Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
11
Miss Marple / Lancelot / Force 10
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 12 August 2013
Ron Goodwin`s master stroke theme music to the four Miss Marple films from the early 1960`s is timeless. To combined the Harpsichord with a full orchestra may not be so unusual but to then add kit drums and pull off such a great timbre of sounds with a catchy melody creates an ideal atmosphere to the nostalgic classic films. This is a just over 20 minute arrangement of the main theme tune with music fragments from the four films beautifully arranged to make a one movement suite. The recording is of very high quality, the string section sings out with clarity. The other 2 tracks are good but represent full score film score music of it`s day, it really is the originality of the "Marple Theme" that makes this CD worth the purchase even if you need to pay slightly over the odds or maybe purchase a used recording to get hold of this, you won`t be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2011
I have always had a soft spot for the acting talents of the late great Margaret Rutherford. She was never better than in the series of four MGM "Miss Marple" films, which are also available on DVD. I have been a fan of the music as much as the films themselves so to finally find a CD with the Marple stuff on from the maestro Ron Goodwin was a dream come true. For fans of Goodwin, soundtracks and Rutherford, this is a rare find and a worthy addition to any collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2013
I downloaded this primarily because it contained Goodwin's theme melodies from the Margaret Rutherford 'Miss Marple' series. The Lancelot and Force 10 From Navarone are extra Goodwin goodies and contributes to over an hour's comfortable listening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2015
What can I say that has not already been said, Everybody has giving this a great reviewe, and they are all spot on.
Get it as fast as you can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant tracks superb composer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
Excellent service and product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2004
It's a bit of an understatement to say that I'm absolutely delighted to find this CD. I've been a great fan of Ron's music ever since I heard the theme to Miss Marple as a child and immediately fell in love with it. Here, it's been re-recorded with the man himself conducting the Odense Symphony Orchestra, heading a Miss Marple symphonic suite of music from all the wonderful Margaret Rutherford films, in addition to Lancelot & Guinevere and Force 10 From Navarone.
However, don't mistake this album as just another 'theme' CD. Ron's rearrangements of his music in symphonic form are a further stroke of his rare genius, lifting the music out of the 'theme' category and into the highest realms of symphonic composition and prove, if proof be needed, just what a great composer he is.
Produced in Germany by Ron Goodwin himself, the recording quality is excellent, though the meagre CD notes, in not very good English, don't appear to have been proof-read (typos), but that's a really minor quibble.
If I could, I'd give this ten stars. One of those rare CD's that remain at the top of the list for a lifetime. Gorgeous music by the maestro. What more could you want?
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2004
When MGM contracted Ron Goodwin to write the score for Margaret Rutherford's four "Miss Marple" feature films in the 1960s they cannot have imagined how memorable the composer's catchy harpsichord themes would become. Indeed, MGM placed so little value on Goodwin's original scores that they were destroyed soon after the films were completed. This CD features a painstaking reconstruction of the film music tracks, assembled by Goodwin himself, who sat through each movie taking careful notes of his original compositions. The end result is a splendid reinterpretation of the originals, closely following the original scores. As an added bonus, Goodwin includes themes from "Lancelot & Guinevere" and "Force Ten From Navarone", but it is the "Miss Marple" suite which will stir memories of Miss Rutherford's magnificent collection of chins and her screen outings as Britain's most eccentric lady detective.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2003
The well known miss marple music in a great hifi sound on this cd is great to listen to.
The first number is a collection of the music of the four marplefilms together in a almost twenty minutes symphony.
The various tracks are each splendid orchestrated with a firm grip on the original sounds of the movies.
The fact that Ron Goodwin this all remembered from earlier days and brought it ones again into live orchestation is a great achievement.
It makes me everytime i listen to it very happy.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2005
What fun! I discovered this CD while searching amazon.uk for things that amazon doesn't have here in the USA. Like the old Miss Marple films, the CD makes me smile. I bought two copies so I could surprise a friend of mine who is also a Miss Marple fan. The story behind the making of the CD is also very interesting. I think I'll have a "small beer" while I listen to it again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)