Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 February 2017
When you look at the rock band Muse in today's light, they are known mostly for their hit singles and the never ending crowd of zombified yuppies at their concerts. But go back nearly twenty years and you'll find a more interesting band that in a sense is contrasting in creativity and sound.

Showbiz, the bands debut album from 1999 is not their best album but it was a very solid starting point. Back in the day the sound of the album was criticised for mimicking Radiohead, a criticism I never quite understood. Sure, Muse like their more mellow moments but there were no moments where I felt like suicide. The same can't be said for Radiohead.

The songs on Showbiz range from great to decent but there are none that I would call bad or mediocre. Falling Down for example is a song that could have been left out, much like one of the many ballads. But not one is worth skipping. You get the more memorable tunes like the opening Sunburn, Muscle Museum, Escape and Uno. They are a strange mix of styles ranging from the rock sound of the time, progressive rock and even a hint of art rock every now and again.

Some people might draw the line at the high pitch shrieking from the bands front man and guitar player Matt Bellamy. His singing style is quite queer and without a doubt an acquired taste. It is no surprise that with vocals like this the man received the same criticisms that early '70s Rush received, and still do to this day. You can debate about whether he is a good singer or not, but the fact of the matter is that his voice brings a lot of character to the bands music and without it, you'd still have a lot of good music but it would be less memorable.

Those looking for the trendy Muse of recent years might be sorely disappointed. This is a rock band doing what they do best. Taking great melody and give it a jolt with soaring vocals and a wall of distortion. It isn't their best work but it is a great starting point, one that was built on and improved upon with the follow up, Origin of Symmetry.

Published by Steven Lornie of Demonszone
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 July 2016
Leaving aside all the negative stuff about this album sounding too much like Radiohead for its own good - yes it does somewhat but who really cares! - Muse have to be one of the most interesting and powerful musical forces to have been unleashed on the music scene in the last 15 years. This collection is crammed full of quality for this happy listener with the likes of 'Sunburn', 'Muscle Museum', Cave' and 'Uno' providing just 4 blistering examples of how good rock can be heading into the 21st Century. I am only stopping short of giving 'Showbiz' a 5th star because Muse's subsequent albums ('Origin of Symmetry', 'Absolution' and 'Black Holes and Revelations') are even better. A highly creditable debut in my view.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2010
The first Muse tracks that I have listened to are from Black Holes and Revelations and The Resistance. I love these albums (I gather from other reviewers that I'll get slated for that but hey it's my musical taste!). I liked the fact that unlike so many other artists, Muse sound different on every track and I love the different instruments and sounds that they use. Whilst Showbiz has some brilliant tracks (my favourites being Uno and Unintended) some of the other tracks merge into one without much of a tune. Having said that I would still recommend buying this album
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2015
I love this album. Favourite tracks are Sunburn, Philip, and Cave...and Unintended...and Uno...actually it's so hard to choose since the whole album is amazing. If you like Muse and are just looking into their earlier albums, then get this, this is the first one and it won't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2016
Quick delivery & good price. Brought as a christmas present for a Muse fan so will be gratefully received. Really pleased with item & suppler so would recommend. Would certainly buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2012
In case you haven't figured it out, I am comparing Muse's `Showbiz' to Nirvana's `Bleach', Radiohead's `Pablo Honey', and Smashing Pumpkins' `Gish'. Why? Well, because all of these albums are made by young and emotional alternative rock bands. All of these albums show that there is promise and potential in these bands. All of these albums are the heaviest work that was released by each band. The level of rawness and roughness that all of these albums have is incredible, so much energy is created.

Showbiz highlights Muse's influences better than any other of their albums. Rage Against The Machine, Nirvana, Radiohead are clear influences along with classical musicians such as Richard Wagner and Wolfgang Mozart. The influences of Rage Against The Machine and Nirvana are evident through the guitar playing. The influence of Radiohead is clear through the vocals. The influence of Richard Wagner and Wolfgang Mozart are shown in the piano playing.

As time has passed, and Muse has grown older, Muse's sound has evolved and become much more original and distinctive. There are little guitar effects on this album compared to their later releases, the guitar work is a lot more straight forward, and edgier. However, the dynamics and arrangements on this album are very original. Some of the songs have a lot more to offer than the typical verse, chorus, verse, chorus ... or the typical quite, loud, quite technique.

For some time now I have believed that Matt Bellamy is the best musician of his generation. Matt is an excellent guitar player for so many reasons; he has created excellent and original guitar riffs on all of his albums. He has great solos that demonstrate his ability to understand and use effects pedals as well as his own techniques. He is also a great piano player and singer. But most importantly he is an amazing songwriter. He has always been able to transform his emotions into poetry and tie that with fantastic lyrics. It is also evident that Matt knows how to create hooks in songs in order to draw the listener in. Muse has also evolved over the years, experimenting with different genres such as punk, heavy metal, and electronica to name a few. Muse have also tackled and released many thought and emotions, covering love, politics, and space to name a few. The most impressive aspect of this record along with all of the other Muse albums is the level of consistency. Muse has already established a huge catalogue of amazing songs.

There are no weak tracks on this album which is a rarity. Most albums, even the so called CLASSIC albums have weak tracks. For example, Pearl Jam's `Ten' has a few weak that include `Garden' and `Deep'. However I still believe that `Ten' is an excellent album. However this is just a better album. There is a high level of consistency. I can happily listen to this album from start to finish without wanting to skip any tracks.

Best Tracks:
Muscle Museum
Falling Down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2014
I have recently become a huge Muse fan, after being a fan for years, but having not heard their earlier albums. I love this album as it is do different to the complex songs now produced by Muse and you can see how much talent they had and how they clicked together as a group at such a young age. The band is roughly the same age as me and my husband, and it really takes me back to my younger years, and I can imagine them touring with these tracks and how much fun they must have had.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2016
Another great cd, only got in to Muse the past couple of years & now I love them. Super cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2018
When they still knew how to play :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2017
great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)