Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
45
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
love this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 September 2003
Always the showmen, always going that extra mile. Quite breath-taking when you first hear it. 2 completely different versions of "We Will Rock You". The opening one which attempts to knock you off your seat in it's intensity. Things never really let up from there on in.
"Death On Two Legs", "I'm In Love With My Car", "Get Down, Make Love" (weird!), and the extended "Now I'm Here" - and that'sjust the first half! Coupled with "Dreamer's Ball" & "'39" and you're salivating at the prospect of the second disc.
Things carry on nicely on the second disc too. The brilliant "Spread Your Wings" from NOTW, "Brighton Rock" with Mr May's solo work, and of course "Bohemian Rhapsody" - why did they never play the first section? Things come to a nice quiet(!) conclusion with a rabid version of "Sheer Heart Attack" follow of course by "... Rock You" & "...Champions".
Listening to this you find that some things never changed much over the years. On the other hand it's a good record of where they were in 1979, just before the synths put in their first appearance.
Very good stuff indeed. Play it loud!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
In excellent condition, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
had this on tape as a teenager; and now finally managed to download it - its a blast and as good as ever!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2003
It is widely accepted (quite rightly) that Queen were the best live act this planet has ever seen - Freddie's showmanship and Brians scarily good guitar playing to name but a few reasons for this. Much fuss has been made of Queen's World Tours of 1984 and 1986, again quite rightly. But in order to fully appreciate Queen as a live band, you have to come to Live Killers.
This double album released in 1979 is a mixture of performances of the band's European tour of that year. The production may not have been superb, but you do not lose any aspect of the pure raw energy that Queen produced on stage in the 1970's.
Right from the opening chords of the 'fast' version of 'We Will Rock You' it is easy to see this album will not disappoint. This is followed by Freddie's excellent 'Let Me Entertain You' (as if he needed any permission!) and straight into the snarled vitriol of 'Death On Two Legs (dedicated to...)' This then is followed by a nice medley which was a common feature of their tours in the 70's and to a lesser extent the 80's. The end chord of 'Death On Two Legs' moves smoothly into the classic 'Killer Queen' which in turn moves seamlessly into 'Bicycle Race', then into Roger's 'I'm In Love With My Car' with the drummer singing his own song. How exactly Brian gets his guitar to do what it does in 'Get Down Make Love' I'll never know, but Queen were still adamant they used "no synthesisers" at this time, so it's all Brian. John Deacon's hit 'You're My Best Friend" provides some light relief until Brian's classic rocker 'Now I'm Here' which features some of Freddies 'singing lessons' with the audience - always a favourite at the gigs. Then we have the band together stage front for the 'acoustic set' featuring the beautiful 'Love of My Life' (try listening to the crowd singing the verses and not feel a shiver), Brian's excellent '39' and 'Dreamer's Ball' with an interesting wind section... Then it's back to business as usual with the brilliant 'Keep Yourself Alive'.
'Don't Stop Me Now' and 'Spread Your Wings' keep things moving until the track which is my favourite on the album, 'Brighton Rock'. As Freddie says, it is a bit special. This is the only place you will find the full song live. However, it is Brian's excellent echo guitar solo (no, there aren't two other guitarists!) and some killer drumming from Roger too that really make this track. There really is only one song that could follow this and that is 'Bohemian Rhapsody'. The only way the band could do this effectively live was to use taped parts for the opera section and let their light show take over. This does not take away from the performance however, as you find out when the band come bursting back in for the 'headbanging' section. Some out and out rock with 'Tie Your Mother Down' and 'Sheer Heart Attack' and we come to what is the trademark Queen concert ender, 'We Will Rock You' and 'We Are The Champions' (they certainly are.) Brian's arrangement of 'God Save The Queen' plays us out and so end's Queen live.
This really is a superb album, and it more than rivals the more popular 'Live At Wembley 1986' or 'Live Magic', both from the same world tour. For me though, the true Queen experience is in their 1970's tours, and this is a prime example of their abilities on the stage. The only thing that would beat this would be if either their 1975 Christmas show, or the concerts at the Rainbow were brought out.
If you enjoy Queen's music, then this is a must (especially if you are new to the 70's stuff - think Greatest Hits vol.1 times about a million...it's THAT good!) If you have never heard Queen live, then give this a listen before you check out the more popular 80's shows, you won't regret it. If you are forming a band and want to know how to play live this is the one. All in all this is an essential addition to the collection of any fan of rock music. Pure majesty from the royal family of Rock
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Not a bad live album, not a brilliant one either. The performances are edited from numerous shows (a complete show with little to no editing would have made for a better album), the very loud 'bleeping' of expletives before 'Death In Two Legs' still grates on me after all these years, not very well mixed (despite these performance's being recorded on multi track tape). Sound quality is lacking on many tracks. On the plus side: The 2003 remaster has improved sound quality when compared with earlier CD and vinyl releases (though its still not that great a sounding album). It contains the stripped down 'vocals/acoustic guitar' arrangement of 'Love Of My Life' with wonderful crowd singing along at Freddie's request (one of the better recorded tracks). The inlay sleeve does a reasonable job of replicating the red and green artwork found on the original lp. Worth owning if you are a Queen completist. Casual fans would be better served by greatest hits vols 1 & 2 and perhaps a few studio albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 April 2006
This double live album captures Queen at the very end of the 70's at the height of their powers, before their increased reliance on synthesisers in the following decade. While being compiled from various concerts hampers the feeling of the flow of a real Queen show the sound quality is good (especially considering the complex multi-track studio records being replicated by only 4 people), and the recordings have a real sweaty 'live' band feel rather than the overly-clean studio overdubbed live recordings that some bands issue.
Highlights and differences from the studio versions include the radically different 'fast' version of We Will Rock You; a medley combining Death On Two Legs, Killer Queen, Bicycle Race and I'm In Love With My Car; the Freddie/audience sing-along in Now I'm Here; the mini-acoustic set complete with comedy wind instrument vocal impersonations in Dreamer's Ball, the guitar version of Love Of My Life and Freddie taking lead vocals on '39; an epic version of Brighton Rock with new drum and guitar solo sections; and Freddie teasing the audience with the opening bars of Mustapha.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2000
This is a great album, snapping at the heels of Live At Wembley for the title of Queen's best live album. It opens with the superb WE WILL ROCK YOU, rapped out to a backdrop of guitars, as opposed to the traditional satanic beat, and continues with LET ME ENTERTAIN YOU, obviously designed for the stage and acting as an over-the-top mood-setter that Queen have an uncanny knack of coming up with. Then the band plunges into the infamous rock n' roll medley, featuring four superb songs, notably I'M IN LOVE WITH MY CAR sung by Roger "on drums and tiger-skin trousers" Taylor and the deliciously diabolical DEATH ON TWO LEGS. The lean brutal GET DOWN MAKE LOVE is up next, which is OK bar the awful "harmonic" bit, and John "on bass and dazzling tie" Deacon's YOU'RE MY BEST FRIEND sums up the emotional side to Queen's music. NOW I'M HERE, present in almost every Queen concert from 1976 onwards, offers up some rapport between Freddie and an enthusiastic audience as well as skillful guitar work from axe-weilder and songwriter extraordinaire Brian May. The relaxed versions of LOVE OF MY LIFE and DREAMER'S BALL are enjoyable, as is the underrated '39, but they admittedly aren't a scratch on Queen's trademark anthem KEEP YOURSELF ALIVE, that blows the audience away with shape-shifting guitar handling and a fantastic solo by Roger. The next CD is even better, believe it or not. Kickstarting with Queen's most recent single (at the time) DON'T STOP ME NOW that leads into a classic John Deacon narrative song SPREAD YOUR WINGS, one of my favourite tracks beside KEEP YOURSELF ALIVE and TIE YOUR MOTHER DOWN, it leads the listener through every aspect of Queen's music. From Freddie's magnum opus BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY (a shame that you can barely hear the operatic part, but just a minor detail) to Roger's furious rocker SHEER HEART ATTACK, via the epic twelve-minute BRIGHTON ROCK and the world-famous medley of WE WILL ROCK YOU and WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS, this part of the album illustrates the illimited talent of all four members. And as if that wasn't enough, the CD also contains the best ever Queen song ever recorded, live or otherwise, TIE YOUR MOTHER DOWN, evidently made for concerts and holding the listener enraptured as Brian, backed by Freddie, John and Roger, whips up a musical maelstrom to end the concert proper, before the band returns for the encores. This is, as I've mentioned before, a hugely classy album, and is worth buying if only for TIE YOUR MOTHER DOWN and KEEP YOURSELF ALIVE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2001
There are very few truly great live records; This is one of them. Recorded on the European leg of the Jazz tour in 1979, it gives a real taste of Queen at their most exciting raw peak. Kicking off with the alternate version of We Will Rock You, the album largely preserves the running order of the live show of the time. The medley on disc 1 shows off the sheer inginuity of band, with the guitar & vocal gymnastics of Freddie's Get Down Make Love an unusual but stunning high point. This gives way to the famous accoustic set and a stomping rendition of Keep yourself alive. Don't stop me now was the single of the day, folowed by the subtlety of John Deacon's Spread Your Wings. Brighton Rock contains Brian's full solo, possibly the most distinctive guitarist to come out of the UK in the 70's. Then the inevitable Bohemian Rhapsody, the pounding energy of Tie Your Mother Down and encore song Sheer Heart Attack. The Concert ends as it always did with We Will Rock You and We are the Champions, I guarantee you'll be exhausted just listening to this album. The only regret is that the rest of the material from that tour has never been added back to the album, songs such as Sweet lady, Son & Daughter and the Prophets Song were not included, as the live set would normally have stetched to a triple album on most nights.
This is as good as it gets, lights down, volume up, Queen live in your living room!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
This was a CD that I had waited for for soooo long. When I bought it, I was dissapointed......dissapointed it wasn't longer. Queen really are MAGIC. and Brian May, Johndeacon, Roger Taylor and Freddie Mercury are the magicians. they are the worlds best EVER band, ad every single musician in the world owes them a debt. If I want heavy rock, I go to Queen. If I want Classical Music, I go to Queen. If I want hard hittin funk, I go to Queen. infact, queen covered about every musical Genre ever, and it is heaped onto this Cd. The OTT We Will Rock U (fast) opens the CD perfectly, moving smoothly through to hits such as '39, Love Of My Life, don't stop me now, Bohemian Rhapsody....and to what I think the most amazing Track on the CD is, Brighton Rock. A truely amazing collaboration of singing, percussion, bass and guitar to miricle the most exciting song....EVER. one song I miss from it though, is the March Of The Black Queen (see Queen 2) Queen, quite simply rock...
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)