Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.40+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2004
If you are only vaguely familiar with this extraordinary group, I advise you to either buy this best of package or their first album, Happy Nation. This album is a small compilation of the best dance music of the 90s and there is never a dull moment throught the 16 songs.
Ace Of Base are a "Swedish pop-reggae outfit comprising three Berggren family members, Linn(v), Jenny(v), Jonas "Joker"(k) and Ulf "Buddha" Ekberg(k) all from Gothenburg. Only Swedish act to top the US album chart with "The Sign"-titled "Happy Nation" outside US) in 1994."
They are of course much more with 100 weeks on UK singles chart and a #1 album HN. Their biggest hits are All That She Wants (#1 in the UK), The Sign (UK#2, US#1), Don't Turn Around (UK #5), Life Is a Flower (UK #5), Cruel Summer (UK #8) and so on (12 UK hit singles).
This album bring the best from their first three albums; Happy Nation (AKA The Sign), The Bridge, The Flowers. It also includes two new songs: C'est La Vie (bad one) and Love In December (great one). More or less, this album is important because it actually contains shorter, single versions of their best-known compositions. You can't miss it in the shops under the letter A: the case is transarent & blue!
I bet you'll keep repeating this one! One of the best Greatest hits in the market!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2001
This 'greatest hits' equivilant from Swedish pop band Ace of Base reminds the listener of their most memoral hits of the 1990s including, 'All that she wants', 'The Sign', 'Cruel Summer' and 'Life is a flower'. It's a fantastic reminder of their success and distinctive, popular style throughout their first decade.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2000
Ace Of Base have always been great from worldwide number 1s 'All That She Wants' and 'The Sign' through 'Don't Turn Around', 'Beautiful Life' and to the very poppy 'Life Is A Flower' and 'Always Have, Always Will', this is a fabulous greatest hits album featuring three new songs.
I would reccommend this to anyone who appreciates good pop music.
Ace Of Base are to return this autumn with a new album and it will be massive.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2000
You can go wrong with an album packed of big hits, and all the hits of 'The base are here. From their first n°1 (All that she wants) to the big hit "The sign". Then we've got "Beautiful life" and the top 10 hits "Life is a flower" and the Bananarama-cover "Cruel summer". Join the happy nation of Ace of Base! You can't miss this!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
The singles collection released in Europe is more full and better than the one offered in U.S.
Fans get here all hits and some new tracks (just to mention catchy "Love in december" - another brillant dance tune made by The Swedish).
There are no weak points here. Nothing has been omitted.
Ace of Base is one of the most important acts in pop music of the 90's and this compilation proves that they deserve a lot of respect.
Excellent record!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
This is pop music at its very best. Ace of Base have been around for 10 years and have produced some truly magnificent music...and it's all here! From the debut hit 'All that she wants' to the formidable new stuff like 'C'est la vie' every song on here rocks. Don't be put off by their apparent disappearance of late, they are still around making music just as good as this CD. This is a timely reminder to those who knock pop music. Ace of Base are classics and so is this CD!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 1999
This Album in Case you want to buy it is the Limited Edition/Blue Embossed Case! It has the Big Bonus mix of Cruel Summer Long Version of Never Gonna Say Iam Sorry Original Lucky Love Europeon Versions of Wheel of Fortune And the new Dance beats of Love in December are really good Easy listning to the new songs Hallo Hallo and Cest La vie This 16 Track Album includes all of their singles except -Travel to Romantis -Whenever youre near me :( Overall This is a must have for all you AOB fans or any one//who likes good music! See ya later ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
When I was a youngin, my brother and a friend decided to host a 'fair' in a seldom used room of said friend's house. My sister and I were the only eager fools to be had with their tricksy games of chance and catching fish with tiny bits of magnet. Unfortunately they had not the hearts of carnies and as a result we won at every game and even if we didn't they gave us a prize because we were small and adorable.
After we left the fair of wonders my sister and I splayed our loot between us and we instantly knew the greatest win of the day: a casette of Ace of Bass Greatest Hits. I SAW THE SIGN!! It was meant to be. We were no longer lonely girls, we grooved every day to that farking tape and even now as I creep dustily into my 28th solar orbit on this hot rock their sweet-ass melodies still haunt my internal radio.
Best. Band. Ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 1999
This is one incredible CD-nothing sounds out of place or heaven forbid cheesy! Ace of Base really do know how to make music-pure and simple. With acts like Rage Against the Machine, Limp Bizkit, and Korn flooding the airwaves...Ace of Base provides simply lets you kick back and stop all that screaming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
An almost complete record of the band's best work between 1990 and 2000. All my favorite tracks are here. If you liked the band, this is certainly their best compilation album during this period.

Available at bargain basement price from some sellers on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.47

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)