Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2006
Searching for the link between the burgeoning house and techno scene and the former wave of electronic pop, I came across E101 on the radio late one night. The song was Tell Me When The Fever Ended and I was captivated. If Yazoo had stayed together despite all the feuding and point-scoring for six years longer than they did, this is what it might've sounded like.

The first thing I noticed was Billie Ray Martin's emotive but subtle vocal qualities, singing of loss, regret and a whistfull experience that spoke of heartache and joy. Formed in Birmingham in the mid-eighties (a time when electro was experience a guitar-based backlash), E101 pulled together a good deal of what had gone before and added the embryonic Chicago house music of Fingers Inc and Marshall Jefferson to the Detroit techno of Juan Atkins and Derrick May to produce dance music with real subtlety and soul. They signed to London records and this is their debut (and only released) album.

Fever and the subsequent killer singles Talking With Myself and You're Walking are here but the album's other tracks stand up well too, especially Heading For The Night and Diamond Dove.

Even their name is interesting: Electribe has several connotations, denoting electronics and tribal following; 101 being part of a name of a classic Roland monosynth and also indicating intimacy: one-on-one.

Despite supporting Depeche Mode and Erasure (at the Wild! party at Milton Keynes), E101 never broke through to sustained big-time success. They demoed and recorded a second album for London which the label declined and they were dropped soon after. Billie went solo, releasing her fabulous debut Deadline For My Memories in 1995 on Magnet and the three blokes went onto form The Groove Corporation. BRM is still a major talent and I'm still one of her biggest fans.

What more can I say? Buy this album!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
Low key basslines with the off-key cabaret vocals of Billie-Ray Martin. Unusual combination ideal for late-night background music. Still doesn't sound dated, 12 years on. A real smooth modern classic.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2004
Stunning. Classic, early UK house with a Euro feel. Well ahead of it's time. Loved by those in the know! Deservably broke through to the mainstream but didn't sell out!
Beautiful, gut-wrenching sounds, draped in emotional, electro-licks.
If you know your stuff, you'll know E101 anyway, if you're don't BUY NOW and immerse yourself.....
e
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Imagine Aretha Franklin backed by Kraftwerk! Electribe 101 were a UK synth-funk band from Birmingham with German songstress Billie Ray Martin on vocals. They produced intense dance pieces in an idiom variously described as "deep house", "trance dance" or "hypnosoul." The single Talking With Myself gave them a UK hit in 1990. Distinguished by captivating lyrics, songs such as Tell Me When The Fever Ended and Lipstick On My Lover are perfect vehicles for Ray's icy cool voice. A little aloof perhaps, but this is an accomplished album that oozes class.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
Having heard the main track; talking with myself, on some compilation or other, I checked this out on Spotify and decided to buy it. It was then that I realised that I couldn't find it in any record shops here or in America. Eventually I had to settle for a 'used copy' from Amazon.

It's perfect, just like new. The album itself is rather excellent. Great driving or chilling music. Billie Ray Martin, the vocalist, has such a mesmerising voice. What a shame that they disbanded after this their first and only album. The genre of 'electronic' is a ittle misleading as I would put it more into a sort of jazz/trance fusion category if one existed. Maybe I'm wrong. Anyway, worth adding to your collection even if only to play in the background when you are doing other things.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2005
I was lucky enough to see Electribe 101 play live as a warm-up to Depeche Mode in the early 90s where I basically heard this album for the first time. Back in the days when tape or vinyl was the big seller I bought it on tape but sadly lost it over the years. A top album with classic old house tunes..Billy Ray's vocals are unmistakable and this album certainly didnt get the recognition it trully deserved. Like the previous reviewer...its an album ahead of its time and still sounds fantastic!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
This is a fantastic album, not just because it holds great memories for me of dancing the night away in a long since defunct dance club in Deptford South London but also for the brilliant composition of each track and the shear brilliance of Billy's voice. crystal clear and shot with emotion and soul. Upbeat and, in some tracks, frantic but definatly not mediocre. 'Tell me when the fever ended' is anthemic in sound and 'Diamond dogs' is sultry and slick. This album is a journey through classic electric dance music. I can't recommend it enough, If you want to discover the true definition of early electro club dance music then get youself a copy of this album, you won't be dissapointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2005
What can I say. I had this album on tape in the early 90's when it first came out, and played it over and over. Now atlast I have the CD. You're walking is probably the most hair raising tune and compares to the likes of Massive Attack - Unfinished Sympathy. It's shame their isn't more of this band to listen to. Billie Ray Martin had huge potential.
If you like Massive Attack you will probably love this album. Go for it and you wont regret it !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2009
Electribe 101 were at the very forefront of quality British music, and after hearing this cd after a very long absence,I can confirm that they are still there for me......this'll live forever!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
The cd is scratched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£11.94
£18.50

Need customer service? Click here