Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2002
This album is a "must-have" in any blues collection. It is a wonderful selection of tracks which display King's immense talent for the blues guitar! We are also treated to mostly live tracks on this album, so one can hear the King live at work on stage, teaming up with such artists as Eric Clapton and George Terry. There is a good mix of slow and fast blues on this album -for example, we have "Further on up the road", a fast blues classic: King vs. Clapton in an improvisation showdown, followed by "Gambling Woman Blues", a slow thoughtful blues with wonderful contributions from George Terry (stunning slide guitar) and Clapton again. In this collection of tracks we are also exposed to King's funk influences, "Sugar Sweet", "Pulp Wood", "The woman across the river", "You can run but you can't hide" to name but a few. This album is definitely worth the buy! It is a constant member of my cd collection, and it shows all King's dimensions, from classic blues to funk, and has appealed to all lovers of blues I know.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2005
Freddie King is very rocky with a Texas style bluesman and this album really displays it. You can clearly see where guitarists such as Eric Clapton and Johnny Winter got some of their style from. This album is a great representation of his work with some great songs. For me as a young guitarist I would rate this as first class to any of the other blues influences and modern bands I have heard. Its an awesome album definately worth getting.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2009
Why is Freddie the third of the kings? BB & Albert are better known but why? This a great CD of a talent who should be much better known than some of his contemporaries. At under £4 this CD is worth any blues-fan's money, buy it and listen to some fabulous funky blues by a real master.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
I'd recommend this compilation to any fan of what I'd term `funky' Blues (some would say `rocky'). In this man's style you will hear the hard, Texas style of blues, like soul, there are different styles, geographically speaking. A fine compilation of Freddie King's work, for Blues Lovers!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I had this years ago and it was either lost in a house move or stolen (it was a party house), I bought it again recently and forgot just how good it is and for very little dough too, holds up really well against any of big Freddy's other albums even classics like "Freddy King Sings" or "My Feeling For The Blues". I'm really glad that the live tracks are such good quality too since Freddie is an artist who has been a serial victim of record labels putting out shoddy quality live recordings that don't match up to Freddie's brilliant performances here. Tasty.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
I love Freddie King, but this is not his best work. It's pretty plodding, derivative stuff compared with the great man at his best. Try the "King of the Blues" collection (the one with the dodgy painting on the cover) for some top late-period Freddie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
I'm no Freddie King afficionado, so cannot comment on how this album compares to others of his. However this was an affordable way to get to know a little more about the man's approach to the blues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2010
Freddie King has been a major influence to many guitarists, Eric Clapton included. Indeed, as the short sleeve notes state, his original tunes Hideaway and The Stumble became the test of any aspiring guitarists rite of passage. Knowing so, why are Freddies versions missing from this collection? Thus only 4 stars
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Great singing, great guitar from Freddie and his guests like Eric Clapton, live music does not get much better than this.
If you have to own a live album, love the blues, this is it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Great Album for true blues fans, this man has the voice and the ability to please. Nothing too over the top just great music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.22

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)