Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
81
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2001
This recording IS Pink Floyd - The Wall live. If like me you would have bought this twenty years ago. So why did it take so long? Probably Floyd politics. Anyhow, enough of why the wait; wait no more.
The Wall was performed 29 times by Pink Floyd during 1980/1. At this moment in history Floyd were (and still are) considered one of the top live acts on the planet. This album shows why.
Is there anybody out there? is a live version of The Wall culled from these shows. There are one or two extras not on the studio version of The Wall. 'The Last Few Bricks' and 'What Shall We Do Now?' being those extras but they are both present on Roger Waters 21/7/90 Berlin concert and 'What Shall..' featured on The Wall film to. So the only different part of the approach for us fans is the M.C. announcements. But that just goes to create the most interesting and brilliant intro to any live recording I've ever heard. You will need to play the intro loud as the M.C. is a little inaudible. (Again this intro was used in The Wall movie but was totally inaudible. If in doubt it is played in the background just before Bob narrates 'Stop').
If you are one of the new Floyd fans with 'Echoes -the best of Pink Floyd' acting as your introduction to the band then The Wall is crucial to your collection. However, which do you buy first? Roger Waters - The Wall live in Berlin? Probably not. It's not bad but as I was there in the front row then I find the video of show more interesting. The Wall, studio version? Of course it was the original, BUT I don't like live albums all that much. (Pulse and Delicate Sound of Thunder are great videos but as far as the audio goes, forget it). HANG ON, this live album is different. Yes it's live but the tension is there; that live feeling and the sound quality is stunning. The original would have had the extra few minutes of music except for the contraints of the actual vinyl format. For example Run Like Hell is longer and Another Brick In The Wall (part 2) has an extended keyboard flurry by session man Peter Woods who also played at Berlin '90. Snowy White plays guitar again to compliment David Gilmour's style. (Why those two have never made an album together is beyond me. Snowy was in Thin Lizzy as well as being a regular Floyd session artist).
Whichever you decide on you will, no doubt be back to get the other(s). There is more to complicate the issue as there is a hardback book edition and the standard release. My suggestion is get the hardback book edition. OK there is no more extra music for your money but you get a detailed account from band members of how one of the biggest selling albums of all time evolved from a studio record, to a concert, to a film and beyond! The book also has some excellent photos of the concerts. The cover/book was designed by Storm Thorgerson, unlike the original designed by Gerarl Scarfe. However, Thorgerson shows no rivalry as he shows off Scarfe's drawings, puppets and illistrations to suberb effect.
A truly excellent live album. Don't be put off by either Pulse or Delicate Sound Of Thunder. On 'Is There Anybody Out There?' the band gel together and the angst that is produced from Waters/Wright off stage bickering overflows onto the stage and and affects everyone. Each player then delivers top notch showmanship. This is the start of Floyd's Cold War and everyone wants to push The Button.
In 1983 Floyd's war was in full flow and The Floyd delivered us (their fans) a bomb. The nightmare that was the brilliant The Final Cut: A Requiem For The Post War Dream.
So if you want a perfectly depressing afternoon then play in order Pink Floyd's Animals, The Wall, The Final Cut and Roger Waters Amused To Death. By the end of that play list you will consider all of your troubles little ones and you will be glad to be alive. So cheer up and listen to Floyd's Relics CD (but program out Careful with that axe, Eugene or you will be back feeling depressed again).
Thanx for reading.
33 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2006
I bought this and the first time I listened to it I feel in love with this, trully awesome live performance. The beginning opening announcement left me chuckling and the sheer passion that's put into this not only make this a brilliant listen but I'd say better than the studio album. It'll have pride of place in my collection forever!
Buy it!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2003
The first thing I should say about this album is that you shouldn't buy it unless you already own or are familiar with The Wall (the album or the film), you really need to be fully aware of what the studio version is like before you can fully appreciate "Is there Anybody Out there?"
What can I say, I thought it would be impossible to improve on the original The Wall, but this album improves on it by miles. The version of In The Flesh? is a great example of live Floyd at their best, the song starts by interrupting MC Atmos who opens the show, to a huge cheer from the crowd (in the actual performance, the band played in the background while the "surrogate band" stood out front and imitated their parts with masks of the band!).
The live versions of Another Brick...pt 1., Mother, Run Like Hell and Goodbye Blue Sky are all great improvements on the originals, with The Floyd playing with superb accuracy and adding where they can.
My two personal favourites on this live feast of an album are Comfortably Numb and the quite bizarre Empty Spaces.
Comfortably Numb was a brilliant musical concoction of David Gilmour's, and he sings the chorus beautifully and the orchestral that play alongside are excuted very well, but the real highlight of this album is when David Gilmour stands up on top of The Wall (that was built between the band and the audience during the performance) and pulls of the excellent first solo from Comfortably, you can almost feel his pride as he plays that last note...
As for Empty Spaces, this version was never featured on the original album but did feature on the film. Nick Mason performs the greatest drum solos of his life which lead into an excellent yet underrated piece of music with some of Floyd's best ever lyrics, "Shall we get into fights, leave the lights on, drop bombs, do tours of the East, contract diseases, bury bones, break up homes, send flowers by phone etc...".
All in all, this album is a must have for fans of 70's floyd and you will no doubt be satisfied with it's brilliant packaging (the book is full of interesting comments from the band and roadies).
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
"Hey You, out there in the cold getting lonely; getting old, can you hear me?" Everything that you would expect from a live recording of a Pink Floyd concert is captured in this new album. The swelling and dramatic emotions of the music, the sense of sheer awe as Dave Gilmour executes his solos with an air of magic about him and of course the melodies and rhythms that make them the most popular psychadaelic band ever to have graced the Earth. From the first chords, to the last sound of the Wall collapsing, the band manage to hold the complete air of suspense, and arouse our deepest senses . If you are worried that it wont be as good as the real thing, stop, and buy this masterpeice.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2004
...was Floyd playing The Wall live @ Earl's Court. Difficult to follow really. Dave Gilmour's solo on Comfortably Numb had most of us scraping our brains up off the floor. I realised that this wasn't just a concept album but an entire musical which made a lot more sense when seen live.What has amazed me about this album is how well it captures both the slick professionalism of the band and the raw energy of live performance.Listening to it I feel almost as exihilarated as after the concert (though thankfully not as sweaty). If you were there you have to get this just to remind yourself of a great evening; If you weren't it's worth getting to remind yourself what a great band Floyd were in their heyday.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2000
Roger Waters depicts the life of a band that has become faceless and almost too big even for it's own members in this brilliant live rendition of The Wall. The basic concept of this album was that of how the band, (Roger Waters in particular) felt about the music industry and what Pink Floyd had become - puppets playing to crowds that were so huge they could be faceless for all the fans knew. Interestingly, the first track (in the flesh) was performed by a dummy band who were wearing life-masks of each group member who were then frozen and lowered off the stage, revealing the real band! Most of the rest of the show is a musical adaptation of Roger Waters life story. A brilliant addition to any Floyd fans' collection-an album well worth listening to.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2000
This is awesome. Pink Floyd, one of the most important and best rock bands ever to come out of Britain, playing the entire album "The Wall", which is also one of the most important and best rock albums ever made. Even if you're not a die-hard Pink Floyd fan but you are familiar with "The Wall" you will love this. To think this was recorded in 1980 and 1981 the sound quality and clarity of the recording is amazing. I have always thought that Pink Floyd's 1995 CD "P.U.L.S.E" was the ultimate live album - now I'm not so certain! The atmosphere of the performance has been captured superbly (rare for any live album let alone one recorded as long ago as this one). Dave Gilmour's guitar work is totally mesmering - more so on this live version than the studio version in my humble opinion. Just listen to the solos at the end of "Brick 2" and "Comfortably Numb"...awesome would be putting it midly! My only gripe is why did it take so long to get this album released? Well worth waiting for. Packaging on the ltd edition version is ace too. Go buy it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
[18]...The studio double album 'The Wall' released in November 1979 was supported by a tour with elaborate theatrical effects..This album..'Is there anybody out there? The Wall Live' is the result of that tour put together & released some 20 years later in March 2000..The tour started in Los Angeles in February 1980 it had a 12 metre high wall of cardboard bricks gradually built on stage between the band & the audience gaps between the bricks allowed the spectators to view various scenes in between the musical story..At the end of the concert the wall was made to collapse once again revealing the band..

During this tour relationships between the band were at an all time low..Roger Waters remained isolated from the rest of the band staying in separate hotels from the other band members..Richard Wright who had left the band in 1979 returned to perform as a salaried musician & actually was the only one who made a profit from the venture..the tour itself although successful actually lost money..

This double album contains selected tracks from the August 1980 to June 1981 performances at Earls Court London it does contain two extra tracks than the studio version..'What shall we do now' a 1 minute.40 second track & 'The last few bricks' a 3 minute 26 second track an instrumental which was put in to give the brick layers on stage time to complete the building of the cardboard wall.'This album captures the essence & energy of the studio version but does not flow as nicely...Although some may argue that it's better than the original studio version for it's rawness..either way..having both versions solves any comparisons.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2001
This recording IS Pink Floyd - The Wall live. If like me you would have bought this twenty years ago. So why did it take so long? Probably Floyd politics. Anyhow, enough of why the wait; wait no more.
The Wall was performed 29 times by Pink Floyd during 1980/1. At this moment in history Floyd were (and still are) considered one of the top live acts on the planet. This album shows why.
Is there anybody out there? is a live version of The Wall culled from these shows. There are one or two extras not on the studio version of The Wall. 'The Last Few Bricks' and 'What Shall We Do Now?' being those extras but they are both present on Roger Waters 21/7/90 Berlin concert and 'What Shall..' featured on The Wall film to. So the only different part of the approach for us fans is the M.C. announcements and the inclusion of the first verse in The Show Must Go On. The MC just goes to create the most interesting and brilliant intro to any live recording I've ever heard. You will need to play the intro loud as the M.C. is a little inaudible. (Again this intro was used in The Wall movie but was totally inaudible. If in doubt it is played in the background just before Bob narrates 'Stop').
If you are one of the new Floyd fans with 'Echoes -the best of Pink Floyd' acting as your introduction to the band then The Wall is crucial to your collectiion. However, which do you buy first? Roger Waters - The Wall live in Berlin? Probably not. It's not bad but as I was there in the front row then I find the video of show more interesting. The Wall, studio version? Of course it was the original, BUT I don't like live albums all that much. (Pulse and Delicate Sound of Thunder are great videos but as far as the audio goes, forget it). HANG ON, this live album is different. Yes it's live but the tension is there; that live feeling and the sound quality is stunning. The original would have had the extra few minutes of music except for the contraints of the actual vinyl format. For example Run Like Hell is longer and Another Brick In The Wall (part 2) has an extended keyboard flurry by session man Peter Woods who also played at Berlin '90. Snowy White plays guitar again to compliment David Gilmour's style. (Why those two have never made an album together is beyond me. Snowy was in Thin Lizzy as well as being a regular Floyd session artist).
Whichever you decide on you will, no doubt be back to get the others). There is more to complicate the issue as there is a hardback book edition and the standard release. My suggestion is get the hardback book edition. OK there is no more extra music for your money but you get a detailed account from band members of how one of the biggest selling albums of all time evolved from a studio record, to a concert, to a film and beyond! The book also has some excellent photos of the concerts. The cover/book was designed by Storm Thorgerson, unlike the original designed by Gerald Scarfe. However, Thorgerson shows no rivalry as he shows off Scarfe's drawings, puppets and illustrations to superb effect.
A truly excellent live album. Don't be put off by either Pulse or Delicate Sound Of Thunder. On 'Is There Anybody Out There?' the band gel together and the angst that is produced from Waters/Wright off stage bickering overflows onto the stage and affects everyone. Each player then delivers top notch showmanship. This is the start of Floyd's Cold War and everyone wants to push The Button.
In 1983 Floyd's war was in full flow and The Floyd delivered us (their fans) a bomb. The nightmare that was the brilliant The Final Cut: A Requiem For The Post War Dream.
So if you want a perfectly depressing afternoon then play in order Pink Floyd's Animals, The Wall, The Final Cut and Roger Waters Amused To Death. By the end of that play list you will consider all of your troubles little ones and you will be glad to be alive. So cheer up and listen to Floyd's Relics CD (but program out Careful with that axe, Eugene or you will be back feeling depressed again).
Thanks for reading.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2000
Having never had the opportunity to see Pink Floyd live in action (im only 18), I am glad to see more Floyd live material, which are not badly recorded bootlegs! The sound quality of this album is superb, which makes all the delays trying to get it perfect, worth the wait. The band performed excellently, with note perfect renditions where required, and excellent variations from the studio version in other places. 'The Wall' being a live concept as well as an album, is shown in a greater light, with all the reactions of the fans to create an electrifying atmosphere. The parts which stand out are as expected 'Comfortably numb', 'Run like hell', 'Another brick..' and Mother. It had alot of hype and in my opinion it was worth it. The Book supplied is also excellent, crammed with Pictures which makes me wish I was 20 years older so I could have been there. This, however, will have to do!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)