Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Very Best Of Anthony Newley
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 August 2017
It is in good condition and plays okay. A good buy at a good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
You're probably aware of shameless record company greed but this is ridiculous. This is not the 'very best' of Anthony Newley. Not the 'best' or even the okay. It is in fact the second reissue of the worst studio album he ever made ("Too Much Woman"), able to be cunningly passed off as a "best of" because it contained some rotten re-recordings of his most famous songs. One glance at the selectively familiar track-list and the unsuspecting Sunday shopper may be leaving the supermarket with something that will shortly be sharing black plastic bag space with a tuna tin.
Begrudgingly, I do have to say that if you're already aware of Newley's genius and have a twisted interest in the truly awful, then this issue is the one to own as it's the only edition to include some passable bonus tracks. Two from his studio cast recording of "Fiddler on the Roof" and four from a rare minor-stars-sing-Broadway budget album. Unlike the woeful "Too Much Woman", these feature a big orchestra and Newley warbling with a grin as cheesy as his bow-tie and flowered lapel. Of course, that fascinating grin was always on the edge of a pained grimace.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
This CD contains all those Newley hits I remember from the late 50's, 60's (childhood memories) including "children's favourites" such as Pop Goes The Weasel, That Noise as well as his ballads What Kind Of Fool Am I, Do You Mind. Good sound quality, nice selection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2010
I've wanted some Newley for a while now as I can remember me and a mate of mine listening to him in the late fifties on a Dansette! Remember seeing "Idol on Parade" at the cinema as well. This compilation met all my expectations. Good clear original soundtracks.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2007
ANTHONY NEWLEY STARTED OUT IN THE MID 50`s AND HAD LOADS OF HITS,WITH HIS UNMISTAKABLE LONDON VOICE GIVING A UNIQUE SOUND TO HIS MUSIC.HAVING A RELAXED AND EASY GOING TYPE OF VOICE HE INFLUENCED MANY SINGERS THROUGH THE 60`s TO THE PRESENT DAY.STARTING OUT IN THE U.K AND THEN MAKING IT BIG IN THE U.S.A. THIS C.D SHOWS HOW GOOD HE WAS. IT`s A GOOD C.D WITH ALL HIS REALLY WELL KNOWN SONGS ON. MANY A SINGER HAS RECORDED "WHAT KIND OF FOOL AM I"BUT THERE CAN ONLY BE NEWLEY`s VERSION THAT STANDS OUT ON TOP,AND THEN TAKE LITTLE DITTIES LIKE "BEE BOM" A SIMPLE AND PURE SONG SUNG WELL.A MUSICAL TALENT THAT WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN WHILE THERE ARE PEOPLE OUT THERE WHO LIKE PURE,SIMPLE AND WELL SUNG SONGS,THAT SOUND AS CRISP AND CLEAR TODAY, AS THE DAY IT WAS RECORDED.THIS C.D IS VERY WELL PRICED,AND WELL WORTH ADDING TO YOUR COLLECTION.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
A wonderful mix of love songs and old favourites. I particularly love "Pop goes the weasel" and "Strawberry Fair"
I can introduce my Grandchildren to this.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
I have always loved Anthony Newley - I think it's his cheeky grin, but he was enormously talented which many people didn'r fully realise. He was far better than the bit parts he used to play when he was younger and this came to the fore when he started to write music.

I would not be without this in the car, I play it all the time - I prefer his more serious songs but the comic ones are good too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
How songs used to be presented; fun and clear diction, so different to most of the modern pop rubbish. Can be listened to with pleasure and often.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Good quality music well packaged and so many of the old songs I used to love in the days when I couldn't afford to buy separate records.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Do You Mind?
£3.46
Greatest Hits
£20.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)