Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 20 July 2004
This album, despite the misgivings put forward by the band themselves who always seem to belittle what they achieved on it, is a classic of the early (and best) Aerosmith sound. It kicks off with the awesome title track 'Draw the Line' which has a guitar riff to die for, Tyler spitting out the lyrics of the song with a vengence.
'Get It Up' the fourth track has another killer riff and 'Bright Light Fright' powers along with Joe Perry singing the lead. The awesome 'Kings and Queens' is next up followed by the superb double of 'Hand that Feeds' and 'Sight for Sore Eyes' again both with massive stuttering riffs that seperates this band from the general heads down while we figure a way to end the song riffing a lot of hard rock bands resort to.
Although Aerosmith may have done better (Rocks, Toys) this is no slouch of an album and makes most of the stuff masquerading as hard rock these days look pretty silly and somewhat contrived. This truly kicks and it still blows me away after listening to it for nearly 27 years. Their current output is okay but for Aerosmith at their finest check out the early albums like this.
Let's Rock....Not 'arf!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
I wanted this album as I understand this was the last 'classic' Aerosmith album until their late 80's revival/comback. Having read casually reviews of this album, I was led to believe it was a rather patchy effort and that it isn't a 'great' album, just a 'good' one. I listened cautiously, expecting it to be patchy. All I can say is, i'l love to know what the critics were/are smoking. This is a great rock album, and a great Aerosmith album. It was never really going to top ROCKS, that's their 70's peak, yet it is different from rocks, funkier I would say. It is an album which has classic Aerosmith tunage. Steve's voice is great. I love all of the songs on the album. You have the harder stuff and yet you also have these funky tracks, such as 'Get it up' and 'Sight for sore eyes'. 'Milk Cow Blues' is classic Aerosmith jammin' - the guitars complimented by Tyler's harmonica. At the end of the day, I urge any Aerosmith fan to listen to it. Don't necessarily believe what the critics say. It's seems populist to deem this just an average 3 star album. Trust me, this WAS the last great record they did until the late 80's. I'm glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2001
If you want to know what all the fuss about Aerosmith is, then check out this classic from the 70's. The title track, "Kings and Queens" and "Critical Mass" are three of the best tracks this band have ever done. As a big fan of this band, I rate this and "Rocks" as their two finest records. The vocals of ST are awesome as ever and the guitar work on this record is particularly inventive. Buy this!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
This band made four classic hard rockers in a row. Cd's that were just alot of fun and rockin'. then because of high drug use they began to lose focus. In spite of that there was still a great bunch of songs to be had here. "bright light fright' , the hit single 'draw the line' and 'kings and queens' among others but they cracks were here and this wasn't a classic like 'rocks', 'toys in the attic' , 'get your wings' or 'aerosmith'. I still like this one alot but noone would say that this one was as good as those were. This one still flows well though. It's a must for hard rock fans but not a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
A prime example of the need to listen to an album and not subject yourself to music press hype! Quite simply, Draw the line represents Aerosmith at their groove laden, funky and natural best! It's a different Animal to 'Rocks' just as 'Rocks' is a different animal to 'Toys in the attic'. Contrary to popular opinion it is only a Wasp's testicle behind those established classics. So your Essential Aerosmith list goes something like.... Rocks(5 stars) Toys(4.5) Draw the line(4.25) Get your Wings(4)...... Superb,essential, pure rock'n'roll.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Pump was my first Aerosmith album, loved that so much I went back and bought everything else. It's only now, many moons later when I'm having an Aerosmith week on my i-pod that I realise Draw The Line is my favourite all time Aerosmith album. It's classic Aerosmith from start to finish. Nasty, gritty, drug fueled, the closest you will come to a sloppy ballad here is the brilliant Kings And Queens. You can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 February 2010
After a superb run of albums this is definitely the first wobble,the fraught time they had recording it are well documented,copius amounts of drugs,hence the albums title?,haunted convents,fracturing realtionships,i suppose its a victory that anything was released at all.

The album opens well enough with the insistent ,repetitive riffing of the title track and the thundering 'I Wanna Know Why' before collapsing with two clunkers,the leaden 'Critical Mass' and plain average 'Get It Up,'Bright Light Fright threatens to lift the disc up but never manages to sound anything other than mediocre.

Thankfully the 3 tracks to follow were all prime time Aerosmith,'Kings n Queens,a superb brooding track,gothic lyrics and a stunning solo,cant believe they used an edited version as a single!!,the raunch n roll they were famous for exemplified by 'The Hand That Feeds' and highlight of the album 'Sight For Sore Eyes'.surely that should have been the single,it certainly had more chance of swaggering to the top of the charts,than 'Kings n Queens', unfortunately the album finishes in lacklustre fashion with a cover of 'Milk Cow Blues,for the first time a cover sounding tired and uninspired in the bands hands.All in all a slightly disappointing album after what went before,would things improve well we all know the answer to that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Never fear. This is Great Driving Heavy pop rock. No time to take a breath. Rest well after playing this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)