Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2015
love it only bought it for what a circus and a winters tale
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The early 70s was David Essex’s time as he competed with the likes of David Cassidy, T. Rex and The Osmonds for pole position on the charts. Rock On is a sultry rock number, Gonna Make You A Star has a nice foot tapping tune and Silver Dream Machine is a dreamy ballad from the movie Silver Dream Racer. Lamplight is moody rock just like Rock On whilst Oh What A Circus from 1978 is his lovely version of the song from Evita. To his credit, there’s lots of variety on these tracks, from slow but innovative rock to great pop ballads plus a second version of Rock On. Essex won’t make pop history but his small contribution to the seventies scene in the UK is fondly remembered and this album is highly listenable.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
this cd is one of the best in my collection,great songs that take meback to my teens,them were the days,didnt relise at the time how good astists like david essex were,all the girls loved his cheeky face ,and all the lads wanted to alter it.If you like essex this the album you need.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
David Essex, like a number of his contemporaries, Bolan, Bowie, Stewart et al, had been around since the mid-60's, then as erstwhile drummer and singer, David Cook. It's fair to say that, like the aforementioned artists, he paid his dues before he became, much to his embarrassment a teenage hearthrob (which he says he has always hated - and I have no reason to disbelieve him). That's not to say he despised his many fans, predominantly ladies, both young and old; far from it, he has always been tremendously grateful to his legion of fans who have grown older with him.

Essex has had a multi-faceted career in show business; singer, songwriter, producer, actor, in televison, film, straight theatre and musical theatre. In fact, there's a gypsy-like aspect to his career, which is no surprise, as he has never hidden his gypsy/romany roots from anyone. Essex has always struck me as being an honest, upright, likeable man with no guile in him whatsoever.

I never bought any of Essex's music the first time around as I was into other bands and artists, though whenever I heard any of his singles on the radio, they always sounded melodic and catchy, with some extremely good and inventive arrangements (mainly Jeff Wayne), finished off with high production values. Here he provides the listener with all his hits over three decades, whether through the singles charts or his forays into musical theatre. "Rock On", "Lamplight", "Gonna Make You A Star"(No.1), "Hold Me Close" (No.1), "Tahiti" and "Oh What A Circus" (the two latter songs from musical theatre) and many more, are all catchy and melodic and you can fully understand why these records sold in droves the first time around.

David Essex always appeared to deliver entertainment, enjoy his music in a tongue in cheek way, and still continues touring, playing to his many fans - though I'm sure he doesn't need the money anymore. He's always worked hard and deserved his success. In this "His Greatest Hits" package, an 18 track musical resume of his varied career, he appears to have delivered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2016
I had forgotten just what great songs David had made, this album brings them all together. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2016
My wife,s favourite singer or one of them?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2015
Perfect in every way
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
very enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
Excellent service. came really quickly. bought as a gift for my friend, but i get ti listen to it in her car also. we both love it. thankyou very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)