Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
25
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Piano
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 March 2017
Very good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Pleasantly soothing music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
it arrived very quickly and all was fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2001
It is difficult to describe what makes this CD so perfect. There are no lyrics to quote, there doesn't seem to be anything quite tangible about what makes it one of my favourite CDs. But I can tell you that if you've heard some of the music and liked, you'll like the whole CD - for it keeps up an amazing standard throughout. There is not a single track that lets it down, and although it may sometimes be difficult to define the difference between the tracks, this doesn't make it repetative in any way, it just makes it easy to listen to in one big swoop. I have never seen the film The Piano,and I don't intend to, for I feel that the film could never live up to my expectations of the music. Also, if you can play the piano, then do get the sheet music for it, because the only thing more wonderful than listening to these perfect sounds is hearing them come from your own finger-tips. Buy the CD, buy the music book, and you will be truly happy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
The piano music is excellent on this CD though only just over half the 20 pieces are actually feature the piano, which is the nature of the film soundtrack I suppose. If you like smoochy film music the orchestral pieces are typical of the genre. Maybe I'll watch the film someday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2000
The music made for the film "The Piano" is absolutely thrilling. Its harmonious melody, especially of the main part, makes it one of the best soundtracks possibly ever written. It is just a wonderful and inspired piece of work. Magnificent music!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Inspirational tracks and a guide to compositional music. Nyman's music is perfectly balanced and appropriate in all of his film scores.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
I wanted some relaxing, background piano music for a massage class. This has a little of that, but sadly drowned out by screeching violins. The whole album is like a never-ending episode of Morse, and I found myself longing for a commercial break. Still, perhaps for the price of one penny I should not complain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
Loved the film. CD is wonderful. Music is rich and is true to the film. Very good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 1999
I am not a huge fan of classical type of music or instrumental music, but this cd really grew on me. There are a couple of extremely powerful and moving songs on this soundtrack that I could listen to over and over again. If you do buy this cd, you have likely heard most of the songs from the movie and know what to expect. Even so, I was still surprisingly taken by this recording. The piano playing is absolutely extraordinary in the emotions it evokes from the audience and/or the listener. There are a few numbers that are accompanied by other instruments, but the most forceful are those that feature Nyman playing solo. If you haven't seen this move, it is entirely worth it. You will fully understand why this cd is so wonderful.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Piano Album
£9.99
Peaceful Piano
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)