Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2016
The original CD release of this album was appalling, thin, weak and lacking punch, a very poor representation of this seminal album. The remaster corrects this, delivering a very well balanced mix that shows the great talent and freshness that Faith No More brought to the rock world at their peak. The second disc collects some odds and ends that are all worthwhile, though it's a shame the classic Perfect Crime from Bill & Ted is not included (Sweet Emotion, an early, rougher version with different lyrics is).

It's a shame we've had to wait 25 years for justice to be done to the album on CD (the original vinyl was fine... it sounded like THIS in fact), which has probably cost FNM the recognition they deserve amongst younger generations as the band that reinvented and reinvigorated "Heavy Metal", opening it up to a wider audience and creating the space in which Nirvana, Soundgarden, NIN etc could grow. Hopefully a new generation of fans will discover it now.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
One of their best but still not entirely convinced by the Rap/Metal crossover
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2002
This is the big one, the album that turned FNM into the pop stars that they never wanted to be, through hit singles such as 'Epic', 'Falling To Pieces' and 'Form Out Of Nowhere'. However, despite the enormous commercial success, this is still one absolute corker of an album, for me one of the best albums of the 1980s. As Mike Patton's first release with the band, it seems like he felt he had a point to prove coming into the band late, and he certainly proved it. Every song on here is first class, from the awesome eight-minute-plus title track, to the note-perfect cover version of Black Sabbath's classic 'War Pigs'. There's not much more to say about it really; everyone knows what FNM sound like. Basically, if you're into any sort of rock or metal, you need to have this album in your collection. Simple as that
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2000
What can I say? This is the masterpiece that introduced me to Faith No More 11 years ago, and it's still one of my favourite albums ever. The band had just replaced singer Chuck Mosley with new frontman Mike Patton, who then wrote new lyrics to accompany the tunes the band already had, and the result was astounding. Pattons wide vocal range - from soft & mellow to piercing & diamond edged - simply electrifies this collection of near-perfect music.
Opening track 'From Out Of Nowhere' kicks in with thumping drums and cool riffs, and you know it's gonna be good.
'Epic' changes the tone with Patton varying between semi-rap verses & a powerful chorus, before 'Falling To Pieces' picks up where track 1 left off - you know where Faith No More are coming from.
But suddenly 'Suprise! You're dead' crashes out of your speakers, with hard metal guitars, and hoarse screeching vocals. The first listen is uncomfortable, but you soon realise this is as good as any track here.
A sweet melodic guitar riff (courtesy of Big Jim Martin) brings you into more new territory with 'Zombie Eaters', a great little homage to the trouble that babies cause...
Then comes the real stand out track - 'The Real Thing'. Perfect, complex drumming, & swelling keyboards, build into a punchy track about drug abuse, veering from beutiful melodies to kicking rock, with Patton really getting a chance to shine.
The bouncy, happy tempo of 'Underwater Love', padded out with a cool & funky bass, manage to mask the darker meanings of the lyrics, 'The Morning After' is simply great Faith No More, before Patton takes a breather for the keyboard-led instrumental 'Woodpecker From Mars'.
The last 2 pieces (both technically bonus tracks, as they are not included in the original vinyl release) assualt from opposite corners. 'War Pigs', a cover of the Black Sabbath classic, is true metal, performed with skill, style, and utmost respect for the original. Ozzy should be proud.
FNM finish off with 'Edge of The World', a beuatiful tune, with Pattons voice dreamily bouncing along to the jazzy piano accompaniment...
The Real Thing assaults the senses, emotions, and ears. At turns sweet, vicious, soft, jagged, pure, and raw - and when the smoke finally clears, you'll come straight back for more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I bought this as I hadn't heard it for nearly 20 years and felt like re-discovering FNM. So glad I did - this sounds as fresh as it did when it was first released and is just as fab.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2003
The first Faith No More album to feature the vocal talents of Mike Patton is, quite simply, a corker.
Tracks like ‘From out of Nowhere’, ‘Falling to Pieces’ and ‘The Morning After’ are instant rock classics, the keyboards giving them a somewhat orchestrated feel. ‘Epic’ is distinctly funky, coming complete with a disco groove and hip-hop influenced vocals. ‘Surprise! You’re Dead’ is the heaviest song on the album, while ‘Zombie Eaters’ and the title track are carefully built up epics. ‘Underwater Love’ has a dreamy feel to it, ‘Woodpecker From Mars’ is a crazy instrumental, there’s an excellent cover of Sabbath’s ‘War Pigs’ and the album closes with the similarly brilliant mock ballad, ‘Edge of the World’.
Although all the musicianship is near perfect, it is Mike Patton’s vocals that stand out. Not quite as weird as on his later work, they are still very distinctive, whether he is singing, chanting or showing off his deranged croon.
Everyone should own this superb piece of music history. More influential than Nirvana? Possibly…
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
I'm with the other 3 star reviewer here. Having recently got the very good Sol Invictus and been revisiting all their previous albums after a year or two of not listening to them much, to my ears TRT doesn't stand up as well as the others in 2015. It's a good album but lacks the diversity and punch of the subsequent three. Crucially, Mike Patton's vocals here are relatively nasal and one dimensional compared to his performances on everything that came afterwards. For newbies who don't know FNM and who appreciate eclecticism spread across one album I'd say check out the rest before this one. If you prefer more straight ahead hard rock then this might be more your bag.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
I love this album, and have been listening to it for years and always felt production wise, it lacked the power it could of had! Well, I listened to this deluxe edition under heavy scrutiny, both through my stereo speakers and expensive headphones , and to my ears...it sounds great!
Its not distorted, all the one volume, or " brickwalled" at all to my ears. I have fell victim to many cds over the years that do sound that way and are too loud. For example most the 2009 Rolling Stones remasters, the Kiss Millenium compilation, and the infamous Metallica Death Magnetic CD both with everything turned all the way up, sounding distorted and it hurts my ears! Unlistenable!
This does not sound like any of those at all. I recommend this to any fan of this album, because if like me you wished for a sonic improvement of this album, you will be happy with this!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
The first to feature (the genius) Mike Patton on vocals, it is a consistently brilliant record. Crunching guitars, pounding drums, booming basslines, fantastic synth/keyboard harmonies, and the greatest vocalist of all time combine to superb effect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
This is the first album that FNM recorded with their new singer Mike Patton and what a breathe of fresh air he was compared to Chuck Moseley. On this album Mike Patton injects all the songs with his nervous, strangulated vocal style that compliments the music. My favourite tracks are "Underwater Love" "Falling To Pieces" "The Morning After" " The Real Thing" and there's a blistering cover of Black Sabbath's "War Pigs". I have to admit that I hated FNM when I first heard them on the radio, but I remember listening to the track "Epic" and that haunting piano solo at the end of the track stuck in my mind. This was a band that had the power and excitement of hard rock but the attitude of the music prevented them from being lumped into the HEAVY METAL category. There is just one instrumental on The Real Thing, "Woodpecker From Mars" and some will find it a bit manic but its only a FNM freak-out. Its funky, its heavy metal, its soulful, its all these things and much,much more...one of the most memorable and innovotive albums of the last decade. Its....The Real Thing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)