this period, you should be able to enjoy this album in all its glory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2016
My expectation of this album was it was going to be rubbish but that was not the case these songs are songs you certainly have to listen to

1.Good Stuff
2. Caught Out There
3. Get Along With You
4. Game Show
5. Mars
6. Ghetto Children
7. I Want Your Love
8. No Turning Back
9. Roller Rink
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2000
"Caught Out There" was a totally fab song, and when I heard "Good Stuff" Ihad to have it. The whole ensemble is generally brilliant, and the woman has a very beautiful voice. The first songs are probably the best, but "In the Morning" and "Wouldn't you agree" are a very nice couple to wind down with at the end of the CD. I say buy it now, but not if you are averse to strong language (especially in "Roller rink").
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here