Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Fuzzy
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
Fuzzy
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 9 July 2017
The music speaks for itself!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 October 2003
Grant lee Phillips is a unique talent. Whilst all around him was grunging away, he and his bandmates came up with this slice of sometimes tender, sometimes vitriolic neil young flavoured rock.
Combining personal anger at the state of things (America Snoring, Stars n' Stripes) with great narratives (Jupiter and Teardrop, Dixie Drug Store) this album has many different facets, although stand out track is probably Fuzzy, with its gentle acoustic guitar intro, dazzling falsetto chorus and stinging guitar solo.
The later albums are good but this has to rate as one of the best and most original debut albums in my CD collection!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2005
...has never really caught on over here, which is a shame, as he's a superb song-writer, and has the most beautiful voice.
This, GLB's debut album, is still my favourite of them all. It contains plenty of gorgeous moments (Jupiter and Teardrop, Soft Wolf Tread, The Hook), and the narrative lyrics are great too. But, it's really Grant's vocals that hook you in, at points awfully fragile, then almost forceful in his delivery of certain lines. GLB and Phillips himself are the sort of band/songwriter who will gain loads of recognition after they have ceased to exist, rather than fame and glory in their day.
Forget the bland singer-songwriter trash that we are producing at the moment (Melua, Stone, Beddingfields 1 and 2, Dido), and go straight to the heart of Grant Lee Buffalo and their beautiful songs. This is the best album of theirs to start with.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2001
From bracing and explosive to tender and vulnernerable, Grant Phillip's vocal abandon breathes real life into this enviable collection of layed back tales, always with an enchanting sense of passion and intimacy. Throughout this involving album, seemingly themed around the demise of love and tradition, Phillips doesn't spare his extraordinary ability to lure you inside each and every song, the refreshingly simple backings oblige, with adequate space for the listener and for the abundance of elegant harmonies. Buy this album now.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2000
Not many people here in Europe have heard of this LA-based band, but I think it's about time you do. This is the music I've always been searching for, it is in fact the soundtrack of my life and I have no idea how GLB manage to do it, but they write music that makes your skin crawl (in a good way that is), and I'm so glad I got to know it. The voice of Grant-Lee Phillips is extraordinary, just listen to Stars 'n' Stripes and you'll hear for yourself. Jupiter and Teardrop, Fuzzy, The Hook... all the songs on this album tell their own story and will touch you from within. And don't forget to buy Mighty Joe Moon, another great album from GLB!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2005
I heard this album about 10 years ago after seeing the band perform "fuzzy" on Later with Jools holland, from the very first track on the album you will be hooked. His voice is amazing, like Rufus Wainright but more rock not as polished. GLB is an awesome songwriter and i'm amazed they didnt do more in the UK. Every person i have played the album to has been confused as to why they had never heard them before, they are that good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 1999
I first heard GLB on the Later show hosted by Jools Holland - they mesmerised me - no rock poses, just a magnetic stage presence. GLB are not marketed at all (unlike many other US rock cliche bands)so not many people have heard of them - but give fuzzy a try - Jupiter and Teardrops is so gorgeous, a musical version of Badlands or the Executioners Song. Love.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2006
is the only way to describe this album, the intelligent and poignant lyrics had me hooked from the first time I heard it. I would recommend GLB to anyone whatever their personal taste in music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2002
I love this album for the vivid images the music conjures up in my mind. Opening with the sensational The Shining Hour, full of energy with a darker undertone it is followed by Jupiter and Teardrop, telling the story of two lovers in a passionate, moving way. This CD also contains such gems as Fuzzy, The Hook and You Just Have to be Crazy. Not to be missed is also the fabulous Dixie Drug Store. It is wonderful to find a band with such varied subjects for their lyrics and wonderfully original tunes. I really love this album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2011
In its time,this album really offered something different. On the cusp of showing its age now, it retains a poetic rawness that is addictive and melodic riffs that will not shake loose.
'Fuzzy' wails heartbreak whilst 'Jupiter and Teardrop' is so achingly poignant that it's painful to listen to.
It's not an album to help realign your chakra, but it does reach for your emotions in order to pull them out through your ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Jubilee
£21.26
The Narrows
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)