Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
Crusader
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 23 June 2017
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2001
To clarify what I mean by the title line - CdeB writes according to a limited set of styles, but he is a master of each of those. In the early part of his recording career he predominantly wrote ballads and stories, living up to his reputation as a modern day minstrel - a teller of tales. More recently he has been influenced (for better or worse) by the more commercial soft rock genre. The last 6 or so albums have been smoothly produced collections to a steady formula. Of the early albums, however, Crusader stands out as a treat to the senses - passionate, raw, melancholy, but most of all evocative. Listening to this music, you are struck by an almost cinematic sense of the drama in each track. The track "Crusader" itself is one of his epic works, here, as so often, set in a pivotal and romantic point in history. He is not afraid to make good use of rich orchestral textures where appropriate - harpsichord and oboe featuring prominently in the track. "The Girl with April in her Eyes" is a beautifully crafted folk legend in the style of the Brothers Grimm. Again the setting is 100% appropriate - mostly solo guitar emphasising the folky nature of the story. "Old Fashioned People" tugs at the heartstrings, not by the use of overworked cliches, but by a recurring and dramatic musical device (falsetto jump of a sixth in a minor key, to be precise!).
I could go on, but you'll think I am obsessed. Suffice it to say that I agree with the previous contributor and that, although he rarely performs any of these songs live any more, this is perhaps my favourite single album of all time.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
I only had this on tape, and it was getting stretched and scratchy. I was already hooked on this CD before I bought it. I have not been disappointed - vintage Chris de Burgh at his very best. What can you say about his music that hasn't been said before. There are no bad tracks on the CD - all well performed, well written, well backed and as I say no disappointment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2000
Chris De Burgh is not only a singer, song writer, but a poet. His songs tell a story, and entertain at the same time. The crusader album is one of his best, the songs are imaginitive, and even make refrences to previous albums. For De Burgh fans, this is a must. And if you have'nt heard his music then this is the one to buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Superb album fron Chris,s glory days. The title track is awsome dramatic and brilliantly written. I love the album as a whole and think its better overall than spanish train. Id definately reccomend as Chris de Burgh,s best work.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Yet another LP replacement, this 1979 album gave us the culmination of all his past releases. Power and pomp mixed with love and tenderness, intelligent songs and quality recording. Between a couple of low power songs you get six sentimental songs the menacing "Devils Eye" and the epic title track of almost 9 minutes add a couple of short 'reprise' tracks and you have a well balanced and enjoyable 44 minutes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2007
This CD is definately one of CdB's best. "Carry on" is a really lovely song, a really great tune with really strong vocals, especially through the chorus. "I had the love in my eyes" is a song quite a few of us can relate to. The French Horn solo at the end of it is so so beautiful, although i may be a bit biased considering I too play the French Horn. "The Girl with April in her Eyes" is CdB at his best, telling a moving story and putting it to such a wonderful tune. "The Devil's Eye" is an amazing song, such a good idea and so original! It came off superbly as always! The only other really outstanding song is "Crusader". This tells the story of the crusades in about five tunes, all so different but all powerful.

My only complaint is that "Crusader" is historical b*llsh*t. He got it ALL wrong. Richard the Lionheart did not capture Jerusalem. And Saladin's men would not have been drinking, they were muslim and did not drink alcohol! And Saladin was famed for being much more civilised than Richard I! However, its a damn good song so i'll overlook that :P

BUY THIS ALBUM!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Wha a wonderful way of story telling, he takes yo places with hi songs, it's a time travel, wonderful work of art specially that "girl with April in her eyes ",one you have listened to him yo are bound to get more of his albums, I have each and every album from him, what a delight, you cannot go wrong, have a listen and just click buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Early Chris De Burgh , he tells a story in every song finishing with the rousing epic "crusader" very good .
This CD is actually a replacement for a very old tape which was lost
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Sounds good, I am not familiar with the tracks yet and need to play it a few more times. I based my decision on reviews in Amazon and do not regret the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)