Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2011
As much of a classic as you're going to get with Dino Jr. This is the album where they had the polished production that everyone hated so much and which they promptly ejected and resumed their fuzzy under-produced gems for the next release. However it all adds a different element to the album and one that I think makes it endure. That and the fact that there is not one dud track.

'The Wagon' is a lazier kind of 'Freak Scene' but it is in all honesty just as good. I won't bore you with a track by track review but just to say that they vary widely from toe-tapping rockers to sho-gazing beauty, through racing punk and ending with good old Dino Jr grunge.

Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2001
People dont give this album enough credit. It was the link between the earlier, sonically diverse albums and the later more commercial albums (eg Where You Been). The songs are well put together, standout tracks being Water (one of the best Dino songs ever) and Thumb (excellent use of the flute sound). Just because this album was lighter and had acoustic tracks on it (flying cloud) doesnt make it any less superior to the other albums, but makes it a good introduction to the band and their style.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
This choice might be a little contoversial amongst the D.J. loving fraternity, however it needs to be aknowledged as an absolute masterpiece of an album. I am actually listening to their latest release (Farm) at the moment and casting a disparaging eye across the bounty of 5 stars reviews I can't help thinking that it needs to be more choppy and direct a la Green Mind - and the cover of the young girl smerking a tab is better than the Ents imho ! I will re-visit and re-listen to my D.J. collection but I suspect that Geen Mind will retain its position as top of my personal hit list. Fast, energetic and straight to the point - that's what I like.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2000
This album has received quite a lot of hostility from both the press and Dinosaur Jr fans in the past, but I think it is actually a very good album - a collection of solid songs with excellent riffs and melodies. The opener, 'The Wagon', is a classic, being both tuneful and tuneless at the same time, and the whole record has a sense of hope about it. This album doesn't really offer the variety of their earlier efforts such as 'Bug', or the more easily acceptable almost-commercial sound that followed it with albums such as 'Where You Been', but it is sort of unique, fusing elements of both the Barlow and post-Barlow years. For these reasons, it is a recommended addition to any rock fan's collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Quite simply my fab album of all time, must havE listened to it over a thousand times sine first hearing it twenty years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2000
Green Mind is the major label precursor to what many people believe is the quintessential slacker rock album, their 1993 cd Where You Been.
In a time when Nirvana were getting angry and Pearl Jam were getting whiny, Dinosaur Jr never refrained from dropping out.
Green Mind is a pleasing blend of laid back alternative rock with folk crossover. The stand out tracks are the electric 'How did you pin that one on me' and the maudlin 'Puke and Cry'. With this CD, the ever eclectic J Mascis shows that he has the potential to rock you to your very roots and still soothe you to sleep afterwards.
The CD is let down by the fact that the rock never quite rocks hard enough, however, as an introduction to a fine band that provided inspiration for much of the current US left field rock scene, this album is A OK. Although the CD will never reach the classic status of the now sadly deleted 'Where You Been' at mid price it is a must, this will never disappoint as it is slacker rock and never raises expectations.
Listen, like it and wear baggy T shirts a lot.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2017
A good cd with several stand out tracks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Excellent service and product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Superb indie rock n roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2000
Let's get this straight, I quite like Dinosaur Jr, but this is one of the worst records I've ever heard. It's whining, tuneless and goes no where. Even on first listen I found it hard to sit through. Buy "Bug" instead, it's miles better!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)