Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Arcade Fire Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2000
Everything about this album grabs you from the word go - the production is aggressive, the playing is unbelievably tight, the mix is perfect and the songs, with a couple of exceptions, are first class. Even the weaker songs, such as "I'm ready" and "What's it gonna be?" are acceptable.
The highlights here are "The only one", "Take me back", the title track, "Don't leave me lonely" and the first of BA's famous ballads, "Straight from the heart". The closing "The best was yet to come" is also a fine ballad, if a little sugary, and you'll end up wishing the album was longer than the rather miserly 35+ minutes - mind you, that was pretty much standard in the early '80s.
Anyone who likes Bryan Adams should not miss this album.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
I used to have this on vinyl many moons ago so I got this on CD as kind of a nostalgia trip and it turned out not too bad. Some numbers like Take me back, I'm ready and the title track are up there with his best although the ballads are quite sickly so make use of your skip function!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2004
The first thing I remember about this album was the title track being played at Live Aid , and BA getting the crowd to sing with him . There are nine cracking tracks on the album . Highlights must be the feelgood 'This Time' , the anthemic title track , and the balladry of 'The Best Was Yet To Come' . Go Geddit !!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
seriously people, if you're a BAD fan, this is the one to have...'straight from the heart' is easily the classic of classics from Bryan Adams. Compiled with several other hard rocking tunes, that can only belong to the one and only, Bryan Adams does well for this album at the end of the 80's era.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
The release of Cuts Like A Knife - Bryan Adams' third album - was, without question, a defining moment in his career. The established song-writing partnership of Adams & Jim Vallance fulfilled its early promise and lead guitarist Keith Scott's restrained tasteful playing helped to bring out the best in the (mainly) Adams-Vallance compositions. With six singles being taken from the album, it has an unashamedly commercial pop rock emphasis which makes it highly listenable. Although for many the best was yet to come with the follow-up (Reckless) this album also deserves to be considered a classic and BA didn't have long to wait for the massive success which Cuts Like A Knife more than hinted at - by now the stage was well and truly set!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Really getting into Bryan's music not just a pop star but quality songs performed well great live and it comes through on the studio recordings I've started to collect all his recordings highly recommended .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
I had this cd before but I was burgled and they took all my cd so I am having to replace all my Brian Adams cds the delivery very good and it plays well so very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I have always like Bryan Adams' music and thought I would give this a try. Not a bad track on here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Not the dice I had, it has a different sleeve picture
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
good item well worth the cost
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)