Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
45
Pat Garrett & Billy The Kid
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 November 2016
The vinyl album has been sitting in my collection for years and years. The same goes for the deluxe edition of the film, which I have in Peckinpah's uncut version and a bonus disc containing added scenes and a vocal version of Dylan's wonderful song 'Knocking On Heaven's Door'. And recently I could get my hand on a CD copy of this wonderful album.
Although not considered a proper Bob Dylan album I enjoy it immensely. I almost wish Dylan had done a few more albums like this. Well, 'Nashville Skyline' comes close enough.
I enjoy this album more than his classic albums. I might even check out some, ahem, unofficial albums compiling unreleased material from these sessions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 April 2011
Unfortunately a lot of (Country/Cowboy) music lovers may miss out on this one because Bob Dylan's name is on the cover, and they just can't begin to imagine how wonderful he sounds when he's in a laid back country mode.

Some Bob Dylan lovers may pass it by because there are only a few Dylan songs on this soundtrack recording.

I held back from purchasing this gem on CD, guessing sooner or later Columbia / Sony would eventually issue a remaster - but no need to worry on that score as this version of the CD sounds as brilliant as I remember the original LP/vinyl issue.

Musically it's loaded with Cowboy Movie atmosphere, a little bit of Country rock, a little bit of very tasty acoustic guitar playing, a few appropriate songs from Bob Dylan about Billy The Kid & Pat Garrett, including the astonishing "Knockin' On Heaven's Door".

Sounding as fresh now as it did back in the early 70s, this entire recording is short and sweet, just like Bob's "Nashville Skyline".

Listening pleasure guaranteed!

Musicians include Booker T., Roger McGuinn, Bruce Langhorn, Russ Kunkel, Byron Berline, Jim Keltner & Carl Fortina.

Always on sale at Amazon, and at a very nice price, there really is no excuse for not getting hold of a copy of this.

"Pat Garrett got your number....."

Classic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2016
I wouldn't be able to go below four stars for a Bob Dylan album because there's always some form of brilliance to be found. This is certainly not the best of albums but it goes a long way in capturing a certain time in America's history. As the score to Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid, it is incredible and after all it is a soundtrack so naturally it works best alongside the film.

If you haven't seen the film I also recommend that. There Bob Dylan himself and Kris Kristoffersson acting up like the coolest cowboys there's every been.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2017
A replacement for one lost when lent to a neighbour. Had this for years, very atmospheric. I like performing 'Billy 4' particularly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2014
"Dont Look Back"..Famous words from Dylan himself..however, I did..I bought the CD of the film soundtrack to Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid...

..and was delighted..even the deadening effect of a hundred cover versions and a thousand interminable bar room dirges of "Knocking on Heaven's Door", can take away the magic of the original..

..beautiful atmospheric music now completely tied in my mind to the Texas/Mexican borderlands..of The Old West..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2015
Great film and, Bobby, what a surprise a lovely surprise for all of us who love the man, to see him acting in a western, I think he was brilliant as "alias" the music was fabulous, what else would we expect from this great man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2013
A certain moment ... he saw the light and he made some awfull things. He came back on the right track, but it was never the same any more. This old stuff still is the best he ever made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2012
I'm with "julianpack" (above). I'm quite well acquainted with all his stuff. This one really does shine and stand repeated playing. Almost a guilty secret!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2013
This product just shows how talented Bob Dylan is. To write and produce material as good of this stretches the imagination.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Dylan
£5.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)