Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
12
Songs Without Words
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 August 2016
Bought as present for my husband who loves this. Cant say anymore as its not my interest but i have one very happy hubby who is passionate about his classical music!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2015
Beautiful sounds from Murray Perahia. A must have in any classical music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
Although this is an old recording the sound is quite good. Enjoyable performance. The sleeve notes though leave a lot to be desired being not very clear to read.
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
Beautifully refined playing makes me see some of these works in a different light.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2013
Wonderfully controlled and considered playing, perhaps a little too controlled at times, but nonetheless, always intelligent and thoughtful.
Piano playing and musicianship of a very high order.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2003
This is the music you would want to play on a bright and crisp SUnday morning, with a soft spring breeze moving the curtains and the patio doors are wide open. I am no expert on classical pianists, but Mr Perahia plays velvety, rich and cristal tones. The choice of pieces moves from soft, reminiscing (Bach) to a bit more lively (Liszt). But the whole CD meanders like a little stream though your room, never annoying always enchanting.
The choice of music is interesting, circumventing the obiquitous Chopin and Beethoven.
This CD is an ideal gift to anyone who likes pianomusic, or anyone starting to digest classical music (like me). Simply beatiful.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2016
With firewater in play, I recently mumbled to JL (Chief Procurement Officer of the Australian Knappertsbusch Association), “Could one suggest that Perahia has too many virtues and not enough redemptive vices to be considered one of the greats? Oh, for a genome of Cziffra in his make-up!”

JL raised his eyes to the heavens. No help was forthcoming so he manfully ignored the comment as he sifted through the letter-bombs and flyers for head-rugs in the mail-room. Here’s a vivid demonstration of my asininity: MP’s 1999 recital of Bach chorales, select Songs without Words and three Liszt transcriptions of Schubert lieder (including the greatest of them all – “Auf dem Wasser zu singen”).

Here, I was overwhelmed by the sheer mastery on display. Yes Virginia - Bach’s polyphony can be conveyed by a Steinway; Mendelssohn can probe extremities and the Liszt / Schubert combo is more pungent than the latter alone. Touch and taste, poetry and power – they’re all here and magisterial too. Who does not feel resentful when this program comes to an end? Perhaps, as Richard Wilbur states, “the end of thirst exceeds experience” – but a second CD would refute his axiom. Damn you Sony and your pinchgut ways!

It remains to be seen if Perahia can play Scriabin’s Black Mass with the requisite degree of internalisation; but on the evidence of the Erlkonig here, the demonic is not beyond him. Praise where praise is due. Of all the good things that can come your way from the Giver of Gifts, this is prime.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2001
this CD is so beautiful that I used it at my own wedding; it has power, lyricism and variety
Murray at his very best (and most original in terms of pieces juxtaposed)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
Songs without Words

Not the complete Mendelsohn cycle, which is what I was expecting; a selection mixed in with Bach Cantata arrangements for piano, and
Schubert lieder arranged by Liszt..

The performance, by Murray Perahia, not very good: surprising and disappointing..
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2011
Do you sometimes want melody not the all embracing flowery stuff which can be good bad or indifferent, but top of the range creativity - try this disc to sooth your soul and not feel that the quality of the works are suspect.

These direct creations and also transcritions are wonderful, try the Schubert arr. Liszt to know that you what you will get - or just buy this as i did and be beguiled by Murray Perahia's playing, and that is just one of a dozen or more good reasons to own this disc.

Ohter discs with the same beauty are

Liszt: Harmonies du Soir

Martha Argerich and Friends - Live from Lugano 2010
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)