Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Decided to listen to not so well known tracks, from BOC, and was not disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
What an album. Serious rock for anyone who appreciates the finer art of good lyrics and exceptional lead, bass and rhythm guitar!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2016
This album is a great snapshot into the world of B.O.C., they are a band that threw out the rules of different styles of music, they played every variant of Rock then went into old cinema scenery and played the theme. Often Horror was a source of ideas for BOC but only to be expected from a band who's biggest hits are Godzilla, Don't fear the Reaper and Joan Crawford, with ETI along the way.
They wrote in a musically cinematic way painting pictures in the mind.
Sit back and enjoy a band who dared to be different
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 26 January 2011
I tried this CD out, as I knew very little of the 'Cult'. One of those bands whose intrigue was more in evidence than their music.

I had feared a one-hit-band, with their seminal 'Don't Fear the Reaper' or that all their material was a wedge-like sort of metal that the cover might imply. I'd say that most of it falls under 'rock' veering into the heavy side on occasion but still quite melodic and high production values means a clear, wide, sound. It has become an occasional favourite of mine now, as it's all quite listenable plus half a dozen tracks that I really relish.

Not being a fan very long, I can't comment on material that's not included. The sheer musicianship, great overlaying of guitars, bass and drums that add creatively to each track and the vocalist Eric Bloom, has a decent, strong rock voice, one that doesn't need to shout or scream the lyrics out.

The range of tracks is good and fairly wide and the number of them (16) means we don't end up with fillers and gaps. If you're still into your CDs, like I am, a consistent, concise album is important. The CD also comes with a fairly generous biographical booklet, though most of it is in black and white.

For the price and the quality of the product inside, a must for anybody even slightly intrigued - as I was!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Fantastic songs from the carefree days of the early seventies the music just as I rembered the sounds remindering ol the lazy hot days of the seventies it just brought all the good times of being young with no worries o boy I wish I could turn the clock back.anyway just great sounds buy a copy its so cheap.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 December 2002
As a cheap & cheerful introduction for the uninitiated you can't go far wrong with this excellent trawl through the vast & varied
catalogue of one of the USA's finest exports.Diehard fans will bemoan the absence of such Cult classics as "Dominance & Submission","Career of Evil","Divine Wind" & "E.T.I",but this CD provides a great overview of the band's first dozen years or so.Most first time buyers will come to this only knowing the classic "Don't Fear the Reaper",which still remains a definitive moment in BOC's career & which launched them on the path of stardom & notoriety, but there are plenty more treats in store.From the opening rocker "Cities on Flame" the beautiful & haunting "I Love the Night" to the staggering "Astronomy" & the hits "Burnin' For You" & "Joan Crawford",this is a compilation that oozes class.Here you will experience the Cult's singular blend of gothic horror,sinister wit,inventive & unique music & best of all the truly awesome guitar heroics of Donald "Buck Dharma" Roeser.Buy this & become converted to the majesty of the original & one true Cult.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Covering a band such as Blue Oyster Cults career on 1 CD will always be an impossible task,this compilation does a good job,The famous tracks are here 'Reaper,Godzilla and 80's hit Burnin For You,probably the only tracks casual listeners would be aware of.

The rest classic album tracks from the early,late 70's and early 80's,3 distinct phases in the bands career.

Heavy hitters like Cities on Flame...,Take Me away show the heavy side of the band while the pop sensibilties are covered by the likes of In Thee/Ilove The Night & Burnin For You,elsewhere a variety of styles are covered,Goin Thru The Motions,Astronomy,Shootin Shark,Black Blade etc.All in all a pretty diverse set of tracks to whet the appetite,

A decent place to start.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
OK, let's deal with this straight away: the (pseudo) title track is great fun and could be part of an ageing rocker's "soundtrack to youth". But, that would be to insult the rest of this compilation. BOC were a good band and not inconsiderable musicians, each. This is a fun album with many great tunes and - for a personal effect - is great in the car when on a long journey. It is what we used to call good "trucking music". Good value and great delivery service - as usual from Amazon.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
Bought this because I'm a Godzilla fan and liked their take on the Godzilla theme (via Planet Rock). However the rest of the album is pretty awful - I am listening as I type. Just drudgery and boredom, typical USA Boston type rock, all harmonies and high voice vocals and endless rambling songs that do nothing for me and frankly are good for nothing, not even ironing to. Shame, because Godzilla is pretty good - but even there I feel with a little more thought and effort they could've done a bit more with the song. In my opinion this album is the rock equivalent of stodge and at least stopped me from wasting my money on any more of their albums. Ah, its finished....
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£6.45

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)