Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
Let Yourself Go
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 14 April 2018
Great CD, the sound quality is excellent and it feels like you are listening to a live performance at the venue. The musicians are top notch as of course is Stacey. Very pleased I bought this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2017
Sublime. A beautiful fragile understated vocalist. Beautiful arrangements and top notch sound quality. Fantastic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2013
I bought this CD because I like Fred Astaire music & films but you don't have to be a Fred Astaire fan to like this CD. It is the first one I have bought of Stacey Kent & I think she has a lovely voice, I will definetly be looking at more of her CD's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2013
Stacey's voice seems to get better and better, and the quality of the recording is exemplary.
Having recently seen Stacey in concert, consider this and her other more recent releases to be perfect content and listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2016
Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2017
a great find, lovely vocals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 May 2017
A great voice. perfect for background music at a dinner party.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2015
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
brilliant, just brilliant,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2011
Stacey Kent is unlikely to make an album that sells millions of copies, nor headline a stadium show in front of tens of thousands, nor top the bill at the Palladium, but let me tell you something, she has as much if not more musical talent than those who have achieved these yardsticks of artistic success.

Born in New Jersey in 1966, she moved to England after graduating in New York and studied at London's Guildhall School of Music & Drama, where she met the tenor saxophonist, Jim Tomlinson, whom she married in 1991.

She began her professional career in the early 1990's singing regularly at the popular Soho nightspot, 'Cafe Boheme' before going on to open for established jazz acts across the road at the legendary Ronnie Scott's nightclub. Since then she has appeared extensively in Europe and won many awards for her Jazz singing including the prestigious "Ordre des Arts et des Lettres", a French Government decoration in recognition of her contribution to the arts.

Her voice is best described in "Time Out London" as "Timeless, artless and utterley gorgeous" and her talents by "The Yorkshire Post" thus "All the hype about Kent is justified.....She is blessed with that magic give to very few singers". Simply put her voice, delivery and interpretation of her songs are just sublime.

"Let Yourself Go" celebrates Fred Astaire and naturally includes the likes of "They Can't Take That Away From Me", "I Won't Dance", "'S Wonderful", "Shall We Dance?", "One For My Baby", and "A Fine Romance" - she is accompanied throughout by her husband on saxophone and clarinet. The result is just about as good as you can get in gentle easy-to-listen-to, exquisitely sung jazz music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)