Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
45
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
32
4 star
13
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2017
😊
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Perfect nostalgia!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2007
The Pixies were an unusual band. They have been named as one of the most influential bands of all time yet, like the Beatles, no one actually honestly sounds like they did. A unique prospect, many would argue. And this album came at the end of their natural life, in 1991 - the same year as Kurt Cobain's Nevermind - and again showed the world what a few misfits and geeks from MIT in Boston, Mass. could do with some guitars, a penchant for Spanish and aliens, and the most frantic frontman of the era.

Songs as strong as 'Alec Eiffel' (a song about the designer of the Eiffel tower - 'He thought big and they called it a phallic little eiffel'), 'Bird Dream of the Olympus Mons' ( a song about the highest mountain/volcano in the Solar System, found on Mars) and 'Motorway to Roswell' ( a song about an alien) cannot help but make this album one of the most amazing slices of punk-fuzz-pop ever heard, and I would recommend it heartily.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Love this album. Remember sitting in a class in 91 and talking to abother Pixies fan. Both mentioned it's heavier than their previous stuff. Play Loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
This album is a fantasic journey from the first note to the last.Each track takes you to a different place.Tracks like Distance = Rate x Time , and Head On and U Mass, really put this album up there with the best.The Pixies originallity and way of expressing themselves really is phenominal, and anyone who is interested in the Pixies should start with Trompe Le Monde.I Love It!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2000
Over the past years it seems the pixies are always mentioned as "very influential" etc. Yet many critics simply wrote(and continue to write off) trompe le monde as the weakest album. It is my humble opinion that anyone who actually listens to this album will be impressed beyond recognition. Who gives a toss if Charles/Frank/Black(or whatever else he decides to call himself) sings about UFOs and Mexicans, the end result is pure genius resulting in an extremely gifted songwriter approaching the peak of his career. At the end of it all I defy anyone to knock someone who can pull off singing a line like "oh alexander i see you beneath the archway of aerodynamics".
Buy it, you wont hear better
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2004
It took 10 years for me to "get" Trompe Le Monde, but when I did, I realised that this work of celestial genius could well be the Pixies' best. Their previous albums are faultless, but TLM distills all the various elements that made up their sound, reinterprets them yet again, and blows your mind with its creativity and energy.
It's definitely an album that needs time to sink in, but it will reward the effort thanks to layer after layer of imaginative songwriting and incredible musicianship from all four members of the band. There is such subtlety and detail in the drumming and the bass lines that you can listen over and over and discover new sounds each time.
Apart from the Pixies, I cannot think of a band that invests so much energy into their songs. The first six songs just belt out a relentless stream of Pixie noise, but it's impossible not to scream along with these catchy songs, with a huge grin on your face.
Love it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2005
Trompe le Monde is an aquired taste. Everyone's first Guiness tastes...well...afull, but matures to be exquisite. TLM goes beyond this sensation; it dazzles. An early NME journo accurately described it as 'a wall of noise with pockets of genius'. There are moments of appaling musical grime but, emerging from the ruins, come melody to which even John & Paul would nod their approval. Persevere, and this album will make your vocal chords strain as you sing 'Palace of the Brine' on the way home from work. History will shine most brightly on Trompe le Monde.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2001
Surfer Rosa will remain a classic, but Trompe Le Monde completes a logical progression through the Pixies material. It takes everything just one stage further (to '11', in Spinal Tap terms!). This is more rock. It's more sci-fi. It's more surf. It's just more PIXIES.
A split after this makes artistic sense, if not monetary. This is the Pixies formula pushed to the max. Love it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2007
fantastic album...the weird subject matter of the songs coupled with the almost poppy hooklines and awesome at times heavy guitar playing makes this one of my alltime favourite 'guitar albums' and certainly up there with the soft bulletin as one of the best albums of the nineties
check out 'planet of sound' it still blows my head off every time i hear it even after all these years - i nearly crashed my car when i 1st heard it on the radio....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)