Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2004
I first bought this album in 1973 when it first came out and it is still being played in my house today. Every track is a winner and Ferry has chosen the covers so well from such a wide range of sources that obviously influenced him - The Beatles, Motown/Smokey Robinson, Dylan, The Beach Boys, Rolling Stones etc. - but still manages to bring a fresh interpretation to them so they don't sound dated even now. You can take one song and trace it back to it's original version and, assuming you've never heard stuff by them before, you open up whole new panaromas of music. And the front cover pic is cool epitomised - I've been wishing I looked that good ever since
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
This is perhaps Ferry's greatest album of cover versions of great songs, chosen with great care and excellent taste. All the songs are wonderful classics in their own right, and Ferry adds to them his own interpretation and style without detracting from the originals at all. This is not easy to do, but Ferry succeeds because her clearly respects the original versions, and brings his own unique creativity to bear on the performances. This is one record I have listened to over and over again without tiring of it. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2003
If you love Bryan Ferry then this album is a must!!
This is super cool at his best!! I cannot tell you how many times I play this album!! These Foolish Things, the title track is so atmospheric. River of Salt so full of feeling.
Then there are the more upbeat Dont Ever Change and Its my Party.
Listen to this album...you will love it!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
"These Foolish Things" is an absolute blast of an album - Bryan is obviously having a great time in the studio recording it. For the first but not the last time he improves on an original song with his version of Dylan's "A Hard Rains A-Gonna Fall", and although the same can almost be said for the title track "These Foolish Things", of all the many versions by various artists, only Billie Hollidays probably just shades it - though it is Bryan's that sticks in my mind. "River Of Salt" is a beautiful little song that resonates with it's simplicity and is equally beautifully performed. Bryan at his most 'camp' can be found singing "It's My Party" and "Baby I Don't Care"; there is a decent version of the Stones' "Sympathy For The Devil" and Smokey Robinson's heart felt "Tracks Of My Tears". The energy of "Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever" and "Don't Ever Change" are addictively charming, and the efforlessly listenable "You Won't See Me" is a great little track which stays with me long after the album is off the player. "I Love How You Love Me" has Bryan totally relaxed performing this great little song, while "Piece Of My Heart" and "Don't Worry Baby" make up the other songs on this delightful album.

I believe the remastering is not quite up to the standard of the other BF or RM releases and although the sleeve contains lyrics to the songs, there are some errors e.g. a lot of lyrics are missing from the title track which is a shame. But you would buy this album for a great listen, and Bryan delivers as always.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
Don't buy this old classic album if you want to hear Roxy Music sounds! It's not even close to a Roxy album, however it is without doubt one of the best covers of great songs done in a voice that ALL Roxy fans will appreciate as, simply unique! Yes Bryan Ferry simply oozes class on this album and songs such as the title track, These Foolish Things, I love How You Love Me, Baby I Don't Care and many others are done with the class and taste of what you would expect from the master of cool!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
This is a hugely entertaining album with about three or four genuinely great tracks (A Hard Rain's a-Gonna Fall, River of Salt, The Foolish Things) and the rest are just kind of fun. For example there's no way that Bryan could ever add anything much to Brian (Don't Worry Baby), nor to the legendary recording of the Stones' Sympathy. Yet even so it's fun to hear him try. (I'm really intrigued by the alternate lyric that he sings on Don't Worry Baby.)

"These Foolish Things" has a slightly ineffective start but after that it's a masterpiece of turning something cheesy back into cool. Great lyrics and great tune, made better by Ferry's uncertain pitching on the title phrase and by Paul Thompson's bristling drums, which counter-intuitively are very bouncy for a song you'd be tempted to treat with gorgeous languour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2009
I bought this in 1974 in LP form and played it all summer. It hasn't dated and the music is as unique and original as ever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Bryan Ferry wrote most of the songs for Roxy Music, but it seems there was still work left that he could not play with the band. Some originals on this album, but lots of covers, and wonderful ones, even though one could have thought that the definitive versions of those had been recorded before, which Bryan ferry proves not to be true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2012
I've had this album since it was released and never tire of listening to it. The mix of tracks is unusual but I've grown to love every one of them and their play order. My favorite has to be the title track, which I've compared to other versions - it's both haunting and evocative of an earlier age. A master piece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I bought this as a 33rpm back in the day and hadn't played it for years
When I did it was jumping with scratches so I invested in the CD
Should have done it years ago
Ferry brings all the cover versions to life excellent listening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)